Library Research Guides: 101 Library &amp; Research Basics: Resources

Find Info

Finding information is easy, as it is published just about everywhere in the online world we live in.
The key to being an efficient researcher is knowing the best information sources to search for your topic in order to find the authoritative, scholarly resources expected of college students.
Sources to use are library online catalogs, journal article databases, and scholarly web collections so your research time will be well-focused and productive.
Librarians specialize in knowing about information sources and can help you when you need it.

Finding Databases and Articles

Databases and Articles
Database Tutorials
Research Guides Research guides created to help start your search for the best databases to use based on your subject.

Articles from Databases @GGC Kaufman Library

The following databases represent a few selections available from GGC Kaufman Library. These databases are are multi-disciplinary and cover many different subject areas/topics. You will find: scholarly jounral articles, news, trade journals, magazines, and books reviews to name a few.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
GALILEO This link opens in a new window GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library, is an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. GALILEO is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or internet directories. Kaufman Library funds participation in the GALILEO initiative for library resource purchases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works.

A-Z Databases
Search the A-Z Databases list to find the best library databases for your research.

Find more databases on your subject using GGC's Browse By Subject listing.

EBSCO (Academic Search Complete) Tutorials
GALILEO Tutorials
JSTOR Tutorials
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
ProQuest (Central)Tutorials
Science Direct Tutorials
Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works.
More Database Tutorials
Database tutorials which have been created by the database company or search engine creator.

Full Text Finder
Full Text Finder shows you which databases access your Journal Title.
Google
Search the web for open access resources.
Google Scholar
Search the web for open access scholarly resources.
Interlibrary Loan Articles
Request an article from another library.
Ask A Librarian
Got a question? Ask a librarian!

How to Read Scholarly Articles: Strategies for reading

Ask A Librarian
Got a question? Ask a librarian!

Books, eBooks & Videos

Books & eBooks
Course Reserves
Streaming video
...and more!

https://gilfind.ggc.edu/

eBook Colletions

eBook Collectons

GIL-Find Library Catalog Find books & eBooks at GGC and other USG Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan
Ask A Librarian Got a question? Ask a librarian!

Credo Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text online reference service.
GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary titles, including current eBooks on Black history and experience, civil rights and racism, Hispanic heritage, and indigenous peoples and Native American studies.

Interlibrary Loan supports the teaching and research of students, faculty, and staff associated with Georgia Gwinnett College by obtaining materials not available at the Kaufman Library or through GIL Express.

BOOKS

Before submitting an Interlibrary Loan request for a book, please ensure that it is not available at the Kaufman Library or within the USG system. Books available within the USG system and eligible for circulation should be requested via GIL Express.
Interlibrary loans books can have a 2 to 3 week delivery time.
Note:
- Some institutions charge for sending Interlibrary Loan books via ILL. If a charge is required, you will be notified prior to our ordering the book. This charge must be paid up front using funds placed on your Claw Card.
- Current textbooks cannot be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Request a Book through Interlibrary Loan

101 Library & Research Basics

Ask a Librarian

eBook Collections

Video Databases

Find Info

Finding Databases and Articles

Articles from Databases @GGC Kaufman Library

Books, eBooks & Videos