GGC has a subscription with American Chemical Society Journals (ACS) with full read/download article access, thanks to a cost-share agreement through the GALILEO consortium of Georgia libraries. The subscription also includes a Read and Publish agreement, or Transformative Agreement, that allows GALILEO-affiliated authors (which includes all GGC faculty, staff, and students) the opportunity to publish their articles as open access in ACS journals under a CC BY license at no cost to the authors. GALILEO will manage a certain number of tokens for publishing access for GGC and others in the University System of Georgia.
For more information on how to submit manuscripts as part of the agreement, see these ACS step-by-step instructions and demo videos.
Through an agreement with Lyrasis Consortium, GGC has joined libraries worldwide in participating in ACM Open. In addition to full read/download article access for ACM Digital Library, GGC-affiliated authors may publish their articles as open access in ACM journals at no cost to the authors. For more information see the following links and documents:
ACM OPEN (ACM’s Transformative Model for Open Access Publication)
USG/GALILEO has made an agreement with Cambridge University Press to support Open Access publishing.
Since GGC is an affiliate institution, faculty, staff and students can publish articles Open Access - at no cost to authors - in gold and hybrid journals. In addition, you can enjoy full access to Cambridge University Press Journals through the Cambridge Core Journals database.
See the step-by-step instructions and video at: OA Agreement - GALILEO
Additional video resources on open access are also available.
USG/GALILEO has made an agreement with Sage Publications to support Open Access publishing in Hybrid journals. For details of the agreement, see the Sage/GALILEO agreement page. Additional information videos can be found here.
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition by
Highly anticipated and fully updated, Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Lead Author and Editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear and confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to increase the likelihood that your manuscript is accepted for publication. In this book, you will learn how to: ? Collaborate and coauthor with professionals in other healthcare disciplines ? Navigate interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used ? Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing? Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article? Write a letter to the editor or write a book review? Work with and manage contributors when writing a book? Understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more
How to Write Better Medical Papers by
This book guides medical researchers through all stages of transforming their scientific data and ideas into a published paper. Many researchers in medicine, including the life sciences and health sciences, struggle to get their research written and published. Manuscripts are typically rejected and/or sent back for revisions several times before ever being published. One reason for this is that researchers have not received much instruction in the specific subjects and skills needed to write and publish scientific medical papers: research methodology, ethics, statistics, data visualization, writing, revising, and the practicalities of publishing. Instead of wasting the reader's time discussing trivialities of punctuation, spelling, etc., this book tackles all the major scientific issues that routinely lead to manuscripts getting rejected from the journals. The section "Preparing" covers the range of methodological, ethical, and practical aspects that researchers need to address before starting to write their paper. The section "Analyzing" reviews commonplace problems in the statistical analysis and presentation, and how to resolve those problems. The section "Drafting" describes what to write in all the various parts of a paper (the Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, Abstract, etc.) The section "Revising" explains and illustrates how to improve the writing style of any manuscript. The section "Publishing" discusses how to navigate the peer review process and all other practical aspects of the publishing phase. This book draws on the author's decade of experience as an independent medical writer and research consultant, but it is not written merely as the personal opinion of yet another expert. The entire book is grounded in the existing scientific and scholarly literature, with extensive references and a lengthy annotated bibliography, so readers can quickly obtain more information on any aspect they want. Thus this book provides a more evidence-based, scholarly account of how medical scientific papers should be written, in order to improve medical communication and accelerate scientific progress. After reading this entire book cover to cover, medical researchers will know how to write better quality medical papers, and they will be able to publish their work in better journals with less time and struggle. This book is essential reading for anyone conducting research in clinical medicine, life sciences, or health sciences.
