Skip to Main Content
Specialized Dissertation & Thesis Resources
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project by Karen Roush
As a newly minted PhD or DNP, you've completed your dissertation or scholarly project. Congratulations! Wondering whether or how to publish? Confused about the publication process? Feeling overwhelmed? You are not alone. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project is a concise guide to preparing and polishing your work for publication. In a straightforward, conversational tone, author Karen Roush offers encouragement as well as information on everything from honing essential writing skills to choosing a publisher to submitting your manuscript-and all the steps in between. This book will help you navigate the world of scholarly publishing with less frustration-and more confidence-on the way to disseminating your research and knowledge. Book jacket.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781948057370
Publication Date: 2019
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project by Karen Roush; Sigma Theta Tau International Staff (Contribution by)
Feeling overwhelmed by the mere thought of writing your dissertation or scholarly project? Wondering how to begin and where to find the time? You are not alone. Earning your advanced degree is an extraordinary accomplishment, but completing those final stages can be a daunting task. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project, Second Edition, is a straightforward how-to guide. This book is intentionally concise because let's be honest, the last thing a busy candidate needs is another unwieldy, doorstop-sized book. Packed with practical steps and tools, this fully updated second edition-which includes a new chapter on the various formate for manuscript dissertations-will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or scholarly project. Don't go it alone; let author and fellow dissertation survivor Karen Roush help you get from square one to Done. Book jacket.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781948057127
Publication Date: 2018
Your Human Geography Dissertation by Kimberley Peters
An undergraduate dissertation is your opportunity to engage with geographical research, first-hand. Yet, completing a student project can be a stressful and complex process. Your Human Geography Dissertation: Designing, Doing, Delivering organizes the project into three helpful stages: Designing: Deciding on your approach, your topic, and your research question, while also ensuring your project is feasible Doing: Situating your research and selecting the best methods for your dissertation project Delivering: Dealing with data and writing up your findings With information and task boxes, soundbites offering student insight and guidance, and links to online materials, this essential guide offers a complete and accessible overview of the key skills needed to prepare, research, and write a successful human geography dissertation.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781446295182
Publication Date: 2017
General Dissertation & Thesis Resources
The A-Z of the PhD Trajectory by Eva O. L. Lantsoght
This textbook is a guide to success during the PhD trajectory. The first part of this book takes the reader through all steps of the PhD trajectory, and the second part contains a unique glossary of terms and explanation relevant for PhD candidates. Written in the accessible language of the PhD Talk blogs, the book contains a great deal of practical advice for carrying out research, and presenting one's work. It includes tips and advice from current and former PhD candidates, thus representing a broad range of opinions. The book includes exercises that help PhD candidates get their work kick-started. It covers all steps of a doctoral journey in STEM: getting started in a program, planning the work, the literature review, the research question, experimental work, writing, presenting, online tools, presenting at one's first conference, writing the first journal paper, writing and defending the thesis, and the career after the PhD. Since a PhD trajectory is a deeply personal journey, this book suggests methods PhD candidates can try out, and teaches them how to figure out for themselves which proposed methods work for them, and how to find their own way of doing things.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9783319774244
Publication Date: 2018
A Counselor's Guide to the Dissertation Process by Brandé Flamez; A. Stephen Lenz; Richard S. Balkin
This engaging book not only offers step-by-step guidance on planning, writing, and defending a dissertation but also helps create a beginning-to-end process that is meaningful, rewarding, and exciting. Each chapter answers commonly asked questions, contains a checklist for each part of the dissertation, provides a summary of key points, and lists additional resources. Topics addressed include tips for staying motivated, time management, and self-care; selecting a dissertation committee and narrowing down the topic; writing a proposal; preparing the literature review; creating the problem statement, purpose statement, and research questions; understanding research methodology and ethics; collecting and analyzing data; presenting results; and best of all--publishing a dissertation.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781556203596
Publication Date: 2017
The Dissertation Journey by Carol M. Roberts; Laura Hyatt
How to reach the pinnacle of academic achievementThe dissertation is a tough mountain to climb; half of all doctoral students never make it to the top. To overcome the practical, social, and psychological obstacles along the way, you need a knowledgeable guide and the right tools. This comprehensive how-to guide to developing and writing a quality dissertation provides: Expanded and updated coverage of crucial topics such as conducting a literature review, dissertation support groups, and harnessing technology to conduct research Progress tracking tools, sample forms, resource lists, and other user-friendly elements Thoroughly updated and revised chapters with the most current need-to-know information
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781506373317
Publication Date: 2018
A Practical Guide to Dissertation and Thesis Writing by Mark Stephan Felix and Ian Smith
This book provides a step-by-step guide to writing the different chapters of a PhD dissertation, which will benefit aspiring, beginner and mid-track PhD students and candidates in the Social Sciences. Based on the authors’ combined experience of working with both Masters and PhD students through the dissertation writing process, it offers helpful writing guidelines, from the conceptualization and problematization of the dissertation through to the literature review, methodological issues, writing up results and, finally, to the discussion, conclusions and abstract writing process.
