Library Research Guides: * Communications Resources: Find Sources

Research subscription databases, the library catalog, or the web. Click tabs below.

Check out these Databases to find key terms for your topic and identify important people, organizations, and points of view.

Kaufman Library provides access to many databases that can help with your Communications research. In addition to those highlighted below, you can access our full list of databases using our Database A-Z list (link below).

A-Z Databases
GGC Databases A-Z: Search by title and subject from 175 databases.

Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Full text research database that serves multiple disciplines.
GALE Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

Multidisciplinary Reference

Credo Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text online reference service.

Books

Speech Communications Books
Books on Speech Communications available at the Kaufman Library

You can search the entire Kaufman Library collection using the link below. Once you've entered a search term, you can narrow your search by type/format of material (book, visual, etc.), creation date, location, language, and more.

GIL-Find @ GGC
Kaufman Library Catalog

eBook Collections

You can also search our eBook collection directly instead of through the library catalog. Below are links to our eBook platforms.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eBook titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of their community of researchers.

Want helpful information on how to access eBooks? Check out the Libguide below.

* eBook Collections
by Dana Johnson Last Updated Mar 8, 2024 827 views this year

Kaufman Library provides access to many trade publications and journals both individually and through our databases that can help with your Communications research. In addition to those highlighted below, you can access our full list of electronic journals using the link below.

Search for Journals
Know the title of the Journal you are searching for? CLICK here to begin search..

Several journals which address issues related to speech and communications are highlighted below:

Kaufman Library provides access to many streaming media resources and DVDs that can help with your Communications projects and research.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Video titles in humanities, social sciences, world languages, business, economics, health, and science.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 14,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies.

See "Google" and "Google Scholar" boxes on LEFT for tips on searching.

Google
Search the web for open access resources.
Google Scholar
Search the web for open access scholarly resources.
Wikipedia
Yes, Wikipedia. Get the basics on what your topic is all about. (But take what you find with a grain of salt...)

American Fact Finder (U.S. Census Bureau) Provides access to data about the U.S., Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas.
more...less...
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country

Online Analytical Statistical Information System
Use OASIS to access the Georgia Department of Public Health's health data repository.