Your History Library Liaison - HIST 4860 - Oral History - Rafshoon Fall 2023 - Library Research Guides at Georgia Gwinnett College

Library Links & Forms

Your History Liaison

Catherine Jannik Downey

Associate Professor

Head of Access Services

e: cdowney@ggc.edu (preferred)

o: L1133

p: 678-407-5142

What does a library liaison do?

Charge: Library Liaisons will serve as a conduit of information between Kaufman Library and various subject areas within the Schools, keeping each area informed of relevant library resources, services, and space, and continually seeking out collaboration opportunities between Kaufman Library and the Schools.

Instruction and Instructional Support

Your liaison can:

teach custom information literacy instruction sessions for your classes
work with you to develop a custom learning plan for your students featuring Kaufman Library online tutorials
create Library Research Guides for your classes
help you lower the cost of education for your students (learn more about Affordable Learning Georgia)

Reference Services

Your liaison can:

meet with you and/or your students to provide an in-depth research consultations by appointment
conduct outreach to your department's students by staffing a table at your events
provide just-in-time support for student success by holding regular "office hours" for your students to drop-in

Collection Development

Your liaison can:

work with you to order library materials in your area
arrange for you to explore trials of electronic resources like databases (in consultation with the Collections Department)

Faculty Information Flyer

Instruction sessions are tailored to your courses and provide students with transferable skills in information literacy and library research.

Librarians at the Kaufman Library teach more than 300 course-integrated library instruction sessions per year. They are available to instruct your students on all aspects of the research process including: determining a topic and research question, locating relevant and reliable information, evaluating information, and using information ethically.

Lessons are tailored to meet the needs of each class and assignment. Classes typically take the entire class period (50-75 minutes) and are scheduled in one of the library instruction rooms.

Some things to consider:

1. Plan on giving us two weeks notice when requesting classes

2. Plan to attend the library session with your students

3. Plan the library session to coincide with your relevant assignment(s)

4. Provide your students with the assignment and discuss it with them before the library session

5. Share the assignment and sample topics with your librarian before the library session

6. We are happy to work with you to design or redesign information literacy and research activities, assignments, and assessments!

Library Instruction Request Form
Please use this form to request an information literacy/ library research class guest lecture or workshop.

Reference Desk
Kaufman Library
(678) 407-5064
Ask A Librarian
Got a question? Ask a librarian!

For more information on the following services, follow the links and/or contact your library liaison:

Course Reserves Information
Course Reserve provides access to course readings and materials for the educational programs at Georgia Gwinnett College. They are print or electronic items selected by faculty for use in a specific course. Reserve items may include books, book chapters, journal articles, DVDs, professor's notes, sample quizzes, and/or other materials required for course work. These items are set aside for short term use inside the library (usually two hours) and are available at the library circulation desk.
General Space (Institutional Repository)
Faculty and staff members are also encouraged to submit their scholarly work to our institutional repository, General Space. Further inquiries may be directed to:
Catherine Downey, Head of Access Services and Information Commons, cdowney@ggc.edu
GIL Express Information
Print material not available in the GGC collection may be requested from libraries at other USG institutions. Use the GIL-Find Catalog – USG to search for items and login to your library account to enable requests. Please note: articles cannot be requested through GIL Express – see Interlibrary Loan..
Interlibrary Loan Information
Interlibrary Loan supports the teaching and research of students, faculty, and staff associated with Georgia Gwinnett College by obtaining materials not available at the Kaufman Library or through GIL Express.
Library Lending
More than books!
Laptops, iPads, calculators, cameras, microphones, headphones, microscopes, models, and other technologies are available to check out.
Information Commons
This guide provides information about the three Information Commons areas found at GGC. It also provides information about additional services including study room reservations, printing/scanning, and the media equipment available for borrowing.
Study Room Reservations
All study rooms in the Kaufman Library and in the Den (Bldg. A) can be reserved by GGC students, faculty, and staff via LibCal at: https://libcal.ggc.edu.

Affordable Learning Georgia & Open Educational Resources Information
GGC supports the University System of Georgia's (USG) Affordable Learning Georgia program. This program provides two on-campus contacts for faculty interested in affordable learning.
Campus Champion: Cathy Hakes, Executive Director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP), 678-407-5875, chakes @ggc.edu
Library Coordinator: Bethany Nash, Assistant Head of Collections/Collections Manager, Kaufman Library, bnash @ggc.edu
Materials Request Form
For questions, please contact libcollections@ggc.edu.
We encourage faculty and staff members to notify the Kaufman Library when they have published material that they would like to see added to the collection. Please indicate in your request if an item is a faculty publication.