With chapters dedicated to offering guidelines, suggestions and pitfalls to watch out for, this book will assist PhD students and candidates in the fields of the various Social Sciences with exercises and pointers on successfully navigating the writing of a PhD dissertation. It takes the PhD student in the Social Sciences through the maze of writing a dissertation, and provides a step-by-step train of thought throughout the entire writing process.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781527536814
Publication Date: 2019
The Productive Graduate Student Writer by Jan E. Allen; Chris M. Golde (Foreword by)
This book is for graduate students--and others--who want to become more productive writers. It's especially written for those who want to: * increase their motivation, focus, and persistence to move a project to completion * overcome procrastination and perfectionistic tendencies * reduce (or write in spite of) their anxiety and fear of writing * manage their time, work, energy (and advisor) for greater productivity The process or craft of sustained writing is not a matter that's taught to undergraduate or graduate students as part of their studies, leaving most at sea about how to start a practice that is central to a career in academe and vital in many other professional occupations. This book grew out of conversations Jan Allen has held with her graduate students for over 30 years and reflects the fruit of the writing workshops and boot camps she has conducted at three universities, her own and numerous colleagues' experiences with writing and advising, as well as the feedback she receives from her popular Productive Writer listserv. While Jan Allen recognizes that writing is not an innate talent for most of us, she demonstrates that it is a process based on skills which we can identify, learn, practice and refine. She focuses both on the process and habits of writing as well as on helping you uncover what kind of writer are you, and reflect on your challenges and successes. With a light touch and an engaging sense of humor, she proposes strategies to overcome procrastination and distractions, and build a writing practice to enable you to become a more productive and prolific writer. Jan Allen proposes that you read one of her succinct chapters - each devoted to a specific strategy or writing challenge - each day, or once a week. When you find one that increases your concentration, motivation or endurance, make it a habit. Try it for two weeks, charting the resulting increased productivity. It will become part of your repertoire of writing and productivity tools to which you can progressively add.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781620368909
Publication Date: 2019
Research Literacies and Writing Pedagogies for Masters and Doctoral Writers by Cecile Badenhorst (Editor); Cally Guerin (Editor)
Debates about researcher education emphasise the dramatic changes facing higher education in the twenty-first century. Post/graduate students must learn often-hidden research literacies with very limited support. Research Literacies and Writing Pedagogies for Masters and Doctoral Writersexplores the challenges students face when engaging in research writing. The chapters offer insights into effective pedagogies, ranging from direct, scaffolded instruction to peer learning, in face-to-face and online interventions. Themes extend from genre approaches, threshold concepts and publishing pedagogies through to the emotional aspects of post/graduate writing, writing groups, peer learning and relational collaborations, employing both online and digital technologies. Throughout, authors have revealed how research literacies and writing pedagogies, in situated contexts around the globe, demonstrate practices that are constantly changing in the face of personal, institutional and broader influences. With contributions from: Nick Almond, Cecile Badenhorst, Agnes Bosanquet, Marcia Z. Buell, Jayde Cahir, Mary Davies Turner, Robert B. Desjardins, Gretchen L. Dietz, Jennifer Dyer, Shawana Fazal, Mar lia Mendes Ferreira, Amanda French, Clare Furneaux, Cally Guerin, Pejman Habibie, Devon R. Kehler, Muhammad Ilyas Khan, Kyung Min Kim, Sally S. Knowles, Stephen Kuntz, Tara Lockhart, Michelle A. Maher, Muhammad Iqbal Majoka, Cecilia Moloney, Zinia Pritchard, Janna Rosales, Brett H. Say, Natalia V. Smirnova, Natalie Stillman-Webb, Joan Turner, John Turner, Gina Wisker, and K. Hyoejin Yoon.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789004304338
Publication Date: 2015
Research Methods for Successful PhD by Dinesh Kumar
A PhD is the start of a research career, and these students are the backbone of universities and research institutions. It is the opportunity for youthful energy and creativity to make a global impact and train future researchers to make a difference. However, the candidature can also be a period of confusion and regret due to lack of structure and understanding. Research Methods for Successful PhDis written to help PhD students and other young researchers navigate through this phase to give them a direction and purpose. It is a candid conversation developed from the experience of supervising 30 research students and publishing 400 papers over 20 years. The book recognizes that every student is different and has unique circumstances. It teases out the fundamental questions that we forget to ask, the method of relating to the supervisor, discusses methods to improve communication skills and explains how to get the work published.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9788793609181
Publication Date: 2017
Surviving and Thriving in Postgraduate Research by Ray Cooksey; Gael McDonald
