Articles from Databases
Academic Success: Applying Learning Theory in the Classroom by
Beginning with guiding teachers in establishing a positive and supportive learning environment for student achievement, Academic Success then presents a review of behavioral, constructivist, and cognitive learning theories. These theories are reflected within the four main categories with which teachers must constantly deal, these being motivation; goals/objectives and feedback; delivering original learning; and reinforcement. Academic Success provides numerous examples of classroom applications that show how the theories can be implemented. This book also offers a case study that demonstrates how with one teacher's initiative, learning theories were applied to actively involve students within a school, school district, and beyond.
Theories in Educational Psychology by
Theories in Educational Psychology's purpose is to introduce readers to the pioneering educational psychology theories that continue to shape our understanding of the classroom learning environment, present support for the theories from perspectives in the current research literature, and share how these theoretical traditions have translated into effective teaching methods. Each chapter will be infused with practical teaching examples, classroom vignettes, and instructional strategies so readers are continually confronted with how theory translates to practice. In addition to becoming familiar with the conceptual understanding of core theoretical knowledge, readers will also be presented with current thinking about each theory and an introduction to important related topics at the close of each chapter. The chapters will also conclude with activities designed to help readers reflect on their learning of each chapter's content.
Self-Efficacy in Changing Societies by 
Ethnic Identity by
This book provides broad coverage of the various research approaches that have been used to study the development of ethnic identity in children and adolescents and the transmission of ethnic identity across generations. The authors address topics of acculturation and the development and socialization of ethnic minorities--particularly Mexican-Americans. They stress the roles of social and behavioral scientists in government multicultural policies, and the nature of possible ethnic group responses to such policies for cultural maintenance and adaptation.
The Ecology of Human Development by
Here is a book that challenges the very basis of the way psychologists have studied child development. According to Urie Bronfenbrenner, one of the world's foremost developmental psychologists, laboratory studies of the child's behavior sacrifice too much in order to gain experimental control and analytic rigor. Laboratory observations, he argues, too often lead to ?the science of the strange behavior of children in strange situations with strange adults for the briefest possible periods of time.? To understand the way children actually develop, Bronfenbrenner believes that it will be necessary to observe their behavior in natural settings, while they are interacting with familiar adults over prolonged periods of time. This book offers an important blueprint for constructing such a new and ecologically valid psychology of development. The blueprint includes a complete conceptual framework for analysing the layers of the environment that have a formative influence on the child. This framework is applied to a variety of settings in which children commonly develop, ranging from the pediatric ward to daycare, school, and various family configurations. The result is a rich set of hypotheses about the developmental consequences of various types of environments. Where current research bears on these hypotheses, Bronfenbrenner marshals the data to show how an ecological theory can be tested. Where no relevant data exist, he suggests new and interesting ecological experiments that might be undertaken to resolve current unknowns. Bronfenbrenner's groundbreaking program for reform in developmental psychology is certain to be controversial. His argument flies in the face of standard psychological procedures and challenges psychology to become more relevant to the ways in which children actually develop. It is a challenge psychology can ill-afford to ignore.
Love my children: An autobiography by
Rose Butler Browne (1897-1986), was an eminent African American educator, engineer, and author. She earned her bachelor's degree at Rhode Island College, and her master's degree at Rhode Island College. She then entered Harvard University, where in 1939 she became the first black woman to earn a doctoral degree in education. She was devoted to improving education for minority children. As a crusader for black rights, Dr. Browne refused to send students into teaching jobs that continued paying black teachers lower salaries than white teachers. Browne died in 1986 at the age of 89. (Source: Publisher)
Black Scholars on the Line by
Black Scholars on the Line: Race, Social Science, and American Thought in the Twentieth Century explores the development of American social science by highlighting the contributions of those scholars who were both students and objects of a segregated society. The book asks how segregation has influenced, and continues to influence, the development of American social thought and social science scholarship. Jonathan Scott Holloway and Ben Keppelpresent the work of twenty-eight black social scientists whose work was published between the rise of the Tuskegee model of higher education and the end of the Black Power Era. The intellectuals featured here produced scholarship that helped define the contours of the social sciences as they evolved over the course of the twentieth century. Theirs was the work of pioneers, now for the first time gathered in one anthology. "Black Scholars on the Line is a wonderful contribution. As one who teaches black American intellectual history, I can attest to how useful it is to have these articles collected in one volume. Professors Holloway and Keppel are to be commended. They have chosen with intelligence and care, and their introductory essay situates their selections very helpfully. This book should do much to help recover for a new generation of scholars and students what was indeed the main trunk of black American intellectual discourse--and a primary domain of black Americans' civic debate--through the segregation era."--Adolph Reed Jr, University of Pennsylvania "Jonathan Holloway and Ben Keppel have rendered a great service in bringing together the radiant social science scholarship of 20th-century African Americans. The 31 essays, deftly introduced, show the brilliance of under-appreciated black scholars who struggled to be heard across the color line."--Gary B. Nash, professor emeritus, UCLA
Pages 415-428 of Black scholars on the line: Race, social science, and American thought in the twentieth century contain the original article "Racial identification and preference in black children" by Clark and Clark regarding the 1947 doll experiment.
