Skip to Main Content
Health Sciences
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition by Cynthia Saver (Editor)
Highly anticipated and fully updated, Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Lead Author and Editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear and confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to increase the likelihood that your manuscript is accepted for publication. In this book, you will learn how to: ? Collaborate and coauthor with professionals in other healthcare disciplines ? Navigate interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used ? Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing? Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article? Write a letter to the editor or write a book review? Work with and manage contributors when writing a book? Understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781948057912
Publication Date: 2021
How to Write Better Medical Papers by Michael Hanna
This book guides medical researchers through all stages of transforming their scientific data and ideas into a published paper. Many researchers in medicine, including the life sciences and health sciences, struggle to get their research written and published. Manuscripts are typically rejected and/or sent back for revisions several times before ever being published. One reason for this is that researchers have not received much instruction in the specific subjects and skills needed to write and publish scientific medical papers: research methodology, ethics, statistics, data visualization, writing, revising, and the practicalities of publishing. Instead of wasting the reader's time discussing trivialities of punctuation, spelling, etc., this book tackles all the major scientific issues that routinely lead to manuscripts getting rejected from the journals. The section "Preparing" covers the range of methodological, ethical, and practical aspects that researchers need to address before starting to write their paper. The section "Analyzing" reviews commonplace problems in the statistical analysis and presentation, and how to resolve those problems. The section "Drafting" describes what to write in all the various parts of a paper (the Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, Abstract, etc.) The section "Revising" explains and illustrates how to improve the writing style of any manuscript. The section "Publishing" discusses how to navigate the peer review process and all other practical aspects of the publishing phase. This book draws on the author's decade of experience as an independent medical writer and research consultant, but it is not written merely as the personal opinion of yet another expert. The entire book is grounded in the existing scientific and scholarly literature, with extensive references and a lengthy annotated bibliography, so readers can quickly obtain more information on any aspect they want. Thus this book provides a more evidence-based, scholarly account of how medical scientific papers should be written, in order to improve medical communication and accelerate scientific progress. After reading this entire book cover to cover, medical researchers will know how to write better quality medical papers, and they will be able to publish their work in better journals with less time and struggle. This book is essential reading for anyone conducting research in clinical medicine, life sciences, or health sciences.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9783030029548
Publication Date: 2019
Medical Writing: A Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by Robert B. Taylor
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9783319701257
Publication Date: 2018
Writing for Publication in Nursing by Marilyn H. Oermann; Judith C. Hays
Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780826147011
Publication Date: 2018
Writing Winning Proposals for Nurses and Other Health Care Professionals by Sandra G. Funk; Elizabeth M. Tornquist
FACILITATES WRITING SUCCESSFUL PROPOSALS OF SUBSTANCE, CLARITY, AND CONVICTION With an in-depth focus on writing with substance, clarity, and conviction, this comprehensive resource takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing and submitting a successful proposal. Written by preeminent authors and educators with extensive experience in teaching proposal and grant writing to nurses and other health care professionals, the book discusses how to create proposals for dissertations, capstone projects, research funding, fellowships, and career development awards, as well as for educational training, translational research, evidence-based practice, and demonstration projects. Using a clear, commonsense approach, it delineates the foundations and underlying structure of a well-written proposal and then focuses on the specific elements required for each different type of proposal. The book provides readers with the tools to help them think through what they want to do and describe it clearly and succinctly√>=avoiding unnecessary information that does not support the intent of their proposal. It discusses selecting a problem, developing an argument, and describing the aims of the project; showing the significance of the problem and describing the conceptualization and innovative aspects of the work; detailing the approach or research design and methods; composing the title and abstract; describing budgetary considerations; and preparing ancillary materials. The book also includes worksheets to help readers personalize the information for their particular project. Instructions on how to synthesize the relevant literature for a study is presented in helpful case examples. The book also addresses the processes of writing and submitting a grant, its review, and possible resubmission. It will be highly useful as a text in master's-level, DNP, and PhD research courses; doctoral seminars, for instructors who advise students on proposal development; and for practitioners who are interested in developing evidence-based practice. KEY FEATURES: Provides abundant tools for writing proposals of substance, clarity, and conviction Takes readers step by step through the process of writing a great variety of proposals Facilitates clear thinking and to-the-point writing Includes worksheets to help readers personalize information for their particular project Provides formats required for all federal grant proposals About the Authors: Sandra G. Funk, PhD, FAAN, is a professor emerita of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has taught research methods, statistics, and grant writing to master's and doctoral students, postdoctoral fellows, visiting scholars, and faculty, and co-teaches with Elizabeth M. Tornquist a program on grant writing. As associate dean for Research and director of the Research Support Center for many years, Dr. Funk led the school's research mission and mentored faculty on design, measurement, proposal development, and research management. She also consults with other universities in these areas. She has served as principal investigator or co-investigator on over $6 million in research funding and served as a reviewer for the National Institutes of Health and other federal agencies for over a decade. Her research interests, grants, and publications, which number over 100, focus on various aspects of applied measurement and research utilization and facilitation. Elizabeth M. Tornquist, MA, FAAN, has been a faculty member of the Schools of Nursing and Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is currently a visiting lecturer at the College of Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. She has taught scientific writing for nearly 40 years and has conducted numerous workshops for university faculty, health
