Skip to Main Content
Information/Digital Literacy Resources
Assessing Digital Literacy by Wei Zhang; Wei Wei (Translator)
This book introduces the design and implementation of an assessment model for a new university-level English curriculum in China that aims at developing digital literacy skills. The assessment approach, embedded in the curriculum of an online modular course at Peking University, requires the students to conduct semester-long digital research projects in English in their major fields of study. Combining quantitative and qualitative methods, evaluation rubrics built around Content, Clarity, and Creative/Critical Thinking were developed, evaluated, and refined over three implementation cycles (eight semesters). The book presents a systematic assessment design framework, a set of effective rubrics for evaluating the digital research project, and authentic examples of written and multimedia presentations by Chinese students. Integrating assessment with instruction and technology, the book provides a valuable practical guide to digital literacy assessment for English education in the Outer and Expanding Circle contexts.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789811621284
Publication Date: 2021
Digital Visual Literacy by Nicole M. Fox
Designed to introduce visual literacy to instructional librarians, this book shows librarians how to make visual literacy relevant and engaging by framing it as a digital skill. Millions of images are uploaded to social media every day, and students are increasingly being asked to participate in such image-rich research projects as websites and blogs. Image manipulation and photo editing are commonplace, but the visual literacy skills needed to detect that kind of misinformation aren't. Students need help learning how to find, evaluate, and use images in an ethical and effective manner. Digital Visual Literacy is designed to introduce visual literacy to instructional librarians. This concise introduction teaches visual literacy as a digital skill, complete with digital humanities-based workshops and assignments to make instruction informative and engaging. It covers all aspects of visual literacy, from copyright to image evaluation. Each chapter clearly explains visual literacy standards and proficiencies and offers practical instructional assignments, in-class demonstrations, and more through the use of digital humanities tools. Helps clarify visual literacy, explains its importance, and teaches how to get students thinking about it Demonstrates how to integrate digital humanities tools into instruction more effectively Features demonstrations and assignments that can be used in any class by a wide variety of librarians
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781440875175
Publication Date: 2022
Integrating Digital Literacy in the Disciplines by Lauren Hays (Editor); Jenna Kammer (Editor)
Digital literacy has become the vital competency that students need to master before graduating. This book provides rich examples of how to integrate it in disciplinary courses. While many institutions are developing introductory courses to impart universal literacy (skills students need to know) and creative literacy (skills for creating new content), discipline-specific skills (skills needed to succeed within a specific discipline) are a vital extension to their learning and ability to apply digital literacy in different contexts. This book provides examples of how to integrate digital literacy across a wide variety of courses spanning many domains. Rather than a wholly new core institutional outcome, digital literacy adds to the development of critical thinking, communication, problem-solving, and teamwork skills by building students' capacities to assess online information so they can ethically share, communicate, or repurpose it through the appropriate use of available digital technologies. In short, it provides the vital digital dimension to their learning and the literacy skills which will be in increasing demand in their future lives. Following introductory chapters providing context and a theoretical framework, the contributing authors from different disciplines share the digital competencies and skills needed within their fields, the strategies they use to teach them, and insights about the choices they made. What shines through the examples is that, regardless of the specificity of the disciplinary examples, they offer all readers a commonality of approach and a trove of ideas that can be adapted to other contexts. This book constitutes a practical introduction for faculty interested in including opportunities to apply digital literacy to discipline-specific content. The book will benefit faculty developers and instructional designers who work with disciplinary faculty to integrate digital literacy. The book underscores the importance of preparing students at the course level to create, and be assessed on, digital content as fields are modernizing and delivery formats of assignments are evolving. Domains covered include digital literacy in teacher education, writing, musicology, indigenous literary studies, communications, journalism, business information technology, strategic management, chemistry, biology, health sciences, optometry, school librarianship, and law. The book demonstrates a range of approaches that can used to teach digital literacy skills in the classroom, including: Progressing from digital literacy to digital fluency Increasing digital literacy by creating digital content Assessment of digital literacy Identifying ethical considerations with digital literacy Sharing digital content outside of the classroom Identifying misinformation in digital communications Digitizing instructional practices, like lab notes and essays Reframing digital literacy from assumption to opportunity Preparing students to teach digital literacy to others Collaborating with other departments on campus to support digital literacy instruction Incorporating media into digital literacy (digital media literacy) Using digital storytelling and infographics to teach content knowledge] Weaving digital literacy throughout the curriculum of a program, and with increasing depth
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781642672145
Publication Date: 2021
Toolkit for Measuring Digital Skills and Digital Literacy by Damuri, Yose Rizal, Haryo Aswicahyono, Ira Setiati, Widdi Mugijayani, Teguh Yudo Wicaksono, Adinova Fauri, Dandy Rafitrandi, Ega Kurnia Yazid, Lestary Jakara Barany, and Rania Noor Teguh
Digital literacy and skills are essential for people to participate in digital economies and societies, for example, by enabling them to benefit from digital products, services, and content. In order to leave no one behind in digital economy development, it is essential to equip the population of a country with essential digital skills and digital literacy.