This handbook provides an in-depth exploration of the entire journey of postgraduate research in the social and behavioural sciences, from enrolment to its culmination in the form of a thesis, dissertation or portfolio, and beyond. It is written in an accessible and example-rich style, offering practical and concrete advice in virtually all areas. It also includes references to additional resources and websites, and each chapter features key recommendations for improving the postgraduate research experience. The book addresses not only research-related aspects (e.g. supervisors; selecting your guiding assumptions; contextualising, framing and configuring research; reviewing literature; sampling; writing proposals; ethics and academic integrity; selecting a data gathering strategy; surviving your thesis/dissertation/portfolio examination; and publishing), but also questions concerning how to integrate, manage, and balance the research journey in the context of the postgraduate student's broader life-world (e.g. skill development and supervisor relations; effective time and project management; a healthy work-life balance; maintaining motivation; and dealing with criticism). The book adopts an explicitly pluralist perspective on postgraduate research, moving beyond mixed methods thinking, and offers concrete examples from postgraduate students' real-world experiences.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789811377464
Publication Date: 2019
Writing a Graduate Thesis or Dissertation by Lorrie Blair
"Like a series of productive meetings with a trusted advisor, each chapter of this text provides practical information and sound insight, thoughtfully organized and generously shared. A uniquely inclusive consideration of the process of graduate research, this is the companion that graduate students crave. Attentive to the academic issues and personal trials that often accompany thesis writing in the arts, humanities, and sciences, Lorrie Blair offers a guide that is comprehensive and clear, sensitive to the distinctions among fields, and sympathetic to the various ways that the process can confuse and confound scholars in the making."--Dr. Christine Marm Thompson, Professor of Art Education, School of Visual Arts, Pennsylvania State University ***** "Dr. Lorrie Blair's book is a valuable resource for every graduate student who needs to write a thesis. Filled with practical advice, this book covers the basics including differentiating between the various thesis formats, preparing the proposal, writing the literature review, choosing a methodology, collecting and analyzing data, and defending the thesis. The book also deals with the many interpersonal issues important to graduate students, including finding the right supervisor and dealing with problems that might arise between students and supervisors. The book presents sound advice regarding how to establish an academic track record by presenting research at conferences and publishing journal articles. Finally, the book is an excellent resource on the important issues of academic integrity and research ethics. For graduate students, it's common to feel overwhelmed when writing a thesis. ***** "Dr. Lorrie Blair provides a much-needed book for students pursuing a graduate degree. Writing A Graduate Thesis or Dissertation is a comprehensive guide to the stages of working through the rigors of writing and defending a graduate degree from the initial stages of choosing a thesis topic and supervisor, right through to the defense of the work. Each chapter can be consulted separately, or the whole book read to give a wide-ranging understanding of the issues most pertinent to writing and defending a thesis. This book provides something for everyone involved in that process. Both graduate students and their supervisors will find this a refreshing and thorough collection that addresses the topic across a wide range of disciplines. I wish this book had been available during my 30 years as a University Professor. With almost 100 graduate students supervised, I know that there are particular topics like plagiarism, how to conduct a literature review and ethical issues that are important for students to really understand as they begin their research and writing. The chapters on research methodology are clear and written to give access to a number of questions that students ask when trying to decide on how to conduct their research and strategies to help make their thesis a reality. This book is a highly readable, informative and welcome addition to academic literature."--Dr. Kit Grauer, Professor Emerita, Department of Curriculum and Pedagogy, The University of British Columbia ***** "Dr. Lorrie Blair's complex, yet thoughtful and accessible account of the graduate research experience and thesis/dissertation writing process resonated strongly with my recent experience as a PhD student. This book provides a detailed, well-structured, pragmatic guide to navigating the thresholds of graduate work, which reflects the author's many years as an extremely well respected professor, teacher, mentor and graduate supervisor. More than simply comprehensive, this work includes information and considerations that are rarely addressed in other guides, including information related to selecting supervisors and alternative forms of research methodologies and format styles. Throughout this book, Blair weaves in a discussion of relevant contemporary challenges an
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789463004244
Publication Date: 2016
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project by
As a newly minted PhD or DNP, you've completed your dissertation or scholarly project. Congratulations! Wondering whether or how to publish? Confused about the publication process? Feeling overwhelmed? You are not alone. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project is a concise guide to preparing and polishing your work for publication. In a straightforward, conversational tone, author Karen Roush offers encouragement as well as information on everything from honing essential writing skills to choosing a publisher to submitting your manuscript-and all the steps in between. This book will help you navigate the world of scholarly publishing with less frustration-and more confidence-on the way to disseminating your research and knowledge. Book jacket.