The Hundred Languages of Children by
Why does the city of Reggio Emilia in northern Italy feature one of the best public systems of early education in the world? This book documents the comprehensive and innovative approach that utilizes the "hundred languages of children" to support their well-being and foster their intellectual development. Educators in Reggio Emilia, Italy, use a distinctive innovative approach that supports children's well-being and fosters their intellectual development through a systematic focus on symbolic representation. From birth through age six, young children are encouraged to explore their environment and express their understanding through many modes of expression or "languages," including verbal communication, movement, drawing, painting, sculpture, shadow play, collage, and music. This organic strategy has been shown to be highly effective, as the children in Reggio Emilia display surprising examples of symbolic skill and creativity. This book describes how the world-renowned preschool services and accompanying practical strategies for children under six in Reggio Emilia have evolved in response to the community's demographic and political transformations, and to generational changes in both the educators and the parents of the children. The authors provide the reader with a comprehensive introduction to the Reggio Emilia experience, and address three of the most important central themes of the work in Reggio in detail: teaching and learning through relationships; the hundred languages of children, and how this concept has evolved; and integrating documentation into the process of observing, reflecting, and communicating. Contributions from leaders from Reggio Emilia and international scholars from Europe and North America, including Loris Malaguzzi, Carlina Rinaldi, Vea Vecchi, Howard Gardner, Gunilla Dahlberg, and others Illustrated with photographs of the teachers and children in the Reggio Emilia schools as well as drawings from the children of the Reggio Emilia preschools A bibliography with references and sources follows each chapter An index provides access to names, concepts, and themes discussed across many of the different chapters
Childhood and Society by
The landmark work on the social significance of childhood. The original and vastly influential ideas of Erik H. Erikson underlie much of our understanding of human development. His insights into the interdependence of the individuals' growth and historical change, his now-famous concepts of identity, growth, and the life cycle, have changed the way we perceive ourselves and society. Widely read and cited, his works have won numerous awards including the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award. Combining the insights of clinical psychoanalysis with a new approach to cultural anthropology, Childhood and Society deals with the relationships between childhood training and cultural accomplishment, analyzing the infantile and the mature, the modern and the archaic elements in human motivation. It was hailed upon its first publication as "a rare and living combination of European and American thought in the human sciences" (Margaret Mead, The American Scholar). Translated into numerous foreign languages, it has gone on to become a classic in the study of the social significance of childhood.
In a Different Voice by
Carol Gilligan believes that psychology has persistently and systematically misunderstood women--their motives, their moral commitments, the course of their psychological growth, and their special view of what is important in life. Here she sets out to correct psychology's misperceptions and refocus its view of female personality. The result is truly a tour de force, which may well reshape much of what psychology now has to say about female experience.
William James: Psychical Research and the Challenge of Modernity by
In this insightful new book on the remarkable William James, the American psychologist and philosopher, Krister Dylan Knapp provides the first deeply historical and acutely analytical account of James's psychical research. While showing that James always maintained a critical stance toward claims of paranormal phenomena like spiritualism, Knapp uses new sources to argue that psychical research held a strikingly central position in James's life. It was crucial to his familial and professional relationships, the fashioning of his unique intellectual disposition, and the shaping of his core doctrines, especially the will-to-believe, empiricism, fideism, and theories of the subliminal consciousness and immortality. Knapp explains how and why James found in psychical research a way to rethink the well-trodden approaches to classic Euro-American religious thought, typified by the oppositional categories of natural vs. supernatural and normal vs. paranormal. He demonstrates how James eschewed these choices and instead developed a tertiary synthesis of them, an approach Knapp terms tertium quid, the third way. Situating James's psychical research in relation to the rise of experimental psychology and Protestantism's changing place in fin de siecle America, Knapp asserts that the third way illustrated a much broader trend in transatlantic thought as it struggled to navigate the uncertainties and religious adventurism of the modern age.