This document contains three separate reports, relevant to the deliverable “G20 Toolkit for Measuring Digital Skills and Digital”, which is the second priority issue: Digital Skills and Digital Literacy, of the G20 DEWG during the Indonesian Presidency.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2022
Assessing Digital Literacy by
This book introduces the design and implementation of an assessment model for a new university-level English curriculum in China that aims at developing digital literacy skills. The assessment approach, embedded in the curriculum of an online modular course at Peking University, requires the students to conduct semester-long digital research projects in English in their major fields of study. Combining quantitative and qualitative methods, evaluation rubrics built around Content, Clarity, and Creative/Critical Thinking were developed, evaluated, and refined over three implementation cycles (eight semesters). The book presents a systematic assessment design framework, a set of effective rubrics for evaluating the digital research project, and authentic examples of written and multimedia presentations by Chinese students. Integrating assessment with instruction and technology, the book provides a valuable practical guide to digital literacy assessment for English education in the Outer and Expanding Circle contexts.
Digital Visual Literacy by
Designed to introduce visual literacy to instructional librarians, this book shows librarians how to make visual literacy relevant and engaging by framing it as a digital skill. Millions of images are uploaded to social media every day, and students are increasingly being asked to participate in such image-rich research projects as websites and blogs. Image manipulation and photo editing are commonplace, but the visual literacy skills needed to detect that kind of misinformation aren't. Students need help learning how to find, evaluate, and use images in an ethical and effective manner. Digital Visual Literacy is designed to introduce visual literacy to instructional librarians. This concise introduction teaches visual literacy as a digital skill, complete with digital humanities-based workshops and assignments to make instruction informative and engaging. It covers all aspects of visual literacy, from copyright to image evaluation. Each chapter clearly explains visual literacy standards and proficiencies and offers practical instructional assignments, in-class demonstrations, and more through the use of digital humanities tools. Helps clarify visual literacy, explains its importance, and teaches how to get students thinking about it Demonstrates how to integrate digital humanities tools into instruction more effectively Features demonstrations and assignments that can be used in any class by a wide variety of librarians
Integrating Digital Literacy in the Disciplines by
Digital literacy has become the vital competency that students need to master before graduating. This book provides rich examples of how to integrate it in disciplinary courses. While many institutions are developing introductory courses to impart universal literacy (skills students need to know) and creative literacy (skills for creating new content), discipline-specific skills (skills needed to succeed within a specific discipline) are a vital extension to their learning and ability to apply digital literacy in different contexts. This book provides examples of how to integrate digital literacy across a wide variety of courses spanning many domains. Rather than a wholly new core institutional outcome, digital literacy adds to the development of critical thinking, communication, problem-solving, and teamwork skills by building students' capacities to assess online information so they can ethically share, communicate, or repurpose it through the appropriate use of available digital technologies. In short, it provides the vital digital dimension to their learning and the literacy skills which will be in increasing demand in their future lives. Following introductory chapters providing context and a theoretical framework, the contributing authors from different disciplines share the digital competencies and skills needed within their fields, the strategies they use to teach them, and insights about the choices they made. What shines through the examples is that, regardless of the specificity of the disciplinary examples, they offer all readers a commonality of approach and a trove of ideas that can be adapted to other contexts. This book constitutes a practical introduction for faculty interested in including opportunities to apply digital literacy to discipline-specific content. The book will benefit faculty developers and instructional designers who work with disciplinary faculty to integrate digital literacy. The book underscores the importance of preparing students at the course level to create, and be assessed on, digital content as fields are modernizing and delivery formats of assignments are evolving. Domains covered include digital literacy in teacher education, writing, musicology, indigenous literary studies, communications, journalism, business information technology, strategic management, chemistry, biology, health sciences, optometry, school librarianship, and law. The book demonstrates a range of approaches that can used to teach digital literacy skills in the classroom, including: Progressing from digital literacy to digital fluency Increasing digital literacy by creating digital content Assessment of digital literacy Identifying ethical considerations with digital literacy Sharing digital content outside of the classroom Identifying misinformation in digital communications Digitizing instructional practices, like lab notes and essays Reframing digital literacy from assumption to opportunity Preparing students to teach digital literacy to others Collaborating with other departments on campus to support digital literacy instruction Incorporating media into digital literacy (digital media literacy) Using digital storytelling and infographics to teach content knowledge] Weaving digital literacy throughout the curriculum of a program, and with increasing depth