Medical Writing: A Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
The No-nonsense Guide to Research Support and Scholarly Communication by
This accessible and highly practical book provides an introductory guide to the world of research support in the academic library.Academic libraries have seen huge changes in recent years thanks to the increasing availability of information online but they are now undergoing another shift. As libraries move away from providing access to existing information and towards helping users create new knowledge there is an opportunity for them to develop new services for the research community. To do this successfully libraries need to have a knowledgeable workforce who are equipped to provide the support that researchers need. Information professionals are increasingly being asked to advise their users on issues such as open access and research data management but are often doing so with little or no formal preparation.Outlining the reasons why library staff need to develop a knowledge of research support and guiding them through the key information on each topic, ;The No-nonsense Guide to Research Support and Scholarly Communication provides an ideal primer for those who seek to work in this area or those who have acquired these responsibilities as part of a wider role. The practical nature of the book means readers can dip into it or read it from cover to cover as needed. It includes practical checklists of knowledge and skills, international case studies by practitioners from around the globe, end of chapter references, how-to sections, activities and links to freely available online training materials.
Publishing Higher Degree Research by
This book is proof of what is possible when higher degree candidates and their supervisors collaborate to ensure publication of higher degree research; one of the responsibilities that comes with higher degree candidature and supervision. It transcends the limitations inherent in traditional 'isolationist', 'master and apprentice' relationships to reveal the transformative value of building productive networks among academics and students. Written for higher degree research policy makers, administrators, supervisors and candidates in the field of education, this book aims to provoke departmental mindfulness of the higher degree research journey and, in light of this, reconsideration of the nature of supervisory roles and practices. It explores key research on higher degree research candidature and supervisory practices; reveals the reflections of 14 higher degree candidates' experiences in terms of the impact and transformations that occur as a result of undertaking research, not least of which is writing for publication; showcases aspects of their research in their published chapters; and accords them first author status. Its five sections are: Publishing Higher Degree Research: key research on higher degree research candidature and supervisory practices, and the process of transforming students from candidates into published researchers. Learning with Technology: in Aboriginal education and in primary and early childhood education. Professional Learning and Practice: in the development of teacher research and inquiry, enhancing and assuring learning quality in Indonesia and Lesotho, and higher order thinking in teaching trade skills. Student Learning: in teaching English language in Indonesia, and the place of intimation in creativity and innovation in mathematics teaching. Curriculum Change: in teaching University mathematics in English in Indonesia, integrating graduate attributes in an Islamic University in Aceh, enabling innovation in Acehnese schools and reforming assessment in Rwanda.
Publishing Journal Articles by
Journal publication and grant writing are two core professional skills for new scholars today. However, systematic training is not typically offered in graduate programs worldwide. This book equips readers with the current scientific knowledge by providing a concise introduction to the science of journal article publication. The overall structure generally matches the curriculum of a graduate course and each chapter features a learning sequence based on Daniel Kahneman's intuitive judgement theory. The volume analyzes the intuitive thoughts of new authors from a variety of countries, uses over fifty real-life cases, and focuses on core concepts from nearly 100 research articles. It provides scientific advice for new authors, junior researchers, and graduate students to publish their scholarly work and advance their academic careers.
Reporting and Publishing Research in the Biomedical Sciences by
This book eases the task of converting research work into a manuscript, and covers the recent developments in publishing that often stump budding researchers. Few researchers in the biomedical sciences are trained in the essential skills of reporting their results, and they seek help in writing a paper that will be acceptable for publication in the 'right' journal, and in presenting their results 'effectively' at a meeting. As well as covering the basic aspects of preparing manuscripts for publication, the book discusses best practices and issues relating to the publication of biomedical research, including topics such as peer-review, authorship, plagiarism, conflicts of interest, publication misconduct, electronic publishing and open-access journals. With more than two decades of experience in conducting workshops on writing scientific papers, the editors have brought together the expertise of 29 authors from seven countries to produce this one-stop guide to publishing research in biomedical sciences. This book is intended for young researchers who are beginning their careers and wish to hone their skills and understand the rigors of research writing and publishing.
