Skip to Main Content
Grants
The Grants Register 2021 by Palgrave Palgrave Macmillan (Editor)
The Grants Register 2021 is the most authoritative and comprehensive guide available of postgraduate and professional funding worldwide. It contains international coverage of grants in almost 60 countries, both English and non-English speaking; information on subject areas, level of study, eligibility and value of awards; and information on over 6,000 awards provided by over 1,300 awarding bodies. Awarding bodies are arranged alphabetically with a full list of awards to allow for comprehensive reading. The Register contains full contact details including telephone, fax, email and websites as well as details of application procedures and closing dates. It is updated annually to ensure accurate information.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781349959877
Publication Date: 2020
Writing Successful Grant Proposals by Ellen W. Gorsevski
The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Most grants books--often hundreds of pages long--make grant writing seem too intimidating, but Gorsevski gets to the heart of the process. In simple steps, Writing Successful Grant Proposals highlights key things savvy proposal writers do to attract and secure prospective funders. With clear, concise instructions, this book demystifies grant proposal writing, from the initial development phase, to the writing and submissions phase, to the grant award phase, to the final delivery of project results phase. This small but mighty guide shares with readers effective strategies for adapting proposals to meet diversity, digital, and other evolving 21st Century constraints of grant review, offering pointers for staying on-task, getting the proposed project done on time and under budget, plus many other insider tips for smoothly navigating through the grants process. This handy guidebook is designed to help academics, non-profits, 'creatives, ' and entrepreneurs to write successful grant proposals.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789463003889
Publication Date: 2016
How to Write a Competitive R01 Grant by Sudhansu K. Dey; Katie Gerhardt
This book describes the process of completing an NIH R01 grant application. It begins with the formation of an idea and proceeds through the subsequent stages: verifying the idea's strength and potential, collecting high-quality preliminary data, networking for feedback, writing the first and subsequent drafts of the application (including details on what to include and tips on content and tone), polishing the application, and following through after the decision is announced (appropriate responses to success or rejection). Each main stage is broken down into conversational paragraphs and bullet points for easy reference. This easy-to-navigate book focuses on concise details and strong headings and subheadings making the content clear and easy to retain. It serves as a valuable reference source throughout the grant writing process and offers a practical outline of action.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9783319413594
Publication Date: 2016
How to Develop and Write a Grant Proposal
This report is intended for Members and staff assisting grant seekers in districts and states and covers writing proposals for both government and private foundation grants. In preparation for writing a proposal, the report first discusses preliminary information gathering and preparation, developing ideas for the proposal, gathering community support, identifying funding resources,
and seeking preliminary review of the proposal and support of relevant administrative officials.
The second section of the report covers the actual writing of the proposal, from outlining of
project goals, stating the purpose and objectives of the proposal, explaining the program methods
to solve the stated problem, and how the results of the project will be evaluated, to long-term project planning, and, finally, developing the proposal budget.
The last section of the report provides a listing of free grants-writing websites, including guidelines from the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance and the Foundation Center’s “Introduction to Proposal Writing.”
Health Science Grant Writing
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals, Third Edition by Barbara Holtzclaw; Carole Kenner; Marlene Walden
This accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors--an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant--readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionalsInformation about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grantsFoundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnershipsImportant information on the Patient-Centered Research InstituteGuidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementationUpdates on electronic submissions and web resourcesNew coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardeeInstructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finishDelivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficultiesIncludes examples and underlying principles for each guidelineProvides real-life examples from actual grant applicationsHelps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780826141446
Publication Date: 2018
Successful Grant Writing for Health and Human Service Professionals, Fifth Edition by Laura Gitlin; Ann Kolanowski; Kevin J. Lyons
Following in the tradition of its previous editions, the updated and fully revised fifth edition of this classic guide to grant writing is especially written for health and human service professionals. It provides a comprehensive, systematic, and easy-to-follow, step-wise guide to writing competitive grant proposals for research, education, innovative practices and demonstration projects. Never has the need to advance evidence to improve the health of the public been greater. Generating evidence requires funding and grant writing has become an essential activity for every health and human service professional who must seek funds to advance innovative research, education and practice initiatives.Uniquely focused on developing grant-writing skills as part of a professional's career, this one-of-a-kind guide addresses the full range of essential competencies needed to assure success. The new edition expands coverage on how to compose an effective aims page, how to write a compelling literature review to support significance of a proposal, and describes considerations for specific types of study designs. Additionally, the guide provides a more extensive discussion of mentorship, plus tips for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows. New to the Fifth Edition: Spotlights important new trends that can make or break grant success Features Professional Spotlights reflecting the experiences and advice from successful grant writers - from novice to expert Highlights special considerations for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows Examines how to write an effective grant application for specific types of study designs Explains how to craft compelling statements about significance and innovation Provides guidelines on mentorship Covers ways to manage post-award activities and offers strategies and templates for documenting grant progress Key Features: Key summary points in every chapter Case examples throughout Strategies for managing a grant writing team and post-award activities Considerations in building a grant writing career and matching your level of experience to funding mechanisms Testimonies from novices and experts describing their unique grant writing experiences
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780826148032
Publication Date: 2020
Science
Writing Successful Science Proposals by Andrew J. Friedland; Carol L. Folt; Jennifer L. Mercer
An authoritative how-to guide that explains every aspect of science proposal writing This fully revised edition of the authoritative guide to science proposal writing is an essential tool for any researcher embarking on a grant or thesis application. In accessible steps, the authors detail every stage of proposal writing, from conceiving and designing a project to analyzing data, synthesizing results, estimating a budget, addressing reviewer comments, and resubmitting. This new edition is updated to address changes and developments over the past decade, including identifying opportunities and navigating the challenging proposal-funding environment. The only how-to book of its kind, it includes exercises to help readers stay on track as they develop their grant proposals and is designed for those in the physical, life, environmental, biomedical, and social sciences, as well as engineering.]]>
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780300226706
Publication Date: 2018
The Grants Register 2021 by
The Grants Register 2021 is the most authoritative and comprehensive guide available of postgraduate and professional funding worldwide. It contains international coverage of grants in almost 60 countries, both English and non-English speaking; information on subject areas, level of study, eligibility and value of awards; and information on over 6,000 awards provided by over 1,300 awarding bodies. Awarding bodies are arranged alphabetically with a full list of awards to allow for comprehensive reading. The Register contains full contact details including telephone, fax, email and websites as well as details of application procedures and closing dates. It is updated annually to ensure accurate information.
