Below you'll find a selection of resources you can use for your Political Science research. Use the tabs to navigate to databases, scholarly journals, books, and freely available Web resources.
Unsure how to begin your research? Follow the link below to access numerous tutorials to help you develop your search strategy for library resources.
Kaufman Library provides access to many databases that can help with your Political Science research. In addition to the those highlighted below, you can access our full list of databases using our Databases A-Z list (link below).
Political Science Databases
Political Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals.
Global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news.
Along with scholarly analysis, "day-in-history" reviews and sources encouraging additional and future study, World History in Context offers its users integrated access to a virtual library of resources needed to study the history of the world.
The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
Race Relations Abstracts focuses on content relating specifically to the relationship between races. Race relations is an area of study that pertains to the social, political, and economic relations between races and ethnicities.
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country
Multidisciplinary Databases
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Multidisciplinary Reference
Video titles in humanities, social sciences, world languages, business, economics, health, and science.
Access to more than 14,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies.
Kaufman Library provides access to many journals both individually and through our databases that can help with your research. Below is a sampling of titles in this subject area. In addition to the those highlighted below, you can access our full list of electronic journals using the link below.
Political Science Journals
Newspapers
The link below will take you directly to general books about Political Science in the Kaufman Library collection. You'll also be able to edit the search (limit by date, eBook vs. physical book, and more). For more specific topics, you'll need to change your search terms in the search box.
Library Catalog Search - Political Science Books
Many more titles are available to borrow from other University of Georgia libraries through GIL-Express. The link below will take you directly to general books about Political Science that you can request from other libraries. You'll also be able to edit the search (limit by date, eBook vs. physical book, and more). For more specific topics, you'll need to change your search terms in the search box.
Political Science Resources on the Web
The resources in this section are freely available on the Web.
GGC has current issue coverage of these major Georgia Newspapers. For additional back issue coverage of Georgia newspapers, search for the title of the newspaper in the Find Journals tool.
Through a partnership with Gwinnett County Public Library, GGC faculty, staff, and students can sign up for a GCPL library card at the nearest branch by presenting their GGC Clawcard. One of the benefits of having a GCPL card is access to GCPL's online databases. One of these databases, America's News, gives extensive access to local newspapers, many of which have full PDF-downloadable images of the papers.
The links below will take you to specific Georgia papers in that database - to access, you'll need to log in using your Gwinnett County Public Library card number and pin.