Write More, Publish More, Stress Less! by
2021 Textbook Excellence Award Winner (College: Humanities, Education, and Social Sciences) In this book Dr. Dannelle D. Stevens offers five key principles that will bolster your knowledge of academic writing, enable you to develop a manageable, sustainable, and even enjoyable writing practice, and, in the process, effectively increase your publication output and promote your academic career. A successful and productive book and journal article author, writing coach, creator of a nationally-recognized, cross-disciplinary faculty writing program, and with a long career as a faculty member and experience as a department chair, Dr. Stevens offers a unique combination of motivation, reflective practices, analytical tools, templates, and advice to set you on the path to being a productive and creative writer. Drawing on her experience as a writer and on her extensive research into the psychology of writing and the craft of scholarly writing, Dr. Stevens starts from the premise that most faculty have never been taught to write and that writers, both experienced and novice, frequently experience anxiety and self-doubt that erode confidence. She begins by guiding readers to understand themselves as writers and discover what has impeded or stimulated them in the past to establish positive new attitudes and sustainable habits. Dr. Stevens provides strategies for setting doable goals, organizing a more productive writing life, and demonstrates the benefits of writing groups, including offering a variety of ways in which you can experiment with collaborative practice. In addition, she offers a series of reflections, exercises, and activities to spark your writing fluency and creativity. Whether developing journal articles, book chapters, book proposals, book reviews, or conference proposals, this book will help you demystify the hidden structures and common patterns in academic writing and help you match your manuscript to the language, structures, and conventions of your discipline--be it in the sciences, social sciences, or humanities. Most importantly, believing that connecting your passions with your work is essential to stimulating your ideas and enthusiasm, this essential guide offers you the knowledge and skills to write more.
Writing and Publishing a Scientific Research Paper by
This book covers all essential aspects of writing scientific research articles, presenting eighteen carefully selected titles that offer essential, "must-know" content on how to write high-quality articles. The book also addresses other, rarely discussed areas of scientific writing including dealing with rejected manuscripts, the reviewer's perspective as to what they expect in a scientific article, plagiarism, copyright issues, and ethical standards in publishing scientific papers. Simplicity is the book's hallmark, and it aims to provide an accessible, comprehensive and essential resource for those seeking guidance on how to publish their research work. The importance of publishing research work cannot be overemphasized. However, a major limitation in publishing work in a scientific journal is the lack of information on or experience with scientific writing and publishing. Young faculty and trainees who are starting their research career are in need of a comprehensive guide that provides all essential components of scientific writing and aids them in getting their research work published.
Writing for Publication by
This book offers systematic instruction and evidence-based guidance to academic authors. It demystifies scholarly writing and helps build both confidence and skill in aspiring and experienced authors. The first part of the book focuses on the author's role, writing's risks and rewards, practical strategies for improving writing, and ethical issues. Part Two focuses on the most common writing tasks: conference proposals, practical articles, research articles, and books. Each chapter is replete with specific examples, templates to generate a first draft, and checklists or rubrics for self-evaluation. The final section of the book counsels graduate students and professors on selecting the most promising projects; generating multiple related, yet distinctive, publications from the same body of work; and using writing as a tool for professional development. Written by a team that represents outstanding teaching, award-winning writing, and extensive editorial experience, the book leads teacher/scholar/authors to replace the old "publish or perish" dictum with a different, growth-seeking orientation: publish and flourish.