Writing Successful Grant Proposals by
The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Most grants books--often hundreds of pages long--make grant writing seem too intimidating, but Gorsevski gets to the heart of the process. In simple steps, Writing Successful Grant Proposals highlights key things savvy proposal writers do to attract and secure prospective funders. With clear, concise instructions, this book demystifies grant proposal writing, from the initial development phase, to the writing and submissions phase, to the grant award phase, to the final delivery of project results phase. This small but mighty guide shares with readers effective strategies for adapting proposals to meet diversity, digital, and other evolving 21st Century constraints of grant review, offering pointers for staying on-task, getting the proposed project done on time and under budget, plus many other insider tips for smoothly navigating through the grants process. This handy guidebook is designed to help academics, non-profits, 'creatives, ' and entrepreneurs to write successful grant proposals.
How to Write a Competitive R01 Grant by
This book describes the process of completing an NIH R01 grant application. It begins with the formation of an idea and proceeds through the subsequent stages: verifying the idea's strength and potential, collecting high-quality preliminary data, networking for feedback, writing the first and subsequent drafts of the application (including details on what to include and tips on content and tone), polishing the application, and following through after the decision is announced (appropriate responses to success or rejection). Each main stage is broken down into conversational paragraphs and bullet points for easy reference. This easy-to-navigate book focuses on concise details and strong headings and subheadings making the content clear and easy to retain. It serves as a valuable reference source throughout the grant writing process and offers a practical outline of action.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals, Third Edition by
This accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors--an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant--readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionalsInformation about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grantsFoundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnershipsImportant information on the Patient-Centered Research InstituteGuidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementationUpdates on electronic submissions and web resourcesNew coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardeeInstructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finishDelivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficultiesIncludes examples and underlying principles for each guidelineProvides real-life examples from actual grant applicationsHelps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals
Successful Grant Writing for Health and Human Service Professionals, Fifth Edition by
Following in the tradition of its previous editions, the updated and fully revised fifth edition of this classic guide to grant writing is especially written for health and human service professionals. It provides a comprehensive, systematic, and easy-to-follow, step-wise guide to writing competitive grant proposals for research, education, innovative practices and demonstration projects. Never has the need to advance evidence to improve the health of the public been greater. Generating evidence requires funding and grant writing has become an essential activity for every health and human service professional who must seek funds to advance innovative research, education and practice initiatives.Uniquely focused on developing grant-writing skills as part of a professional's career, this one-of-a-kind guide addresses the full range of essential competencies needed to assure success. The new edition expands coverage on how to compose an effective aims page, how to write a compelling literature review to support significance of a proposal, and describes considerations for specific types of study designs. Additionally, the guide provides a more extensive discussion of mentorship, plus tips for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows. New to the Fifth Edition: Spotlights important new trends that can make or break grant success Features Professional Spotlights reflecting the experiences and advice from successful grant writers - from novice to expert Highlights special considerations for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows Examines how to write an effective grant application for specific types of study designs Explains how to craft compelling statements about significance and innovation Provides guidelines on mentorship Covers ways to manage post-award activities and offers strategies and templates for documenting grant progress Key Features: Key summary points in every chapter Case examples throughout Strategies for managing a grant writing team and post-award activities Considerations in building a grant writing career and matching your level of experience to funding mechanisms Testimonies from novices and experts describing their unique grant writing experiences
Writing Successful Science Proposals by
An authoritative how-to guide that explains every aspect of science proposal writing This fully revised edition of the authoritative guide to science proposal writing is an essential tool for any researcher embarking on a grant or thesis application. In accessible steps, the authors detail every stage of proposal writing, from conceiving and designing a project to analyzing data, synthesizing results, estimating a budget, addressing reviewer comments, and resubmitting. This new edition is updated to address changes and developments over the past decade, including identifying opportunities and navigating the challenging proposal-funding environment. The only how-to book of its kind, it includes exercises to help readers stay on track as they develop their grant proposals and is designed for those in the physical, life, environmental, biomedical, and social sciences, as well as engineering.]]>