Field Experience Videos - ** SOE Foundations - EDUC 2110/2120/2130 - Library Research Guides at Georgia Gwinnett College

Streaming Video Databases

Recommended Video Databases:

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 85,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Video titles in humanities, social sciences, world languages, business, economics, health, and science.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 14,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies.
SWANK Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus. Each year, GGC provides access to a select number of feature films.

TEDTalks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world.
Database Tutorials
How to use Databases

TED Talk Education Topics

TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design) : Ideas Worth Sharing TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world.

Use TED Talks to access education-/teaching-related topics such as: classroom management, discipline, parent involvement, etc.

How to cite a TED Talk in APA Style 7th ed.:

Kundu, A. (2019, May). The "opportunity gap" in US public education - and how to close it [Video]. TED Conferences.

https://www.ted.com/talks/anindya_kundu_the_opportunity_gap_in_us_public_education_and_how_to_close_it#t-2026

The "opportunity gap" in US public education - and how to close it (2019) How can we tap into the potential of all students, especially those who come from disadvantaged backgrounds? Sociologist Anindya Kundu invites us to take a deeper look at the personal, social and institutional challenges that keep students from thriving in the United States -- and shows how closing this "opportunity gap" means valuing public education for what it really is: the greatest investment in our collective future.

How School Works

Some of the content in this section may require you to log in with your GGC Claw Mail user ID and password.

Backpack Full of Cash (2017) Narrated by Matt Damon, this feature-length documentary, filmed inside classrooms, exposes the devastating impact of the corporate-driven reform movement in Philadelphia and other cities where public education, starved of resources, hangs in the balance. BACKPACK FULL OF CASH also showcases the everyday heroes fighting for public education and presents a working model for improving our schools.
Segment- Purpose of Public Education (2007) What is the purpose of public education? Some say it is to produce entry-level workers, while others argue that it should produce young adults who are capable of leading full lives in a democracy. Arts programs are fundamental to the development of students.
Series- School: The Story of American Public Education (2000) Born out of centuries of conflict and experimentation, America’s public school system is one of the nation’s most significant—but still unfinished—achievements. This four-part series, narrated by Academy Award-winning actress Meryl Streep, is a compelling odyssey that weaves archival footage, rare interviews, and on-site coverage into an unprecedented portrait of public education in America. 4-part series, 55 minutes each.
How the World Learns- series The idea that everybody deserves a chance is at the heart of Horace Mann's revolutionary belief that education is "the great equalizer." U.S. schools--and national education systems around the world--today reflect the ideals that Mann was among the first to promote, including universal enrollment, compulsory attendance, and public funding.

Edutopia

Edutopia Edutopia is a trusted source shining a spotlight on what works in education. We show people how they can adopt or adapt best practices, and we tell stories of innovation and continuous learning in the real world.
Building Cross-Cultural Connections in Two Languages (2019) At a bilingual school in Chicago, first-grade teachers swap classrooms so students get lessons in both Mandarin and English.

Use Edutopia to access education-/teaching-related K-12 topics such as: brain-based learning, classroom management, differentiated instruction, English Language Arts, literacy, Math, new teachers, professional development, school leadership, student engagement, and teaching strategies.