Library Research Guides: * Nursing: Open Access Resources

Featured Websites

Featured Websites:

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. The Web site is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
more...less...
Information on ClinicalTrials.gov is provided and updated by the sponsor or principal investigator of the clinical study. Studies are generally submitted to the Web site (that is, registered) when they begin, and the information on the site is updated throughout the study. In some cases, results of the study are submitted after the study ends. This Web site and database of clinical studies is commonly referred to as a "registry and results database."
Drugs @ FDA
FDA Approved Drug Products
National Cancer Institute
Cancer.gov is the central website for the National Cancer Institute (NCI), the U.S. government’s principal agency for cancer research. NCI is mandated by U.S. law to disseminate information about cancer and cancer research. This website serves as an important means to achieving that mission.
National Center for Health Statistics, via CDC
The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation’s principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.
National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
Office of Minority Health Resource Center, via HHS
A nationwide service of the Office of Minority Health that provides minority health literature, research and referrals for consumers, community organizations and health professionals. The Resource Center offers a variety of information resources, including access to online document collections, database and funding searches, and customized responses to requests for information.
Physician Data Query (PDQ®)
NCI’s comprehensive cancer information database, forms the core of the information for patients and health professionals. It is regularly updated with the latest evidence-based information. The PDQ cancer information summaries are developed and maintained by the PDQ Editorial Boards.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS)
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. We fulfill that mission by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services.
VA Center for Women Veterans (CWV): Research
VA: Reports and Research, Special Volumes, PubMed.gov medical research articles on Women Veterans.
World Health Organization
WHO's primary role is to direct international health within the United Nations' system and to lead partners in global health responses.
more...less...
Provides information and data on global health topics and address them according to different countries/regions.

Google Operators

How to use Google to Search for Gov Sources @GGC Kaufman Library

Research Tip-

use " site: .gov " to search for government information

Example: Google: " affordable housing reports site: .gov "

* Nursing

Google Scholar

How to Set Library Link Preferences in Google Scholar @GGC Library

Featured Websites

Google Operators

How to use Google to Search for Gov Sources @GGC Kaufman Library