Anatomy and Physiology by
Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams.
Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care by
OER developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practised in the clinical setting. The checklist approach, used in this textbook, aims to provide standardized processes for clinical skills and to help nursing schools and clinical practice partners keep procedural practice current. Each skill/procedure is covered in a chapter that has learning objectives, a brief overview of the relevant theory, checklists of steps for procedures with the rationale behind each step of the process, and a summary of key takeaways. Key terms are set in bold throughout the book and laid out again in a Glossary in the appendix. All 88 checklists are also summarized, and hyperlinked to the original checklist, in the appendix.
Health Equity: A Solutions-Focused Approach by
A comprehensive textbook that illustrates existing conditions of health disparities across a range of populations in the United States, positions those disparities within the broader sociopolitical framework that leads to their existence, and most importantly presents specific ways in which health equity solutions can be designed and implemented. Presenting current theoretical foundations, cultural context, and evidence-based models and interventions all in one, this textbook provides students with the basis to achieve greater health equity in their communities. Edited by award-winning authors and featuring contributions from diverse experts in public health, sociology, psychology, and medicine, this groundbreaking text goes beyond a traditional approach to risk factors and disparities and emphasizes the central role health equity initiatives must play in public health research and practice.The book is divided into three sections, with Section One focusing on providing the context of health equity research and practice. Chapters are structured in a way that both new and experienced students in the field will develop a deeper understanding of topics such as prejudice and discrimination; frameworks and theories; and research and collaboration approaches. Section Two addresses the current knowledge of specific populations impacted by issues related to health equity, including African American, Latino and Hispanic, Asian, American Indian and Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander, LGBTQ, Veteran, People with Disabilities, and many more. Authored or co-authored by members of the community being discussed, each of these chapters summarizes how health disparities impact the group, ongoing population-specific models of disparities and equity, emerging programs for achieving health equity, coverage of the most relevant aspects of intersectionality, and concluding exercises such as case studies and current events. Section Three then highlights the role of cultural humility in achieving health equity. With its solutions-focused and community-affirming approach, Health Equity provides graduate and undergraduate students of public health with evidence-based models to help advance health through diversity, inclusion, and social justice. Key Features: Origins and Theories - Discusses the sociocultural and political origins of health disparities and the major theories that underlie an understanding of health equity Solutions Focus - Describes emerging models and gives best practices in designing new programs Diverse Population Focus - Provides historical context, sociocultural dynamics, and population-specific evidence-based programs from the voices of the communities being discussed Intersectionality Perspective - Highlights the role that overlapping and interdependent identities play in promoting health equity, and interventions that build from this perspective Case Studies and Real-World Examples - Demonstrate how to apply health equity improvement approaches in different contexts eBook access - Included with print purchase for use on most mobile devices or computers Instructor's Packet - With an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Test Bank, and a Sample Syllabus
Nursing Care at the End of Life by
Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know addresses an essential component of the basic educational preparation for the professional registered nurse student. Recent studies show that only one in four nurses feel confident in caring for dying patients and their families and less than 2% of overall content in nursing textbooks are related to end-of-life care. Despite the tremendous growth in palliative and end-of-life care programs across the country, very few nursing education programs provide adequate education on this topic for future nurses. The purpose of this textbook is to provide an indepth look at death and dying in this country and explore the vital role of the nurse in assisting patients and families along the journey towards the end of life. There is an emphasis throughout the book on the simple, yet understated value of effective interpersonal communication between the patient and clinician. The text provides a basic foundation for understanding death and dying, including a brief historical examination of some main conceptual models associated with how patients cope with impending loss. An overview of illness trajectories and models of care, such as hospice and palliative care, are discussed. Lastly, the latest evidence based approaches for pain and symptom management, ethical concerns, cultural considerations, care at the time of death, and bereavement are examined. The goal of this text is to foster the necessary skills for nurses to provide compassionate care to individuals who are nearing the end of life and families who are experiencing the loss of a loved one. Every chapter contains a "What You Should Know" section which highlights and reinforces the main message nurses should know when caring for their patient.
Nursing Pharmacology by
This open access Nursing Pharmacology textbook is designed for entry-level undergraduate nursing students. It explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes. This book is not intended to be used as a drug reference book, but direct links are provided to DailyMed, which provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States.
Population-Based Public Health Clinical Manual by 
Teaching and Learning in Nursing by
DOI: 10.5772/65314
A significant body of knowledge is the basis for a holistic, caring and scientific evidence-based nursing education in practice for professional development. Quality teaching leads to good learning and both aspects are two of the main issues of quality assurance in nursing education today. To begin with, not all nursing students have the same levels of motivation or learning abilities. It is with cognisance of providing quality care for patients that the role of the nurse educator has to be to enhance nursing students' learning using scientific evidence based teaching. Research around teaching and learning processes is an important part of the delivery of quality education, which in turn impacts on students' learning results and experiences, thereby, ensuring holistic biopsychosocial care to patients. The main aim of teaching and learning in nursing, at all levels, is to enhance the nurses' contribution to assist the individuals, families and communities in promoting and preserving health, well-being and to efficiently respond to illnesses. We hope that this book can be used as a resource to increase the body of knowledge in teaching and learning in nursing, thereby enhancing the role and contribution of health care professionals to clinical practice.
Transitions to Professional Nursing Practice by
A pivotal learning experience for students transitioning from an associate degree education to a baccalaureate degree. Content includes a broad overview of the nursing profession, the role of accrediting and professional organizations with a strong focus on the American Nurses Association’s foundational documents. The competencies of the Standards of Professional Practice and the Code of Ethics are weaved throughout the text.
Topics covered in this text include professional nursing practice, baccalaureate education, healthcare in the 21st century, autonomy and accountability, nursing philosophy, professional development, communication, interprofessional collaboration, critical thinking, introduction to evidence-based practice, and nursing leadership and theory.