This page provides information for integrating easily accessible library resources (including articles, books, databases, and videos) into MyCourses. This guide also has information regarding information literacy and for using library research guides and GALILEO Curriculum Builder.
You can provide easy access to course readings and other library content by including a persistent, stable link (permalink, or deep link) to the full text of a specific article or item in the Kaufman Library databases on your syllabus or your course page that will work on or off campus.
If you are working from our online subscription databases, please note that it does not always work to copy the URL from the URL bar at the top of the page to link to books or articles. Each vendor's database platform is a little bit different. Instructions are included below for some popular platforms. If you would like to link to something from a different platform and are unable to find the stable URL/persistent URL, please Ask a Librarian for assistance or contact your Liaison librarian. Above all, check links off campus (when not logged into VPN) to make sure they work as expected and if not, ask a librarian for assistance.
Linking to Books & Articles
In EBSCO databases, such as Academic Search Complete, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), CINAHL, and Business Source Complete:
Perform a search for the article that you need.
From your search results, click on the title to pull up the individual item information.
In the box on the right, click on “permalink”:
The link pops up for you at the top of the article. Select and copy this entire link.
To create a persistent URL in JSTOR, add the OpenAthens prefix in front of JSTOR's stable URL by following these steps:
The finished persistent URL looks like this: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ggc.edu?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.jstor.org%2Fstable%2F3180864
In ProQuest databases (such as ProQuest Central, eBook Central. Does NOT include Safari O'Reilly):
Perform a search for the article that you need.
The URL in the URL bar works just fine. (OR Once you find your article, click the "Abstract/Details" option to pull up the individual item information. Proquest calls their persistent URL "Document URL". You may need to scroll down to see it. Select and copy this entire link.
The Safari O'Reilly database is a bit different from other ProQuest databases and direct linking is not well-supported. The best way to provide access to titles in this resource is to link directly to the database itself, using the link https://go.oreilly.com/georgia-gwinnett and have your students search for the book titles when logged in.
In GALE databases, such as Opposing Viewpoints, or Global Issues:
1. Click "get link" in the top menu bar.
2. Click "copy" to copy the link.
3. Add the OpenAthens prefix, https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ggc.edu?url=, in front of the URL.
4. The resulting URL will look like this:
Most of the articles in Science Direct provide you with a DOI (digital object identifier) that you can use. Try the Using DOIs box below for info on how to do that.
Here’s another way to create the link:
1. Do a search for the article that you need.
2. Click on the title in the results list to pull up the specific article that you need.
3. Copy the URL in the URL bar at the top of your screen.
Here's an example of the link that you will see in the URL bar:
http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0002929707609914
4. Add the OpenAthens prefix, https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ggc.edu?url=, in front of the URL.
Here's an example of the finished URL:
Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs)
Databases often provide DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers) for their articles. The DOI is a way to locate a particular article even if the database changes. The DOI is often listed on the article itself. It may also be part of the article's citation. If linking in this way, be sure that the DOI link takes the student to the full text. It may or may not even if GGC has access to the full text.
To create a persistent/stable URL with the DOI:
Here's an example of what the finished URL will look like:
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/ggc.edu?url=https://doi.org/10.1177/19253621231190415
Athenized Link Generator
This tool converts links from databases that require OpenAthens authentication, and appends a prefix that allows users to authenticate from off campus. Just paste the link from the database in the box, and the generated link can be copied and pasted into the course. Check the link off campus, not logged into VPN, to make sure it works.
https://go.openathens.net/generate/ggc.edu/71455593
Note: this method works for linking to items on platforms such as SAGE Journals and Springer Link.
Streaming Video
Kaufman Library provides four dedicated subscription streaming video platforms: Academic Video Online, Films on Demand, Kanopy, and SWANK. In addition, many other databases such as Safari O'Reilly and others contain streaming video content. Linking to streaming video content within other platforms not listed here is similar to linking to articles and books, detailed on the "Linking to Articles and Books" tab.
If you are working from these platforms, please note that it does not work to copy the URL from the URL bar at the top of the page to link to streaming video content. Each vendor's database platform is a little bit different. Instructions are included below for our 4 dedicated streaming video platforms. If you need assistance, please Ask a Librarian or contact your Liaison librarian. Above all, check links off campus (when not logged into VPN) to make sure they work as expected and if not, ask a librarian for assistance.
To link to a film in Academic Video Online, search for the item you want to link to, and click on the title of the item. Click on the Share link, then the permalink.
Academic Video Online additional help:
https://video.alexanderstreet.com/channel/academic-video-online click on “For Educators” for clips, transcripts, embedding content.