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project by
Feeling overwhelmed by the mere thought of writing your dissertation or scholarly project? Wondering how to begin and where to find the time? You are not alone. Earning your advanced degree is an extraordinary accomplishment, but completing those final stages can be a daunting task. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project, Second Edition, is a straightforward how-to guide. This book is intentionally concise because let's be honest, the last thing a busy candidate needs is another unwieldy, doorstop-sized book. Packed with practical steps and tools, this fully updated second edition-which includes a new chapter on the various formate for manuscript dissertations-will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or scholarly project. Don't go it alone; let author and fellow dissertation survivor Karen Roush help you get from square one to Done. Book jacket.
Your Human Geography Dissertation by
An undergraduate dissertation is your opportunity to engage with geographical research, first-hand. Yet, completing a student project can be a stressful and complex process. Your Human Geography Dissertation: Designing, Doing, Delivering organizes the project into three helpful stages: Designing: Deciding on your approach, your topic, and your research question, while also ensuring your project is feasible Doing: Situating your research and selecting the best methods for your dissertation project Delivering: Dealing with data and writing up your findings With information and task boxes, soundbites offering student insight and guidance, and links to online materials, this essential guide offers a complete and accessible overview of the key skills needed to prepare, research, and write a successful human geography dissertation.
The A-Z of the PhD Trajectory by
This textbook is a guide to success during the PhD trajectory. The first part of this book takes the reader through all steps of the PhD trajectory, and the second part contains a unique glossary of terms and explanation relevant for PhD candidates. Written in the accessible language of the PhD Talk blogs, the book contains a great deal of practical advice for carrying out research, and presenting one's work. It includes tips and advice from current and former PhD candidates, thus representing a broad range of opinions. The book includes exercises that help PhD candidates get their work kick-started. It covers all steps of a doctoral journey in STEM: getting started in a program, planning the work, the literature review, the research question, experimental work, writing, presenting, online tools, presenting at one's first conference, writing the first journal paper, writing and defending the thesis, and the career after the PhD. Since a PhD trajectory is a deeply personal journey, this book suggests methods PhD candidates can try out, and teaches them how to figure out for themselves which proposed methods work for them, and how to find their own way of doing things.
A Counselor's Guide to the Dissertation Process by
This engaging book not only offers step-by-step guidance on planning, writing, and defending a dissertation but also helps create a beginning-to-end process that is meaningful, rewarding, and exciting. Each chapter answers commonly asked questions, contains a checklist for each part of the dissertation, provides a summary of key points, and lists additional resources. Topics addressed include tips for staying motivated, time management, and self-care; selecting a dissertation committee and narrowing down the topic; writing a proposal; preparing the literature review; creating the problem statement, purpose statement, and research questions; understanding research methodology and ethics; collecting and analyzing data; presenting results; and best of all--publishing a dissertation.
