Skip to Main Content
Statistics & Analysis Resources
Calculating and Reporting Healthcare Statistics by Loretta A. Horton
Calculating and Reporting Healthcare Statistics, Fifth Edition, introduces and illustrates the basics of statistical computation so health information practitioners, who have ever-increasing contact with and uses for healthcare data, can learn about healthcare statistics and how they are generated. This text is intended for use in two- and four-year health information technician (HIT) or health information administration (HIA) programs and also serves as an excellent reference for healthcare professionals seeking to sharpen their statistical skills. The author describes how and why statistics are calculated and used, providing exercises in compiling information such as inpatient service days, length of stay, and occupancy and mortality rates. Key Features, Covers all AHIMA curriculum domains for statistics, New chapter on data analytics, Explores data presentation, inferential statistics, basic research principles, data mining, and information governance, Extensive chapter exercises with answers and rationales for odd-numbered questions, Glossary of terminology on which statistical formulas are based Book jacket.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781584264804
Publication Date: 2016
Excel 2019 for Social Science Statistics by Thomas J. Quirk
This book shows the capabilities of Microsoft Excel in teaching social science statistics effectively. Similar to the previously published Excel 2016 for Social Sciences Statistics, this book is a step-by-step, exercise-driven guide for students and practitioners who need to master Excel to solve practical social science problems. If understanding statistics isn't your strongest suit, you are not especially mathematically inclined, or you are wary of computers, this is the right book for you. Excel, a widely available computer program for students and managers, is also an effective teaching and learning tool for quantitative analyses in social science courses. Its powerful computational ability and graphical functions make learning statistics much easier than in years past. Excel 2019 for Social Science Statistics: A Guide to Solving Practical Problems capitalizes on these improvements by teaching students and managers how to apply Excel to statistical techniques necessary in their courses and work. In this new edition, each chapter explains statistical formulas and directs the reader to use Excel commands to solve specific, easy-to-understand social science problems. Practice problems are provided at the end of each chapter with their solutions in an appendix. Separately, there is a full practice test (with answers in an appendix) that allows readers to test what they have learned.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9783030643324
Publication Date: 2019
A Guide to Business Statistics by David M. McEvoy
An accessible text that explains fundamental concepts in business statistics that are often obscured by formulae and mathematical notation A Guide to Business Statistics offers a practical approach to statistics that covers the fundamental concepts in business and economics. The book maintains the level of rigor of a more conventional textbook in business statistics but uses a more streamlined and intuitive approach. In short, A Guide to Business Statistics provides clarity to the typical statistics textbook cluttered with notation and formulae. The author--an expert in the field--offers concise and straightforward explanations to the core principles and techniques in business statistics. The concepts are introduced through examples, and the text is designed to be accessible to readers with a variety of backgrounds. To enhance learning, most of the mathematical formulae and notation appears in technical appendices at the end of each chapter. This important resource: Offers a comprehensive guide to understanding business statistics targeting business and economics students and professionals Introduces the concepts and techniques through concise and intuitive examples Focuses on understanding by moving distracting formulae and mathematical notation to appendices Offers intuition, insights, humor, and practical advice for students of business statistics Features coverage of sampling techniques, descriptive statistics, probability, sampling distributions, confidence intervals, hypothesis tests, and regression Written for undergraduate business students, business and economics majors, teachers, and practitioners, A Guide to Business Statistics offers an accessible guide to the key concepts and fundamental principles in statistics.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781119138358
Publication Date: 2018
Multivariate Methods and Forecasting with IBM(r) SPSS(r) Statistics by Abdulkader Aljandali
This is the second of a two-part guide to quantitative analysis using the IBM SPSS Statistics software package; this volume focuses on multivariate statistical methods and advanced forecasting techniques. More often than not, regression models involve more than one independent variable. For example, forecasting methods are commonly applied to aggregates such as inflation rates, unemployment, exchange rates, etc., that have complex relationships with determining variables. This book introduces multivariate regression models and provides examples to help understand theory underpinning the model. The book presents the fundamentals of multivariate regression and then moves on to examine several related techniques that have application in business-orientated fields such as logistic and multinomial regression. Forecasting tools such as the Box-Jenkins approach to time series modeling are introduced, as well as exponential smoothing and naïve techniques. This part also covers hot topics such as Factor Analysis, Discriminant Analysis and Multidimensional Scaling (MDS).
