Library Research Guides: * Exercise Science &amp; Physical Education: Articles & Databases

Original /Empirical /Primary Research Article Tip

If your assignment requires Original /Empirical /Primary Research, consider using the Advanced Search feature of the selected database and add the following key terms to your search to delete the type of peer-reveiwed articles that you do not need:

NOT ( literature review or review of the literature or overview or systematic review or meta analysis or case study or review or editorial or brief report)

Exercise Science Databases

Alt HealthWatch
Multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
BioOne
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
A comprehensive resource for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information.
MEDLINE with Full Text (at EBSCOhost)
Combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Includes topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Science and Technology Collection
"Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community."
ScienceDirect
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
SPORTDiscus with FullText
A comprehensive, full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals and providing full text for hundreds of journals.
ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.

Exercise Science and Sports Psychology Resources

Featured Exercise Science and Sports Psychology Resources

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
PEDro is a free database of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

PsycArticles® (APA) This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PsycInfo® (APA) This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo®, American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts and scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress) includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Coverage includes the assessment, description, prevention, or treatment of any psychiatric disorder; the preparation or provision of mental health services to a traumatized population or a population at risk of experiencing traumatic events, and issues of professional ethics, scientific methodology, or public policy relating to traumatized populations.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works.
SPORTDiscus with FullText This link opens in a new window
Full text of sports & sports medicine journals.

A-Z Databases
Search the A-Z Databases list to find the best library databases for your research.
All Exercise Science Databases @GGC

Nursing Databases

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the world's largest source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, and provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works.
Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis.
Health and Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.

PLOS Medicine
An influential venue for research and commentary on the major challenges to human health worldwide, PLOS Medicine publishes articles of general interest on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of health. The journal emphasizes work that advances clinical practice, health policy or pathophysiological understanding to benefit health in a variety of settings.

GALE Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Gale Health and Wellness offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
GALE OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age.

Coverage Dates: 1985 - present (full text); 1985 - present (abstracting and indexing)

Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Search by PICO.
more...less...
Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search.

Articles from Databases @GGC Kaufman Library

The following databases represent a few selections available from GGC Kaufman Library. These databases are are multi-disciplinary and cover many different subject areas/topics. You will find: scholarly jounral articles, news, trade journals, magazines, and books reviews to name a few.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
GALILEO This link opens in a new window GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library, is an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. GALILEO is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or internet directories. Kaufman Library funds participation in the GALILEO initiative for library resource purchases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works.

A-Z Databases
Search the A-Z Databases list to find the best library databases for your research.

Find more databases on your subject using GGC's Browse By Subject listing.

EBSCO (Academic Search Complete) Tutorials
GALILEO Tutorials
JSTOR Tutorials
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
ProQuest (Central)Tutorials
Science Direct Tutorials
Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works.
More Database Tutorials
Database tutorials which have been created by the database company or search engine creator.

Full Text Finder
Full Text Finder shows you which databases access your Journal Title.
Google
Search the web for open access resources.
Google Scholar
Search the web for open access scholarly resources.
Interlibrary Loan Articles
Request an article from another library.
Ask A Librarian
Got a question? Ask a librarian!

How to Read Scholarly Articles: Strategies for reading

Ask A Librarian
Got a question? Ask a librarian!

* Exercise Science & Physical Education

Ask A Librarian Online Help