Kohlberg Revisited by
"I could easily say, what a timely book, but the truth is that Kohlberg is for the ages, which means any time is worthwhile to revisit his work. So, in that sense, let us ask, what aspects of his work in Moral Development and Moral Education are timely today? One answer can be found in the Kohlberg Lounge on the sixth floor of Larsen Hall, which I have the privilege to visit every day. Placed there in 1987, a plaque in his honor states: In memory of Lawrence Kohlberg: In this room where ideas are born through discussion and tested through debate Let us listen and speak with the same respect that he gave to all In 2015, the emphasis on discussion and debate has reached beyond moral development to all aspects of pedagogy, from literacy to history education and beyond. And, in an era of fast and slow thinking, this book reminds us that ethical reflection, self-awareness, and a social conscience are the three malleable developmental skills that allow us all to be truly human. Kohlberg then, Kohlberg now, Kohlberg forever."--Robert L. Selman, Harvard University (Roy Edward Larsen Professor of Education and Human Development, Professor of Psychology in the Department of Psychiatry)
Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs by
This book is a practical and accessible guide to understanding and implementing Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs, providing you with the essential information and saving time.In 50 minutes you will be able to: Understand the five different levels of needs experienced by all humans; Adapt your marketing strategies to satisfy as many of those needs as possible; Turn your target market into loyal customers
Obedience to Authority by
The Dilema of Obedience Obedience is as basic an element in the structure of social life as one can point to. Some system of authority is a requirement of all communal living, and it is only the man dwelling in isolation who is not forced to respond, through defiance or submission, to the commands of others. Obedience, as a determinant of behavior is of particular relevance to our time. It has been reliably established that from 1933 to 1945 millions of innocent people were systematically slaughtered on command. Gas chambers were built, death camps were guarded, daily quotas of corpses were produced with the same efficiency as the manufacture of appliances. These inhumane policies may have originated in the mind of a single person, but they could only have been carried out on a massive scale if a very large number of people obeyed orders. Obedience is the psychological mechanism that links individual action to political purpose. It is the dispositional cement that binds men to systems of authority. Facts of recent history and observation in daily life suggest that for many people obedience may be a deeply ingrained behavior tendency, indeed, a prepotent impulse overriding training in ethics, sympathy, and moral conduct. C. P. Snow (1961) points to its importance when he writes: When you think of the long and gloomy history of man, you will find more hideous crimes have been committed in the name of obedience than have ever been committed in the name of
Montessori by
One hundred and ten years ago, Maria Montessori, the first female physician in Italy, devised a very different method of educating children, based on her observations of how they naturally learn. In Montessori, Angeline Stoll Lillard shows that science has finally caught up with Maria Montessori. Lillard presents the research behind nine insights that are foundations of Montessori education, describing how each of these insights is applied in the Montessori classroom. In reading this book, parents and teachers alike will develop a clear understanding of what happens in a Montessori classroom and, more importantly, why it happens and why it works. Lillard explains the scientific basis for Montessori's system and the distinctions between practices in traditional, "Montessomething," and authentic Montessori education. Furthermore, in this new edition, she presents recent studies showing evidence that this alternative to traditional schooling does indeed make a difference. Montessori is indispensable reading for anyone interested in teaching, training, or considering Montessori schooling, in developmental psychology, or in understanding about human learning and education overall.
Ivan Pavlov by
This is a definitive, deeply researched biography of Russian physiologist Ivan Pavlov (1849-1936) and is the first scholarly biography to be published in any language. The book is Todes's magnum opus, which he has been working on for some twenty years. Todes makes use of a wealth of archivalmaterial to portray Pavlov's personality, life, times, and scientific work.Combining personal documents with a close reading of scientific texts, Todes fundamentally reinterprets Pavlov's famous research on conditional reflexes. Contrary to legend, Pavlov was not a behaviorist (a misimpression captured in the false iconic image of his "training a dog to salivate to thesound of a bell"); rather, he sought to explain not simply external behaviors, but the emotional and intellectual life of animals and humans. This iconic "objectivist" was actually a profoundly anthropomorphic thinker whose science was suffused with his own experiences, values, and subjectiveinterpretations.This book is also a traditional "life and times" biography that weaves Pavlov into some 100 years of Russian history - particularly that of its intelligentsia - from the emancipation of the serfs to Stalin's time. Pavlov was born to a family of priests in provincial Ryazan before the serfs wereemancipated, made his home and professional success in the glittering capital of St. Petersburg in late imperial Russia, suffered the cataclysmic destruction of his world during the Bolshevik seizure of power and civil war of 1917-1921, rebuilt his life in his 70s as a "prosperous dissident" duringthe Leninist 1920s, and flourished professionally as never before in 1929-1936 during the industrialization, revolution, and terror of Stalin.Todes's story of this powerful personality and extraordinary man is based upon interviews with surviving coworkers and family members (along with never-before-analyzed taped interviews from the 1960s and 1970s), examination of hundreds of scientific works by Pavlov and his coworkers, and closeanalysis of materials from some twenty-five archives. The documents range from the records of his student years at Riazan Seminary to the transcripts of the Communist Party cells in his labs, and from his scientific manuscripts and notebooks to his political speeches; they include revealing loveletters to his future wife and correspondence with hundreds of lay people, scholars, artists, and Communist Party leaders; and unpublished memoirs by many coworkers, his daughter, his wife, and his lover.
