The following databases represent a few selections available from GGC Kaufman Library. These databases are are multi-disciplinary and cover many different subject areas/topics. You will find: scholarly jounral articles, news, trade journals, magazines, and books reviews to name a few.
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
OBO is a tool designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, data set they need for their research. It is a springboard for new research that allows for fluid movement between texts and databases within a given institution's collection and beyond. It is a starting point for organizing a research plan, or for preparing a writing assignment, or syllabus. The style and approach is accessible to student readers, but because of the depth of coverage it is of great use to faculty as well.
How to Read Scholarly Articles: Strategies for reading
Harold Washington College strategies for reading scholarly articles
Reading in the Humanities and Social Sciences
Trent University guide to reading scholarly works in the humanities and social sciences
Catherine Downey, your library liaison, has created curated lists of OER for History. If you don't see an OER that works for a course you're teaching, please reach out to Catherine. She can work with you to identify OER that will support your course.
If you want to try searching on your own, the box below allows you to directly search OASIS, a tool to help locate OER.
The Milne Library at SUNY Geneseo developed OASIS, a tool that searches across multiple OER sites.
