* Veterans & Military

Articles, videos, and resources relating to Operation Desert Storm 1991.

The National Museum of the United States Air Force has thousands of artifacts in its collection. Each month, a significant or interesting artifact from the museum's collection will be featured on this page.

The National Museum of the United States Army preserves and honors the accomplishments, sacrifices and commitment of American Soldiers. As America’s Army Museum we are home to all Soldiers: past, present and future.

The National Museum of the Marine Corps will present a comprehensive study of more than 200 years of Marine Corps history. Individual galleries depict specific eras and highlight Marine contributions to significant events in American history.

The National Museum of the U.S. Navy collects, preserves, displays, and interprets historic naval artifacts and artwork to inform, educate, and inspire naval personnel and the general public.

Over 200 galleries and exhibits will explore subjects and events of national interest and global significance. Visitors will explore the accomplishments and missions of the Coast Guard and its remarkable history.

The Coast Guard Historian's Office is responsible for collecting, preserving and promoting the history and heritage of the national government's oldest continuously-serving sea service. In support of that effort, the Historian's Office maintains the Coast Guard Heritage Asset Collection of art and artifacts and the Archive.

The only museum in the United States that portrays the entire story of the American Civil War. History is preserved in equally balanced presentations that are humanistic in nature without bias to Union or Confederate causes.

The National WWI Museum and Memorial is America's leading institution dedicated to remembering, interpreting and understanding the Great War and its enduring impact on the global community.

Offering a compelling blend of sweeping narrative and poignant personal detail, The National WWII Museum features immersive exhibits, multimedia experiences, and an expansive collection of artifacts and first-person oral histories, taking visitors inside the story of the war that changed the world.

The goal of the Korean War Legacy Project is to assist teachers, students, and the general public in understanding the origins and outcomes of the Korean War, the challenges that soldiers faced while fighting it, and its rich legacy promoting democracy and freedom in the world today, which is exemplified by South Korea’s simultaneous achievement of rapid economic development and substantive democratization in late 20th century.

Educating and inspiring future generations to better appreciate the sacrifices made by the Greatest Generation through veteran interviews and historic artifacts.

The National Vietnam War Museum project was formalized in 1998 to develop a national venue that would create an atmosphere of learning about the Vietnam War era, and engage people of all ages, nationalities, and political points of view.

The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.

A digital collection honoring women Veterans of color in service of the United States military.

Understand the rich history and culture of America’s military women. Our mission is to collect, preserve, document, analyze, and make available the history of women’s service in and with the US Armed Forces.

The only museum in the world dedicated to preserving and sharing the history of the contributions of women to the Army.
Our Museum tells the amazing story of female patriots who have served our nation from the American Revolution to present. Our mission is to conserve and preserve a repository of artifacts and archives pertaining to the service of women in the U.S. Army.

The National WASP WWII Museum is dedicated to honoring the life and legacy of the Women Airforce Service Pilots and preserving the legacy of Avenger Field on which most of them trained.

Honors women with a new exhibit highlighting their achievements in civilian and military aviation with emphasis on the U.S. Air Force and its predecessors. The exhibit covers historical issues, changes in laws and attitudes, and women's contributions. Specific women and groups from all eras and various career fields are noted to emphasize the impact women have played in establishing women's current position in the Air Force.

NVAM is dedicated to presenting art inspired from military service and combat by artists who are military veterans. Its subject matter is broad and often focused on the impact of military conflict, especially that which is directly experienced by fighters, service members, and civilians. NVAM collects art from all the branches of the military, and from artists who have seen war, military conflicts, and peacekeeping missions.

Online Collection https://collection.nvam.org/index.php

Fort Hunt Park, a popular National Park Service site located in Alexandria, Virginia along the George Washington Memorial Parkway is filled with hiking areas, picnic pavilions and sports fields popular with a wide range of park visitors. However, this beautiful site is home to incredible stories hidden in the ruins of its historic gun batteries and buildings.

The Navajo Code Talkers Museum has actual gear and tools used in battle, victory stories, transcripts of a Code Talker and exceptionally detailed photos.

The Gwinnett Veterans Memorial Museum is a tribute to all brave men and women who have defended our land and liberties from the Revolutionary War to the present, including the War of 1812, the Civil War, World War I, World War II, the Korean War, Vietnam, the Persian Gulf Wars, and Operation Enduring Freedom.