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780826122728
Publication Date: 2015
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition by
Highly anticipated and fully updated, Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Lead Author and Editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear and confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to increase the likelihood that your manuscript is accepted for publication. In this book, you will learn how to: ? Collaborate and coauthor with professionals in other healthcare disciplines ? Navigate interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used ? Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing? Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article? Write a letter to the editor or write a book review? Work with and manage contributors when writing a book? Understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more
How to Write Better Medical Papers by
This book guides medical researchers through all stages of transforming their scientific data and ideas into a published paper. Many researchers in medicine, including the life sciences and health sciences, struggle to get their research written and published. Manuscripts are typically rejected and/or sent back for revisions several times before ever being published. One reason for this is that researchers have not received much instruction in the specific subjects and skills needed to write and publish scientific medical papers: research methodology, ethics, statistics, data visualization, writing, revising, and the practicalities of publishing. Instead of wasting the reader's time discussing trivialities of punctuation, spelling, etc., this book tackles all the major scientific issues that routinely lead to manuscripts getting rejected from the journals. The section "Preparing" covers the range of methodological, ethical, and practical aspects that researchers need to address before starting to write their paper. The section "Analyzing" reviews commonplace problems in the statistical analysis and presentation, and how to resolve those problems. The section "Drafting" describes what to write in all the various parts of a paper (the Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, Abstract, etc.) The section "Revising" explains and illustrates how to improve the writing style of any manuscript. The section "Publishing" discusses how to navigate the peer review process and all other practical aspects of the publishing phase. This book draws on the author's decade of experience as an independent medical writer and research consultant, but it is not written merely as the personal opinion of yet another expert. The entire book is grounded in the existing scientific and scholarly literature, with extensive references and a lengthy annotated bibliography, so readers can quickly obtain more information on any aspect they want. Thus this book provides a more evidence-based, scholarly account of how medical scientific papers should be written, in order to improve medical communication and accelerate scientific progress. After reading this entire book cover to cover, medical researchers will know how to write better quality medical papers, and they will be able to publish their work in better journals with less time and struggle. This book is essential reading for anyone conducting research in clinical medicine, life sciences, or health sciences.
Medical Writing: A Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
Writing for Publication in Nursing by
Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus
Writing Winning Proposals for Nurses and Other Health Care Professionals by
FACILITATES WRITING SUCCESSFUL PROPOSALS OF SUBSTANCE, CLARITY, AND CONVICTION With an in-depth focus on writing with substance, clarity, and conviction, this comprehensive resource takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing and submitting a successful proposal. Written by preeminent authors and educators with extensive experience in teaching proposal and grant writing to nurses and other health care professionals, the book discusses how to create proposals for dissertations, capstone projects, research funding, fellowships, and career development awards, as well as for educational training, translational research, evidence-based practice, and demonstration projects. Using a clear, commonsense approach, it delineates the foundations and underlying structure of a well-written proposal and then focuses on the specific elements required for each different type of proposal. The book provides readers with the tools to help them think through what they want to do and describe it clearly and succinctly√>=avoiding unnecessary information that does not support the intent of their proposal. It discusses selecting a problem, developing an argument, and describing the aims of the project; showing the significance of the problem and describing the conceptualization and innovative aspects of the work; detailing the approach or research design and methods; composing the title and abstract; describing budgetary considerations; and preparing ancillary materials. The book also includes worksheets to help readers personalize the information for their particular project. Instructions on how to synthesize the relevant literature for a study is presented in helpful case examples. The book also addresses the processes of writing and submitting a grant, its review, and possible resubmission. It will be highly useful as a text in master's-level, DNP, and PhD research courses; doctoral seminars, for instructors who advise students on proposal development; and for practitioners who are interested in developing evidence-based practice. KEY FEATURES: Provides abundant tools for writing proposals of substance, clarity, and conviction Takes readers step by step through the process of writing a great variety of proposals Facilitates clear thinking and to-the-point writing Includes worksheets to help readers personalize information for their particular project Provides formats required for all federal grant proposals About the Authors: Sandra G. Funk, PhD, FAAN, is a professor emerita of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has taught research methods, statistics, and grant writing to master's and doctoral students, postdoctoral fellows, visiting scholars, and faculty, and co-teaches with Elizabeth M. Tornquist a program on grant writing. As associate dean for Research and director of the Research Support Center for many years, Dr. Funk led the school's research mission and mentored faculty on design, measurement, proposal development, and research management. She also consults with other universities in these areas. She has served as principal investigator or co-investigator on over $6 million in research funding and served as a reviewer for the National Institutes of Health and other federal agencies for over a decade. Her research interests, grants, and publications, which number over 100, focus on various aspects of applied measurement and research utilization and facilitation. Elizabeth M. Tornquist, MA, FAAN, has been a faculty member of the Schools of Nursing and Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is currently a visiting lecturer at the College of Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. She has taught scientific writing for nearly 40 years and has conducted numerous workshops for university faculty, health