COVID Sources - HIST 4860 - Oral History - Rafshoon Fall 2023 - Library Research Guides at Georgia Gwinnett College

Resources

Georgia Specific

Digital Library of Georgia
A GALILEO initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.
Georgia Department of Public Health COVID-19 Status Report
Georgia COVID-19 status of cases and hospitalizations with interactive charts and graphs
Governor Brian Kemp Executive Orders
Georgia Governor Brian P. Kemp's Executive Orders beginning in 2019.
Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center - Georgia
Tracking Coronavirus in Gwinnett County, Ga.
The New York Times tracker through March 2023

Epidemics in U.S. History

Epidemics in U.S. History - American Social History Project
The American Social History Project of the City University of New York has compiled a list of resources to assist students, teachers, and the general public in understanding past epidemics and connect this knowledge to the present situation.
A Journal of the Plague Year
JOTPY seeks to become the largest digital archive devoted to recording experiences of the COVID-19 pandemic and the wider historical and cultural moment of the pandemic. Focused on international collaboration, ethical practice, and iterative digital humanities methods, JOTPY seeks to become the model for rapid-response, born-digital archives of the COVID-19 pandemic.
Influenza Pandemics of the 20th Century - CDC
President Donald Trump Presidential Actions
Presidential actions during the Trump administration. Use the search function, not the filter by issue function.
USA Facts Georgia coronavirus cases and deaths

Atlanta Journal Constitution This link opens in a new window
Explore Atlanta history through local news, events and people with Atlanta Journal-Constitution Collection.
HeinOnline: COVID-19 in America: Response, Issues, and Law This link opens in a new window
With the recent addition of more than 530 titles and nearly 50,000 pages, a major expansion has been made to the database. Users will now find a new Past Pandemics subcollection added to their trial, bringing together a multitude of government documents and reports from recent public health history that evaluate the current situation within the context of other past global health crises.
Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis.

Living Through the Pandemic
This oral history project facilitated by Dr. Ellen Rafshoon, GGC Professor of History, and her honors students aimed to document the college’s path through the COVID-19 crisis by compiling different perspectives of people within the college community.

CDC Museum COVID-19 Timeline
This timeline provides information about select moments in the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States and around the world beginning from its known origins to today. [mid 2022]
U.S. DOD Coronavirus: Timeline
View DOD and federal response, vaccine information and virus progression updates by using the filters provided.
Documenting Georgia's path to recovery from the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, 2020-2021
Ballotpedia’s coverage of COVID-19 includes how federal, state, and local governments are responding, and how those responses are influencing election rules and operations, political campaigns, the economy, schools, and more.
AJC Detailed COVID timeline
Through March 15, 2021