The Neighborhood Atlas website was created in order to freely share measures of neighborhood disadvantage with the public, including educational institutions, health systems, not-for-profit organizations, and government agencies, in order to make these metrics available for use in research, program planning, and policy development. The site was launched May 1, 2018.
Living in a disadvantaged neighborhood has been linked to a number of healthcare outcomes, including higher rates of diabetes and cardiovascular disease, increased utilization of health services, and earlier death1-5. Health interventions and policies that don't account for neighborhood disadvantage may be ineffective1
OMH (Office of Minority Health) Knowledge Center for Health Equity
Access to the nation’s largest repository of information dedicated to the health of minority populations within the United States and its territories. The collection includes more than 60,000 documents, books, journal articles, reports, and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations. In addition, users can access consumer health materials in more than 40 languages. The database identifies print and digital content leading to article, document, journal, and organizational records.
This list is not allencompassing, nor does it capture all the nuances of the terms, some of which may be more politically or culturally sensitive. Some items (e.g., adverse childhood experiences) have precise definitions, while
others (e.g., LGBT, minority) are fluid. This list can be used when developing RFPs or shared with potential contractors or grantees to assist them in writing their proposals.
Public Health Review via Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASHTO) podcast series
U.S. Resources: Social Determinants of Health (SDH/SDOH) & Health Equity
Get an overview of your state, county, or place all in one location with our geo-profile pages. They provide high-level statistics about your area regarding people and population, race and ethnicity, families and living arrangements, health, education, business and economy, employment, housing, and income and poverty. Try searching for your hometown to see what data we have, and don’t forget to share or embed the maps and charts.
Social vulnerability refers to the potential negative effects on communities caused by external stresses on human health. Such stresses include natural or human-caused disasters, or disease outbreaks. Reducing social vulnerability can decrease both human suffering and economic loss. The CDC/ATSDR Social Vulnerability Index (CDC/ATSDR SVI) uses 15 U.S. census variables to help local officials identify communities that may need support before, during, or after disasters.
Emphasizes the importance of addressing all people inclusively and respectfully. These principles are intended to help public health professionals, particularly health communicators, within and outside of CDC ensure their communication products and strategies adapt to the specific cultural, linguistic, environmental, and historical situation of each population or audience of focus.
Social determinants of health (SDOH) are the conditions in the environments where people are born, live, learn, work, play, worship, and age that affect a wide range of health, functioning, and quality-of-life outcomes and risks. SDOH can be grouped into 5 domains: (1) Economic Stability, (2) Education & Access, (3) Health Care Access & Quality, (4) Neighborhood & builty Enviornment, and (5) Social & Community Content. Explore evidence based resources (EBR) on each domain.
The Office of Minority Health is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities. Includes population profiles.
HRSA programs provide health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable. This includes people living with HIV/AIDS, pregnant women, mothers and their families, and those otherwise unable to access high quality health care. HRSA also supports access to health care in rural areas, the training of health professionals, the distribution of providers to areas where they are needed most, and improvements in health care delivery.
Culturally and linguistically appropriate services (CLAS) is a way to improve the quality of services provided to all individuals, which will ultimately help reduce health disparities and achieve health equity. CLAS is about respect and responsiveness: Respect the whole individual and Respond to the individual’s health needs and preferences. Health inequities in our nation are well documented. Providing CLAS is one strategy to help eliminate health inequities. By tailoring services to an individual's culture and language preferences, health professionals can help bring about positive health outcomes for diverse populations.
Quality health care means delivering services in ways that are safe, timely, patient centered, effective, efficient, and equitable. Unfortunately, our health care system often distributes services inefficiently and unevenly across populations, and some Americans receive worse care than others in the United States. Variations in health care and health status among racial and ethnic and socioeconomic groups continue to challenge the nation... Includes the following content areas: Raising Awareness; Collecting Data; Analyzing Data; Reporting Data; Identifying Best Practices; Tracking Success; and Focusing on Specific Vulnerable Populations.
The Rural and Minority Health Research Center's mission is to illuminate and address the health and social inequities experienced by rural and minoritized populations to promote the health of all through policy-relevant research and advocacy.