The Psychology of B F Skinner by
Behaviourists, or more precisely Skinnerians, commonly consider Skinner′s work to have been misrepresented, misunderstood, and to some extent defamed. In this book, the author clarifies the work of B F Skinner, and puts it into historical and philosophical context. Though not a biography, the book discusses Skinner himself, in brief. But the bulk of the book illuminates Skinner′s contributions to psychology, his philosophy of science, his experimental research programme (logical positivism) and the behavioural principles that emerged from it, and applied aspects of his work. It also rebuts criticism of Skinner′s work, including radical behaviourism, and discusses key developments by others that have derived from it. As such, the book is a text on behaviourism, rather than on Skinner.
Jean Piaget by
Jean Piaget is indisputably a major thinker in education. Richard Kohler's volume offers the most coherent account of Piaget's educational thought. This work is divided into: Intellectual biography Critical exposition of Piaget's work The reception and influence of Piaget's work The relevance of the work today
Out of Our Minds by
Creativity is critical. Out of Our Minds explores creativity: its value in business, its ubiquity in children, its perceived absence in many adults and the phenomenon through which it disappears -- and offers a groundbreaking approach for getting it back. Author Sir Ken Robinson is an internationally recognised authority on creativity, and his TED talk on the subject is the most watched video in TED's history. In this book, Sir Ken argues that organisations everywhere are struggling to fix a problem that originates in schools and universities. Organisations everywhere are competing in a world that changes in the blink of an eye - they need people who are flexible enough to adapt, and creative enough to find novel solutions to problems old and new. Out of Our Minds describes how schools, businesses and communities can work together to bring creativity out of the closet and realise its inherent value at every stage of life. This new third edition has been updated to reflect changing technologies and demographics, with updated case studies and coverage of recent changes to education. While education and training are the keys to the future, the key can also be turned the other way; locking people away from their own creativity. Only by actively fostering creativity can businesses unlock those doors and achieve their true potential. This book will help you to: Understand the importance of actively promoting creativity and innovation. Discover why creativity stagnates somewhere between childhood and adulthood. Learn how to re-awaken dormant creativity to help your business achieve more. Explore ways in which we can work together to keep creativity alive for everyone. Modern business absolutely demands creativity of thought and action. We're all creative as children -- so where does it go? When do we lose it? Out of Our Minds has the answers, and clear solutions for getting it back.
Carl Rogers′ Helping System by
`This book is a monumental achievement, and person-centred practitioners will be indebted to Goff Barrett-Lennard for many years to come. He has written no only a definitive study of the history of person-centred approach - what he calls a report of the "evolutionary course of a human science" - but also an accompanying commentary which is unfailingly enlightening, sometimes provocative and occasional lyrical′ - Brian Thorne, Emeritus Professor of Counselling, University of East Anglia and Co-Founder, Norwich Centre `I highly recommend this book as a reference source of major import, as bibliography, as history as art, and as a complex discussion of questions that plague the person-centred practitioner and the client-centred therapist′ - The Person-Centered Journal `If you only ever buy one book about the Person-Centred Approach, other than those written by Rogers himself, this is the one. It is a staggering achievement by one of the most knowledgeable writers in the field′ - PCP Reviews `This book is a gem, and should have wide appeal. It is an excellent introduction to person-centred psychology, written in accessible style, and it takes the reader beyond the simplicity often confused with naivety Goff Barrett-Lennard reveals a sophisticated complexity that challenges us to view the "person" with fresh eyes and an open mind′ - Tony Merry, University of East London `I strongly recommend this book as a sophisticated treatment of the client-or person-centred approach to therapy and its applications to areas outside therapy. It is also a useful overview of research on all aspects of person-centred ideas′ - Psychotherapy Research `This book... is not a single "meal" in itself but a positive "larder" containing every imaginable staple food and condiment all exquisitely and thoroughly researched. The book took Godfrey T Barrett-Lennard 20 years to write and it will stand as a reference text for person-centred specialists for longer than that... an essential reference text... and a pantry full of delicious surprises′ - Counselling and Psychotherapy, The Journal of the British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy `Probably the most important piece of work on the person-centred approach to have emerged in recent years... an essential source of reference for anyone with a serious interest in the person-centred approach′ - Counselling News Written by an ex-student and long-time colleague of Carl Rogers, this in-depth and challenging book charts the development of person-centred therapy from its origins through to the present day. Godfrey T Barrett-Lennard traces the central concepts and key figures within the movement, set against the contemporary historical, social and political context. As an integrated overview of the person-centred approach, Carl Rogers′ Helping System presents a wealth of fascinating ideas and information which is linked to a fresh, incisive account of the unfolding theory, process and research.