Writing for Publication in Nursing by
Designated a Doody's Core Title "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This in-depth resource on writing for nurses--clinicians, graduate students, researchers, and faculty--guides users through the entire process of writing evidence-based research papers and journal articles, disseminating clinical project findings and innovations, and preparing manuscripts for publication. The completely updated fourth edition expands the content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviews; disseminating evidence and writing papers on clinical topics; and reporting quality-improvement studies. It provides new examples of excellent writing from a varied selection of nursing journals. Woven throughout is an explanation of current writing guidelines for research such as CONSORT and PRISMA. Also included are electronic versions of useful forms and updated web resources relevant to each chapter. Chapters feature helpful tables, figures, and illustrations; learner exercises to guide development of competencies; and discussion topics designed to address the variety of challenges posed when writing for publication. The print version of the book includes searchable digital access to entire contents. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated chapters and new examples from a wide variety of nursing journalsExpanded content on conducting and writing systematic, integrative, and literature reviewsGuidelines for reporting different types of researchCriteria for evaluating the quality of a nursing journal and avoiding predatory journalsExamination of open-access journal marketsStrategies for interprofessional collaborationUpdated content on quality-improvement reportingTips to avoid plagiarismGuidance on writing case studies, case reports, policy papers, and articlesExpanded discussion and examples of searchable databasesElectronic versions of useful formsUpdated web resources in each chapter and in an appendix Key Features: Takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing for publicationCovers conducting and writing a literature review and writing research, review, quality-improvement, evidencebased practice, and clinical practice articlesDelivers strategies for writing all types of journal articles, chapters, books, and other forms of writingIncludes tips for turning dissertations, DNP projects, and course assignments into manuscriptsDetails the submission, editorial review, and publication processesIncludes a module for online courses in each chapterIncludes Instructor's Manual, PowerPoints, and sample syllabus
Writing Winning Proposals for Nurses and Other Health Care Professionals by
FACILITATES WRITING SUCCESSFUL PROPOSALS OF SUBSTANCE, CLARITY, AND CONVICTION With an in-depth focus on writing with substance, clarity, and conviction, this comprehensive resource takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing and submitting a successful proposal. Written by preeminent authors and educators with extensive experience in teaching proposal and grant writing to nurses and other health care professionals, the book discusses how to create proposals for dissertations, capstone projects, research funding, fellowships, and career development awards, as well as for educational training, translational research, evidence-based practice, and demonstration projects. Using a clear, commonsense approach, it delineates the foundations and underlying structure of a well-written proposal and then focuses on the specific elements required for each different type of proposal. The book provides readers with the tools to help them think through what they want to do and describe it clearly and succinctly√>=avoiding unnecessary information that does not support the intent of their proposal. It discusses selecting a problem, developing an argument, and describing the aims of the project; showing the significance of the problem and describing the conceptualization and innovative aspects of the work; detailing the approach or research design and methods; composing the title and abstract; describing budgetary considerations; and preparing ancillary materials. The book also includes worksheets to help readers personalize the information for their particular project. Instructions on how to synthesize the relevant literature for a study is presented in helpful case examples. The book also addresses the processes of writing and submitting a grant, its review, and possible resubmission. It will be highly useful as a text in master's-level, DNP, and PhD research courses; doctoral seminars, for instructors who advise students on proposal development; and for practitioners who are interested in developing evidence-based practice. KEY FEATURES: Provides abundant tools for writing proposals of substance, clarity, and conviction Takes readers step by step through the process of writing a great variety of proposals Facilitates clear thinking and to-the-point writing Includes worksheets to help readers personalize information for their particular project Provides formats required for all federal grant proposals About the Authors: Sandra G. Funk, PhD, FAAN, is a professor emerita of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has taught research methods, statistics, and grant writing to master's and doctoral students, postdoctoral fellows, visiting scholars, and faculty, and co-teaches with Elizabeth M. Tornquist a program on grant writing. As associate dean for Research and director of the Research Support Center for many years, Dr. Funk led the school's research mission and mentored faculty on design, measurement, proposal development, and research management. She also consults with other universities in these areas. She has served as principal investigator or co-investigator on over $6 million in research funding and served as a reviewer for the National Institutes of Health and other federal agencies for over a decade. Her research interests, grants, and publications, which number over 100, focus on various aspects of applied measurement and research utilization and facilitation. Elizabeth M. Tornquist, MA, FAAN, has been a faculty member of the Schools of Nursing and Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is currently a visiting lecturer at the College of Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. She has taught scientific writing for nearly 40 years and has conducted numerous workshops for university faculty, health