The Dissertation Journey by
How to reach the pinnacle of academic achievementThe dissertation is a tough mountain to climb; half of all doctoral students never make it to the top. To overcome the practical, social, and psychological obstacles along the way, you need a knowledgeable guide and the right tools. This comprehensive how-to guide to developing and writing a quality dissertation provides: Expanded and updated coverage of crucial topics such as conducting a literature review, dissertation support groups, and harnessing technology to conduct research Progress tracking tools, sample forms, resource lists, and other user-friendly elements Thoroughly updated and revised chapters with the most current need-to-know information
A Practical Guide to Dissertation and Thesis Writing by
This book provides a step-by-step guide to writing the different chapters of a PhD dissertation, which will benefit aspiring, beginner and mid-track PhD students and candidates in the Social Sciences. Based on the authors’ combined experience of working with both Masters and PhD students through the dissertation writing process, it offers helpful writing guidelines, from the conceptualization and problematization of the dissertation through to the literature review, methodological issues, writing up results and, finally, to the discussion, conclusions and abstract writing process.
With chapters dedicated to offering guidelines, suggestions and pitfalls to watch out for, this book will assist PhD students and candidates in the fields of the various Social Sciences with exercises and pointers on successfully navigating the writing of a PhD dissertation. It takes the PhD student in the Social Sciences through the maze of writing a dissertation, and provides a step-by-step train of thought throughout the entire writing process.
The Productive Graduate Student Writer by
This book is for graduate students--and others--who want to become more productive writers. It's especially written for those who want to: * increase their motivation, focus, and persistence to move a project to completion * overcome procrastination and perfectionistic tendencies * reduce (or write in spite of) their anxiety and fear of writing * manage their time, work, energy (and advisor) for greater productivity The process or craft of sustained writing is not a matter that's taught to undergraduate or graduate students as part of their studies, leaving most at sea about how to start a practice that is central to a career in academe and vital in many other professional occupations. This book grew out of conversations Jan Allen has held with her graduate students for over 30 years and reflects the fruit of the writing workshops and boot camps she has conducted at three universities, her own and numerous colleagues' experiences with writing and advising, as well as the feedback she receives from her popular Productive Writer listserv. While Jan Allen recognizes that writing is not an innate talent for most of us, she demonstrates that it is a process based on skills which we can identify, learn, practice and refine. She focuses both on the process and habits of writing as well as on helping you uncover what kind of writer are you, and reflect on your challenges and successes. With a light touch and an engaging sense of humor, she proposes strategies to overcome procrastination and distractions, and build a writing practice to enable you to become a more productive and prolific writer. Jan Allen proposes that you read one of her succinct chapters - each devoted to a specific strategy or writing challenge - each day, or once a week. When you find one that increases your concentration, motivation or endurance, make it a habit. Try it for two weeks, charting the resulting increased productivity. It will become part of your repertoire of writing and productivity tools to which you can progressively add.
Research Literacies and Writing Pedagogies for Masters and Doctoral Writers by
Debates about researcher education emphasise the dramatic changes facing higher education in the twenty-first century. Post/graduate students must learn often-hidden research literacies with very limited support. Research Literacies and Writing Pedagogies for Masters and Doctoral Writersexplores the challenges students face when engaging in research writing. The chapters offer insights into effective pedagogies, ranging from direct, scaffolded instruction to peer learning, in face-to-face and online interventions. Themes extend from genre approaches, threshold concepts and publishing pedagogies through to the emotional aspects of post/graduate writing, writing groups, peer learning and relational collaborations, employing both online and digital technologies. Throughout, authors have revealed how research literacies and writing pedagogies, in situated contexts around the globe, demonstrate practices that are constantly changing in the face of personal, institutional and broader influences. With contributions from: Nick Almond, Cecile Badenhorst, Agnes Bosanquet, Marcia Z. Buell, Jayde Cahir, Mary Davies Turner, Robert B. Desjardins, Gretchen L. Dietz, Jennifer Dyer, Shawana Fazal, Mar lia Mendes Ferreira, Amanda French, Clare Furneaux, Cally Guerin, Pejman Habibie, Devon R. Kehler, Muhammad Ilyas Khan, Kyung Min Kim, Sally S. Knowles, Stephen Kuntz, Tara Lockhart, Michelle A. Maher, Muhammad Iqbal Majoka, Cecilia Moloney, Zinia Pritchard, Janna Rosales, Brett H. Say, Natalia V. Smirnova, Natalie Stillman-Webb, Joan Turner, John Turner, Gina Wisker, and K. Hyoejin Yoon.