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9783319859224
Publication Date: 2018
Statistics and Research Methods in Psychology with Excel by J. P. Verma
This book, specifically developed for students of psychology, covers a wide range of topics in statistics and research designs taught in psychology, in particular, and other disciplines like management, sociology, education, home science, and nutrition, in general, in most universities. It explains how to use Excel to analyze research data by elaborating statistical concepts. Each chapter contains sections like "Check you Computing skill" and "Check your Statistical Concepts" to enable students to assess their knowledge in a graded manner. The book addresses one of the major challenges in psychology research, viz., how to measure subjective phenomenon like attitude, desire, and preferences of an individual. Separate emphasis has been given to the measurement techniques which are essential tools to assess these subjective parameters in numerical form, required for statistical analysis to draw meaningful conclusions. The book is equally helpful to students of humanities, life sciences and other applied areas. Consisting of 14 chapters, the book covers all relevant topics of statistics and research designs which are important for students to plan and complete their research work.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789811334283
Publication Date: 2019
Statistics for Social Sciences by T. Rajaretnam
A comprehensive guide to the practical applications of statistics in social sciences This book brings out the relevance of statistical tools and methods in social sciences. Describing the various statistical techniques, it highlights their purpose and application along with a brief overview on how to interpret results and draw inferences. Topical and up-to-date, it examines: * different types of statistical variables and their treatment * tabulation and graphical presentation of data * theoretical distributions and common parametric and non-parametric tests, including analysis of variance and correlation ratio * linear regression including checking for violation of assumptions, transformations of variables and predictions * inequality measures such as Lorenz curve, Gini coefficient, dissimilarity index and human development index among others. It will be indispensable for students and scholars of statistics, econometrics, psychology and those interested in the application of statistics in social sciences.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789351506553
Publication Date: 2016
Statistics in Social Work : An Introduction to Practical Applications by Amy Batchelor
Understanding statistical concepts is essential for social work professionals. It is key to understanding research and reaching evidence-based decisions in your own practice—but that is only the beginning. If you understand statistics, you can determine the best interventions for your clients. You can use new tools to monitor and evaluate the progress of your client or team. You can recognize biased systems masked by complex models and the appearance of scientific neutrality. For social workers, statistics are not just math, they are a critical practice tool.This concise and approachable introduction to statistics limits its coverage to the concepts most relevant to social workers. Statistics in Social Work guides students through concepts and procedures from descriptive statistics and correlation to hypothesis testing and inferential statistics. Besides presenting key concepts, it focuses on real-world examples that students will encounter in a social work practice. Using concrete illustrations from a variety of potential concentrations and populations, Amy Batchelor creates clear connections between theory and practice—and demonstrates the important contributions statistics can make to evidence-based and rigorous social work practice.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780231550222
Publication Date: 2019
Excel 2019 for Social Science Statistics by
This book shows the capabilities of Microsoft Excel in teaching social science statistics effectively. Similar to the previously published Excel 2016 for Social Sciences Statistics, this book is a step-by-step, exercise-driven guide for students and practitioners who need to master Excel to solve practical social science problems. If understanding statistics isn't your strongest suit, you are not especially mathematically inclined, or you are wary of computers, this is the right book for you. Excel, a widely available computer program for students and managers, is also an effective teaching and learning tool for quantitative analyses in social science courses. Its powerful computational ability and graphical functions make learning statistics much easier than in years past. Excel 2019 for Social Science Statistics: A Guide to Solving Practical Problems capitalizes on these improvements by teaching students and managers how to apply Excel to statistical techniques necessary in their courses and work. In this new edition, each chapter explains statistical formulas and directs the reader to use Excel commands to solve specific, easy-to-understand social science problems. Practice problems are provided at the end of each chapter with their solutions in an appendix. Separately, there is a full practice test (with answers in an appendix) that allows readers to test what they have learned.
