It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Veterans & Military
This guide provides resources for GGC Veterans. Contact Dana firstname.lastname@example.org, the GGC Kaufman Library Veterans Liaison, for suggestions to the site.
Interlibrary Loan supports the teaching and research of students, faculty, and staff associated with Georgia Gwinnett College by obtaining materials not available at the Kaufman Library or through GIL Express.
Before submitting an Interlibrary Loan request for a book, please ensure that it is not available at the Kaufman Library or within the USG system. Books available within the USG system and eligible for circulation should be requested via GIL Express.
Interlibrary loans books can have a 2 to 3 week delivery time.
Some institutions charge for sending Interlibrary Loan books via ILL. If a charge is required, you will be notified prior to our ordering the book. This charge must be paid up front using funds placed on your Claw Card.
Current textbooks cannot be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Encyclopedia of Military Science by G. Kurt Piehler (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Military Science provides a comprehensive, ready-reference on the organization, traditions, training, purpose, and functions of today′s military. Entries include coverage of the duties, responsibilities, and authority of military personnel and an understanding of strategies and tactics of the modern military and how they interface with political, social, legal, economic, and technological factors. A large component is devoted to issues of leadership, group dynamics, motivation, problem-solving, and decision making in the military context. Finally, this work also covers recent American military history since the end of the Cold War with a special emphasis on peacekeeping and peacemaking operations, the First Persian Gulf War, the events surrounding 9/11, and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq and how the military has been changing in relation to these events.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-08-16
Select eBooks for Military Veterans @Kaufman Library
Citizen, Student, Soldier by Gina M. Pérez; Gina M. PérezSince the 1990s, Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps (JROTC) programs have experienced unprecedented expansion in American public schools. The program and its proliferation in poor, urban schools districts with large numbers of Latina/o and African American students is not without controversy. Public support is often based on the belief that the program provides much-needed discipline for "at risk" youth. Meanwhile, critics of JROTC argue that the program is a recruiting tool for the U.S. military and is yet another example of an increasingly punitive climate that disproportionately affect youth of color in American public schools. Citizen, Student, Soldier intervenes in these debates, providing critical ethnographic attention to understanding the motivations, aspirations, and experiences of students who participate in increasing numbers in JROTC programs. These students have complex reasons for their participation, reasons that challenge the reductive idea that they are either dangerous youths who need discipline or victims being exploited by a predatory program. Rather, their participation is informed by their marginal economic position in the local political economy, as well as their desire to be regarded as full citizens, both locally and nationally. Citizenship is one of the central concerns guiding the JROTC curriculum; this book explores ethnographically how students understand and enact different visions of citizenship and grounds these understandings in local and national political economic contexts. It also highlights the ideological, social and cultural conditions of Latina/o youth and their families who both participate in and are enmeshed in vigorous debates about citizenship, obligation, social opportunity, militarism and, ultimately, the American Dream.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-11-27
What's Next for Student Veterans? by David DiRamio (Editor)With the passage of the Post-9/11 GI Bill in 2008, more than 1.4 million service members and their families became eligible for higher education benefits, and veterans from the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan enrolled in colleges and universities in record numbers. The first wave of research about these new student veterans focused primarily on describing their characteristics and the transition from military service to civilian life and the college campus. This new edited collection presents findings from the second wave of research about student veterans, with a focus on data-driven evidence of academic success factors, including persistence, retention, degree completion, and employment after college. An invaluable resource for educators poised to enter the next phase of supporting military-connected college students.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017-12-21
Veterans: Political, Social and Health Issues by Milton TownsendThis book provides insights into the political, social and health issues for Veterans in today's society. Chapter One explores the emotions of shame and guilt in Veterans based on research examining moral injury, survivor guilt, military sexual trauma, and stigma. Chapter Two provides an overview of agricultural initiatives in the transition and reintegration of Veterans. Chapter Three explores the political, social, and health management changes that have occurred in the field of chronic, non-cancer pain in order to provide world class service for our nation's Veterans. Chapter Four reviews the Emotional Freedom Technique to treat Veterans with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). Chapter Five offers suggestions based on clinical experiences for when and how to include family members in Prolonged Exposure (PE) therapy for PTSD, while maintaining fidelity to the treatment protocol. Chapter Six explores research that has been conducted upon the oral health of veterans since 2000. Chapter Seven examines potentially mutually exclusive objectives utilising the principles of beneficence and nonmaleficence in relationship to bioethics and the concept of need. Chapter Eight discusses the continued existence of ethnic disparities in health care for U.S. Veterans Affairs Emergency Departments.
Out of Uniform: Your Guide to a Successful Military-to-Civilian Career Transition by Tom WolfeAfter completing military service, veterans can have a difficult time finding employment when returning to civilian life. Out of Uniform, Second Edition is designed to help all transitioning military personnel, regardless of service, branch, rank, rating, time in service, time in grade, or specialty. Although all service members share common denominators, each individual brings something unique to the job market. Not only does this book cover the basics--search techniques, networking, interview preparation, résumés, negotiation, and a new chapter on social media--it also offers guidance on topics that are often overlooked, specifically the central issues of self-knowledge, interviewing empathy, and the power of questions. In addition to the technical guidance, readers will also discover important information in the anecdotes based on the experiences of soldiers, sailors, air force personnel, and marines. Out of Uniform, Second Edition is an invaluable resource for veterans who want to make the most out of their civilian career opportunities.