Or, see https://libguides.ggc.edu/DatabaseTutorials/AcademicVideoOnline_VAST
Instructions for LINKING to a film using a link in email, D2L or a syllabus:
Log into Films on Demand. Click on the title of the film, select the "Share" option and copy the URL.
Instructions for EMBEDDING video into an assignment:
To create an assignment in D2L using an embedded Films on Demand film, first create a new assignment or edit an existing assignment, and use the "Insert Stuff" icon in the Instructions box, and select "Films on Demand" from the dropdown:
Search for a film by topic, and then using the "Embed" menu to the right of the film, select one of the options.
For complete instructions, see https://about.galileo.usg.edu/support/how_do_i_insert_films_on_demand_videos_into_my_brightspace_d2l_course
Additional training available at: https://libguides.ggc.edu/DatabaseTutorials/FilmsOnDemand
To link to films in Kanopy, search for the film title. Near the center of the page, click on the "Share" tab. Copy the URL to link to the film, or use the embed code for HTML.
For general help on Kanopy, please see these LibGuide links: https://libguides.ggc.edu/DatabaseTutorials/Kanopy
Get links directly to films through the database as follows:
.
For general help on SWANK, please see this LibGuide: https://libguides.ggc.edu/c.php?g=1146105&p=9796608
Library Research Guides
The simplest method, and recommended method, of linking to library research guides is to navigate to the Research Guides homepage, select a subject or a particular guide, copy the URL from the URL bar, and place the link in your course or syllabus.
Navigate to the Research Guides from the library homepage:
To link to a single research guide, click on the link to the guide and copy the URL from the URL bar.
To link to a set of guides on a particular subject, select the Guides by Subject, navigate to your subject, then copy the link for the "Subject Homepage".
Database Lists
The simplest method to link to a single database or a list of databases by subject is to navigate to the Databases A-Z list on the library homepage.
To link to a specific database, right click on the name of the database and copy the URL, and place the link in your course or syllabus
You can filter the results from the top of the Databases list using the menus, such as the "Subject" menu. Once you've selected the subject, copy the URL from the search bar for any result, and place the link in your course or syllabus.
Information Literacy & Research Basics
Librarians are always available to assist with embedding information literacy skills into your class content. Below are some great videos on a variety of information literacy and research process topics. To embed these videos in your course, right click on the link for each video and copy and paste that URL in your course (don't use the URL from the URL bar).
To get in-depth research help for your students, direct them to Ask a Librarian or book a Library Instruction Session for your class.
Quick links for research basics:
Videos: Research Process Quick Tips by CREDO:
• Overview of the research gathering process used to support a thesis or hypothesis.
• Includes questions students may ask to draw conclusions based on their research findings.
• Presents search as a process that requires flexibility and open mindedness.
• Includes strategies to help students navigate towards the most relevant results.
• Encourages students to use neutral terminology to retrieve the most objective and relevant sources.
• Directs students to seek a balanced understanding of their research topic by consulting a variety of sources.
• Reminds students that research is a process that requires flexibility and curiosity.
• Includes strategies to make connections between ideas and form a focused research question.
• Reminds students to make use of a variety of source types and background resources to fully understand their research topic.
• Includes strategies for locating related sources and other avenues of research.
• Introduces students to strategies for refining the scope of a research topic.
• Encourages students to engage in reflection and revision based on the analysis of their search results.
• Encourages students to seek out multiple sources of information in order to gain a fuller understanding of their research topic
• Reminds students not to analyze information in isolation. Instead, students are encouraged to make connections between sources to get a sense of the full picture.
• Illustrates the process of synthesizing information from multiple research sources.
• Includes a discussion about the purpose of background sources such as encyclopedias in building a student's understanding of a concept and its themes.
• Explains the role of images in student's work, plus how to locate and evaluate found images for credible contextual and background information.
• Outlines the purposes and characteristics of paraphrased and summarized statements and direct quotes.
• After watching this video, students will be able to select the most appropriate method of presenting information based on their assembled sources and assignment requirements.
ProQuest Research Companion Information Literacy Module
Tools such as the Search Aid and Source Evaluation Aid help researchers get right to the information they need. These quick and easy-to-use tools automate the basic parts of the research process by leveraging the power of ProQuest data sources—including Ulrich's Web and Books In Print, and the expert ProQuest editorial team.
GALILEO / EBSCO Curriculum Builder
Please note that EBSCO is deprecating this tool by the end of 2024: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/EBSCO-Deprecating-Curriculum-Builder?language=en_US. Thus, consider discontinuing use of this tool and utilize searching library databases for and linking to resources directly. See "linking to Books and Articles" tab for more information.
Curriculum Builder Handout from Georgia Southwestern State University
For legacy users of the GALILEO Curriculum Builder tool, please see this handout.