Research Methods for Successful PhD by
A PhD is the start of a research career, and these students are the backbone of universities and research institutions. It is the opportunity for youthful energy and creativity to make a global impact and train future researchers to make a difference. However, the candidature can also be a period of confusion and regret due to lack of structure and understanding. Research Methods for Successful PhDis written to help PhD students and other young researchers navigate through this phase to give them a direction and purpose. It is a candid conversation developed from the experience of supervising 30 research students and publishing 400 papers over 20 years. The book recognizes that every student is different and has unique circumstances. It teases out the fundamental questions that we forget to ask, the method of relating to the supervisor, discusses methods to improve communication skills and explains how to get the work published.
Surviving and Thriving in Postgraduate Research by
This handbook provides an in-depth exploration of the entire journey of postgraduate research in the social and behavioural sciences, from enrolment to its culmination in the form of a thesis, dissertation or portfolio, and beyond. It is written in an accessible and example-rich style, offering practical and concrete advice in virtually all areas. It also includes references to additional resources and websites, and each chapter features key recommendations for improving the postgraduate research experience. The book addresses not only research-related aspects (e.g. supervisors; selecting your guiding assumptions; contextualising, framing and configuring research; reviewing literature; sampling; writing proposals; ethics and academic integrity; selecting a data gathering strategy; surviving your thesis/dissertation/portfolio examination; and publishing), but also questions concerning how to integrate, manage, and balance the research journey in the context of the postgraduate student's broader life-world (e.g. skill development and supervisor relations; effective time and project management; a healthy work-life balance; maintaining motivation; and dealing with criticism). The book adopts an explicitly pluralist perspective on postgraduate research, moving beyond mixed methods thinking, and offers concrete examples from postgraduate students' real-world experiences.
Writing a Graduate Thesis or Dissertation by
"Like a series of productive meetings with a trusted advisor, each chapter of this text provides practical information and sound insight, thoughtfully organized and generously shared. A uniquely inclusive consideration of the process of graduate research, this is the companion that graduate students crave. Attentive to the academic issues and personal trials that often accompany thesis writing in the arts, humanities, and sciences, Lorrie Blair offers a guide that is comprehensive and clear, sensitive to the distinctions among fields, and sympathetic to the various ways that the process can confuse and confound scholars in the making."--Dr. Christine Marm Thompson, Professor of Art Education, School of Visual Arts, Pennsylvania State University ***** "Dr. Lorrie Blair's book is a valuable resource for every graduate student who needs to write a thesis. Filled with practical advice, this book covers the basics including differentiating between the various thesis formats, preparing the proposal, writing the literature review, choosing a methodology, collecting and analyzing data, and defending the thesis. The book also deals with the many interpersonal issues important to graduate students, including finding the right supervisor and dealing with problems that might arise between students and supervisors. The book presents sound advice regarding how to establish an academic track record by presenting research at conferences and publishing journal articles. Finally, the book is an excellent resource on the important issues of academic integrity and research ethics. For graduate students, it's common to feel overwhelmed when writing a thesis. ***** "Dr. Lorrie Blair provides a much-needed book for students pursuing a graduate degree. Writing A Graduate Thesis or Dissertation is a comprehensive guide to the stages of working through the rigors of writing and defending a graduate degree from the initial stages of choosing a thesis topic and supervisor, right through to the defense of the work. Each chapter can be consulted separately, or the whole book read to give a wide-ranging understanding of the issues most pertinent to writing and defending a thesis. This book provides something for everyone involved in that process. Both graduate students and their supervisors will find this a refreshing and thorough collection that addresses the topic across a wide range of disciplines. I wish this book had been available during my 30 years as a University Professor. With almost 100 graduate students supervised, I know that there are particular topics like plagiarism, how to conduct a literature review and ethical issues that are important for students to really understand as they begin their research and writing. The chapters on research methodology are clear and written to give access to a number of questions that students ask when trying to decide on how to conduct their research and strategies to help make their thesis a reality. This book is a highly readable, informative and welcome addition to academic literature."--Dr. Kit Grauer, Professor Emerita, Department of Curriculum and Pedagogy, The University of British Columbia ***** "Dr. Lorrie Blair's complex, yet thoughtful and accessible account of the graduate research experience and thesis/dissertation writing process resonated strongly with my recent experience as a PhD student. This book provides a detailed, well-structured, pragmatic guide to navigating the thresholds of graduate work, which reflects the author's many years as an extremely well respected professor, teacher, mentor and graduate supervisor. More than simply comprehensive, this work includes information and considerations that are rarely addressed in other guides, including information related to selecting supervisors and alternative forms of research methodologies and format styles. Throughout this book, Blair weaves in a discussion of relevant contemporary challenges an