Bilingual Education: From Compensatory To Quality Schooling by
Bilingual Education: From Compensatory to Quality Schooling, Second Edition maintains its original purpose of synthesizing the research on successful bilingual education in order to demonstrate that quality bilingual education is possible and desirable. Findings from a wide range of studies are integrated to provide a clear picture of bilingual education in today's schools, and a professional understanding of the foundations and issues surrounding bilingual education programs. The recommendations offered provide a comprehensive basis for planning, developing, improving, and evaluating bilingual programs. For clarity, these recommendations are discussed with respect to the whole school, the curriculum, and the classroom, but it is stressed that they need to be applied in a holistic way because they depend on each other. All educators who work or will work with bilingual students--classroom teachers, administrators, and curricula developers--will find the information in this text essential and will appreciate the straightforward approach and easy reading style. New in the Second Edition: *A new Chapter 1, Pursuing Successful Schooling, includes the definition of success that frames the content of the book, and a review of how the research on bilingual education has changed. *Chapter 2, Bilingual Education Debate, is substantially revised to address major changes in demographics and legislation. *Chapter 3, Contextual and Individual Factors: Supports and Challenges, is updated to include important new research on the external and internal factors affecting learners and a new section on peers. *Chapter 4, Creating a Good School, is reorganized and updated. *Chapter 5, Creating Quality Curriculum, is updated throughout, particularly the sections on teaching content areas and assessment. *Chapter 6, Creating Quality Instruction, includes extensive new material in the sections on "Teaching English and In English" and "Teaching Students with Limited Schooling." *Chapter 7, Beyond the Debate, has an extensive new section describing and analyzing how the framework for quality education can be used as a guide to help create a new program.
Memories of Dr Shinichi Suzuki by
Dr Shinichi Suzuki, creator of OC The Suzuki MethodOCO, is well remembered for his extraordinary warmth, care, and sense of humour. Part biography, part memoir, this important book recalls scenes from Suzuki's life, and many of the author's own experiences as his student in Japan. Both humorous and culturally informative, this book illustrates how Suzuki was influenced by Japanese history and his Zen beliefs, making him the son of his environment. Students, teachers, and lovers of music and history alike will enjoy this stroll through the life and teachings of the quick-witted Dr Suzuki, who turned the music education world upside down."
Lev Vygotsky (Classic Edition) by
When Lev Vygotsky: Revolutionary Scientist published, it was unique in several ways. It presented Vygotsky as a Marxist methodologist, both locating him in his historical period and delineating how his life and writings have been a catalyst for a contemporary revolutionary, practical-critical, psychology. It highlighted Vygotsky's unconventional view of how development and learning are related and, in doing so, brought human development into prominence. It introduced important linkages between Vygotsky's views on thinking and speaking and those of Wittgenstein, drawing implications for language acquisition and language learning. And it drew attention to Vygotsky's understanding of the role of play in child development, and expanded on the significance of play throughout the lifespan. In these ways, this classic text presented a more expansive Vygotsky than previously understood. The Introduction to this Classic Edition will summarize what has transpired in the years since Lev Vygotsky first published. It will answer who and where is Vygotsky now? What place does he have in scholarship in psychology, education, and other fields? How are practitioners making use of him--to address the challenges of our times, solve seemingly intractable social problems, revolutionize psychology, and develop skilled and worldly citizens? What have the authors accomplished since they first articulated their view of Vygotsky as a revolutionary scientist?