This website features information, continuing education opportunities, resources, and more for health and health care professionals to learn about culturally and linguistically appropriate services, or CLAS. Launched in 2004, Think Cultural Health is sponsored by the Office of Minority Health.
International Resources: Social Determinants of Health (SDH/SDOH) & Health Equity
Social indicators covering a wide range of subject-matter fields are compiled by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat, from many national and international sources. The indicators presented here consist mainly of the minimum list which has been proposed for follow-up and monitoring implementation of major United Nations conferences on children, population and development, social development and women.
The social determinants of health (SDH) are the non-medical factors that influence health outcomes. They are the conditions in which people are born, grow, work, live, and age, and the wider set of forces and systems shaping the conditions of daily life. These forces and systems include economic policies and systems, development agendas, social norms, social policies and political systems.
The SDH have an important influence on health inequities - the unfair and avoidable differences in health status seen within and between countries. In countries at all levels of income, health and illness follow a social gradient: the lower the socioeconomic position, the worse the health.
The following list provides examples of the social determinants of health, which can influence health equity in positive and negative ways:
Income and social protection
Unemployment and job insecurity
Working life conditions
Housing, basic amenities and the environment
Early childhood development
Social inclusion and non-discrimination
Access to affordable health services of decent quality.
Research shows that the social determinants can be more important than health care or lifestyle choices in influencing health. For example, numerous studies suggest that SDH account for between 30-55% of health outcomes. In addition, estimates show that the contribution of sectors outside health to population health outcomes exceeds the contribution from the health sector.
Addressing SDH appropriately is fundamental for improving health and reducing longstanding inequities in health, which requires action by all sectors and civil society.
Publications: Social Determinants of Health (SDH/SDOH) & Health Equity
The social determinants of health are the conditions in which people are born, grow, work, live, and age and people’s access to power, money and resources. The social determinants are the major drivers of health inequities – unfair, avoidable and remediable differences in health between social groups. This evidence brief examines the influence of the social determinants of health on the current COVID-19 pandemic, focusing on the inequities of impact. The findings are drawn from a rapid systematic review of global evidence.
Inequalities in the social determinants of health have been unmasked by the COVID-19 pandemic, and have led to glaring inequities in COVID-19 health outcomes
between population groups, partly mediated through differences in capacity to adhere to public health and social measures that reduce viral transmission (such as
handwashing, use of face-masks, physical distancing, and closure of workplace, schools and public events). In turn, the broader impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic
have unequally impacted on the social determinants of health themselves, further exacerbating health inequities. These unacceptable and unjust outcomes
highlight the need to take greater account of social determinants of health in pandemic preparedness and response efforts, including for the rest of the current COVID-19 pandemic.
Iincludes select CDC/ASTDR SVI publications and materials authored by and recommended by GRASP for the scientists, researchers, emergency responders, and public health professionals in the SVI community.
Research by CDC authors on a range of SDOH topics expands the scientific evidence that will help build the pathway to health equity. Based on specified criteria, the following list of recently published peer-reviewed articles.
This section of the SDOH website includes resources on policies that support a multi-sector approach to improving health. Together, people who work in public health, health care, and non-health fields can take actions that target high-priority SDOH.
The National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report presents trends for measures related to access to care, affordable care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, patient safety, and person-centered care. The report presents, in chart form, the latest available findings on quality of and access to healthcare, as well as disparities related to race and ethnicity, income, and other social determinants of health.
AHRQ is reporting on healthcare quality and disparities. The annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report is mandated by Congress to provide a comprehensive overview of the quality of healthcare received by the general U.S. population and disparities in care experienced by different racial and socioeconomic groups. The report is produced with the help of an Interagency Work Group led by AHRQ.
The report shows progress in vital health indicators and addresses the agency’s efforts to improve health outcomes through access to quality services, a skilled health workforce and innovative, high-value programs.
These profiles provide detailed demographic, language fluency (where relevant), education, economic, insurance coverage and health status information, as well as full census reports on the following populations: Black/Afican
American Health, American Indian/A;aska Native Health, Asian American Health, Hispanic/Latino Health, and Native Hawaiin & Pacific Isalnder Health.
Continuing Education: Social Determinants of Health (SDH/SDOH) & Health Equity