A Guide to Business Statistics by
An accessible text that explains fundamental concepts in business statistics that are often obscured by formulae and mathematical notation A Guide to Business Statistics offers a practical approach to statistics that covers the fundamental concepts in business and economics. The book maintains the level of rigor of a more conventional textbook in business statistics but uses a more streamlined and intuitive approach. In short, A Guide to Business Statistics provides clarity to the typical statistics textbook cluttered with notation and formulae. The author--an expert in the field--offers concise and straightforward explanations to the core principles and techniques in business statistics. The concepts are introduced through examples, and the text is designed to be accessible to readers with a variety of backgrounds. To enhance learning, most of the mathematical formulae and notation appears in technical appendices at the end of each chapter. This important resource: Offers a comprehensive guide to understanding business statistics targeting business and economics students and professionals Introduces the concepts and techniques through concise and intuitive examples Focuses on understanding by moving distracting formulae and mathematical notation to appendices Offers intuition, insights, humor, and practical advice for students of business statistics Features coverage of sampling techniques, descriptive statistics, probability, sampling distributions, confidence intervals, hypothesis tests, and regression Written for undergraduate business students, business and economics majors, teachers, and practitioners, A Guide to Business Statistics offers an accessible guide to the key concepts and fundamental principles in statistics.
Multivariate Methods and Forecasting with IBM(r) SPSS(r) Statistics by
This is the second of a two-part guide to quantitative analysis using the IBM SPSS Statistics software package; this volume focuses on multivariate statistical methods and advanced forecasting techniques. More often than not, regression models involve more than one independent variable. For example, forecasting methods are commonly applied to aggregates such as inflation rates, unemployment, exchange rates, etc., that have complex relationships with determining variables. This book introduces multivariate regression models and provides examples to help understand theory underpinning the model. The book presents the fundamentals of multivariate regression and then moves on to examine several related techniques that have application in business-orientated fields such as logistic and multinomial regression. Forecasting tools such as the Box-Jenkins approach to time series modeling are introduced, as well as exponential smoothing and naïve techniques. This part also covers hot topics such as Factor Analysis, Discriminant Analysis and Multidimensional Scaling (MDS).
Statistics and Research Methods in Psychology with Excel by
This book, specifically developed for students of psychology, covers a wide range of topics in statistics and research designs taught in psychology, in particular, and other disciplines like management, sociology, education, home science, and nutrition, in general, in most universities. It explains how to use Excel to analyze research data by elaborating statistical concepts. Each chapter contains sections like "Check you Computing skill" and "Check your Statistical Concepts" to enable students to assess their knowledge in a graded manner. The book addresses one of the major challenges in psychology research, viz., how to measure subjective phenomenon like attitude, desire, and preferences of an individual. Separate emphasis has been given to the measurement techniques which are essential tools to assess these subjective parameters in numerical form, required for statistical analysis to draw meaningful conclusions. The book is equally helpful to students of humanities, life sciences and other applied areas. Consisting of 14 chapters, the book covers all relevant topics of statistics and research designs which are important for students to plan and complete their research work.
Statistics for Social Sciences by
A comprehensive guide to the practical applications of statistics in social sciences This book brings out the relevance of statistical tools and methods in social sciences. Describing the various statistical techniques, it highlights their purpose and application along with a brief overview on how to interpret results and draw inferences. Topical and up-to-date, it examines: * different types of statistical variables and their treatment * tabulation and graphical presentation of data * theoretical distributions and common parametric and non-parametric tests, including analysis of variance and correlation ratio * linear regression including checking for violation of assumptions, transformations of variables and predictions * inequality measures such as Lorenz curve, Gini coefficient, dissimilarity index and human development index among others. It will be indispensable for students and scholars of statistics, econometrics, psychology and those interested in the application of statistics in social sciences.
Statistics in Social Work : An Introduction to Practical Applications by
Understanding statistical concepts is essential for social work professionals. It is key to understanding research and reaching evidence-based decisions in your own practice—but that is only the beginning. If you understand statistics, you can determine the best interventions for your clients. You can use new tools to monitor and evaluate the progress of your client or team. You can recognize biased systems masked by complex models and the appearance of scientific neutrality. For social workers, statistics are not just math, they are a critical practice tool.This concise and approachable introduction to statistics limits its coverage to the concepts most relevant to social workers. Statistics in Social Work guides students through concepts and procedures from descriptive statistics and correlation to hypothesis testing and inferential statistics. Besides presenting key concepts, it focuses on real-world examples that students will encounter in a social work practice. Using concrete illustrations from a variety of potential concentrations and populations, Amy Batchelor creates clear connections between theory and practice—and demonstrates the important contributions statistics can make to evidence-based and rigorous social work practice.