Library Research Guides: * Languages Resources: Find Sources

Finding Sources

Below you'll find a selection of resources you can use for your world languages study and research. Use the tabs to navigate to databases, scholarly journals, books, and freely available Web resources.

Resources

Kaufman Library provides access to many databases that can help with your language research. In addition to the those highlighted below, you can access our full list of databases using our Databases A-Z list (link below).

GGC Databases A-Z
Search by title and subject from 200+ Databases.

Language Databases (includes foreign language music and film)

Linguistics Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans for 72 different languages. Mango utilizes its proprietary methodology, engaging interface, and easy, intuitive interactive tools to deliver practical conversational skills and valuable cultural insight for new languages

Note: To save your progress, please create an account with Mango. Otherwise, you may access this as a guest.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 14,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Includes genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
Fuente Académica Premier This link opens in a new window
Fuente Académica Premier, abarca numerosas disciplinas académicas, ofrece revistas en español y portugués. Incluye títulos de calidad de América Latina, Portugal y España.
GALE OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
[Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines] Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.
GALE Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Full text research database that serves multiple disciplines.
Arte Publico Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Multidisciplinary Reference

Credo Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text online reference service.

Kaufman Library provides access to many journals both individually and through our databases that can help with your language research. In addition to the those highlighted below, you can access our full list of electronic journals using the link below.

Electronic journals

Language Journals

Includes journals covering language learning and teaching foreign languages

Foreign Language Annals
Foreign Language Annals is the official refereed journal of the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL). The journal seeks to serve the professional interests of classroom instructors, researchers, and administrators across a range of contexts and is dedicated to the advancement of the teaching and learning of foreign languages, particularly languages other than English.
Reading in a Foreign Language
Reading in a Foreign Language (RFL) is a scholarly international refereed journal originally founded as a print journal in 1983 at the University of Aston, Birmingham, England. The journal moved to the University of Hawai‘i in 2002 under the co-editorship of Richard R. Day and Thom Hudson. It is supported by the National Foreign Language Resource Center (NFLRC), the University of Hawai‘i College of Languages, Linguistics and Literature, and the University of Hawai‘i Department of Second Language Studies.
Second Language Research
Second Language Research is an international peer-reviewed, quarterly journal, publishing original theory-driven research concerned with second language acquisition and second language performance.
Studies in Second Language Acquisition
Studies in Second Language Acquisition is a refereed journal of international scope devoted to the scientific discussion of acquisition or use of non-native and heritage languages.
Language Learning in Higher Education
Language Learning in Higher Education deals with the most relevant aspects of language acquisition at university. The CercleS journal presents the outcomes of research on language teaching, blended learning and autonomous learning, language assessment as well as aspects of professional development, quality assurance and university language policy.
CALICO Journal
CALICO Journal is the official publication of the Computer Assisted Language Instruction Consortium (CALICO) and is devoted to the dissemination of information concerning the application of technology to language teaching and language learning.

The link below will take you directly to books about languages in the Kaufman Library collection. You'll also be able to edit the search (limit by date, eBook vs. physical book, and more).

Library Catalog Search - Language Books

eBook Collections

You can also search our eBook collections directly instead of through the library catalog. Below are links to our eBook platforms.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eBook titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of their community of researchers.
GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary titles, including current eBooks on Black history and experience, civil rights and racism, Hispanic heritage, and indigenous peoples and Native American studies.
University of Michigan Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
University of Michigan Press is a leading publisher and distributor of books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences that are aligned with the strengths of its parent institution. Areas of particular focus are performing arts; classical studies; political science; American studies (especially disability and class studies); Asian and African studies. The Press makes most books available electronically and provides direct access to libraries through its own publishing platform, Fulcrum.
Cambridge Core eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to over 40,000 eBooks published by Cambridge University Press.

Foreign Language Resources on the Web

The resources in this section are freely available on the Web.

Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning, Language Learning Materials This link opens in a new window
The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices). COERLL's Language Learning Materials page offers resources to support learning in Arabic, Chinese, Czech, French, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, K'iche', Malayalam, Persian, Portuguese, Russian, Sanskrit, Spanish, Tamil, Turkish, Urdu, and Yoruba.

BBC Languages
This resource from the BBC provides resources and tools (courses and phrases, audio and video, vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, activities, and tests) for foreign language learners.
Foreign Language News and Newspapers (MIT)
Newspapers and news sources freely available in Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish compiled by MIT.
International Phonetic Alphabet in Unicode
From University College London, this site provides assistance in displaying and inserting IPA symbols.
US Foreign Services Institute Language Courses
Free online language courses produced by the US Foreign Services Institute and now hosted at Live Lingua. While many of the course materials are older, they are still a valuable resource for learning a foreign language.
ABU Bibliothèque Universelle
French public domain texts written in French.