Library Research Guides: * Business Resources: Accounting

Accounting

The Bachelor of Business Administration with an Accounting concentration prepares students for future careers in accountancy or related areas. This concentration is especially appealing to those students who are interested in business, financial reporting and auditing, and taxes or management. The Georgia Gwinnett Course Catalog outlines the requirements for graduation with a Bachelor of Business Administration with an Accounting Concentration.

Resources

Kaufman Library provides access to many databases that can help with your accounting research. In addition to those highlighted below, you can access our full list of databases using our Databases A-Z list (link below).

GGC Databases A-Z

Search by title and subject from over 175 databases.

Accounting Databases

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection brings together global scholarly journals and other key resources, providing access to reliable information in this continuously evolving area of study. The collection helps researchers locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.

General Business Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete is a comprehensive business database containing thousands of journals. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
GALE Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Includes business case studies, in-depth statistical data, company and industry profiles, SWOT and market share reports, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface) provides users with an alternative searching and browsing interface to the traditional EBSCOhost version of Business Source Complete. The Business Searching Interface allows for easy browsing of supplementary content such as, company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and author profiles.
D&B Hoovers Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive up-to-date information through a global database of over 85 million companies, 90 million decision makers, 1,000 industries, and a proprietary data collection process

Kaufman Library provides access to many trade publications and journals both individually and through our databases that can help with your accounting research. In addition to those highlighted below, you can access our full list of electronic journals using the link below.

Electronic journals

Accounting Trade Publications

Accounting Today
Accounting Today is a trade magazine servicing the public accounting profession in the United States. Started in 1987, it grew to a circulation of more than 30,000.
CPA Magazine
CPA Magazine is a tax and technology resource for accounting and tax professionals delivered in online digital, email and print versions.
CPA Practice Advisor
CPA Practice Advisor is a technology and practice management resource for accounting and tax professionals. It is offered in online digital and print versions, with six print issues per year (Feb, Apr, Jun, Aug, Oct, Dec) and 11 digital issues per year (Feb-Dec).

Accounting Journals

Accounting, Organizations and Society
A major international journal concerned with all aspects of the relationship between accounting and human behavior, organizational structures and processes, and the changing social and political environment of the enterprise.
Accounting Horizons
Accounting Horizons publishes papers focusing on the scholarship of integration and application. It prints quarterly in March, June, September, and December and is an A journal indexed in both Scopus and SSCI.
Critical Perspectives on Accounting
Critical Perspectives on Accounting aims to provide a forum for the growing number of accounting researchers and practitioners who realize that conventional theory and practice is ill-suited to the challenges of the modern environment, and that accounting practices and corporate behavior are inextricably connected with many allocative, distributive, social, and ecological problems of our era.
Journal of Accounting and Public Policy
The Journal of Accounting and Public Policy publishes research papers focusing on the intersection between accounting and public policy. Preference is given to papers illuminating through theoretical or empirical analysis, the effects of accounting on public policy and vice-versa.
Journal of Business Finance & Accounting
Journal of Business Finance & Accounting publishes high quality research papers in accounting, corporate finance, corporate governance and their interfaces. JBFA sponsors an annual Capital Markets Conference, with conference papers being published in a Special Issue each year. JBFA has been published since 1974 and is included in the Social Science Citation Index and Current Contents/Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Kaufman Library provides access to many streaming media resources and DVDs that can help with your criminal accounting projects and research.

Streaming Media

Kanopy
Access to more than 26,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies

Kanopy: Accounting Titles
A listing of accounting titles from Kanopy

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

AVON: Business Education in Video
This collection of videos from AVON is business related and has segments about accounting.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Video titles in humanities, social sciences, world languages, business, economics, health, and science.

FOD: Accounting Videos
A collection of over 1,100 videos about accounting.

Books

Search the entire Kaufman Library collection using the link below. Once you've entered a search term, you can narrow your search by type/format of material (book, visual, etc.), creation date, location, language, and more.

Kaufman Library Catalog (GIL-Find)
Search Kaufman Library's entire collection of materials. Find books, e-Books, DVDs, streaming media, journals, databases, and more.

Library Catalog Searches of Books by Genre

The link below will take you directly to books focused on a variety of topics related to accounting in the Kaufman Library collection. You'll also be able to edit the search (limit by date, eBook vs. physical book, and more).

Books about Accounting

eBook Collections

You can also search our eBook collections directly instead of through the library catalog. Below are links to our eBook platforms.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Multidisciplinary eBook titles
eBook Central
Access over 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers.

Accounting Coach

AccountingCoach.com was launched in 2003 to help people throughout the world learn, refresh, and deepen their understanding of introductory accounting and bookkeeping at no cost. The free website (option #1) contains explanations, quizzes, Q&A, and more for 30 major topics. On the website we have posted the 2,112 testimonials we received because our materials are easier to understand than accounting textbooks costing hundreds of dollars.
American Institute of CPAs

This is the web presence for the American Institute of CPAs, the world’s largest member association representing the accounting profession. AICPA has a history of serving the public interest stretches back to 1887. Today, you'll find our 431,000+ members in 130 countries and territories, representing many areas of practice, including business and industry, public practice, government, education and consulting.
National Society of Accountants

The National Society of Accountants is the premier Society for the "Main Street Practitioner." NSA proudly represents the interests of members and their accounting practices by providing member value through timely information, advocacy, community, and member discounts that positively impact the bottom line of small to mid-size accounting firms.
The Accounting Best Practices Podcast

The Accounting Best Practices podcast covers essential information on a broad range of business subjects, including accounting technology, controls, closing the books, financing, payroll, and much more. Most episodes are just 7 to 10 minutes long and are jam-packed with information.
Accounting Today Podcasts

This podcast contains in-depth discussions with accounting industry professionals.

OER for Accounting

Principles of Financial Accounting by Christine Jonick
ISBN: 9781940771151
Publication Date: 2018-09-30
The University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia bring you Accounting I. Well-written and straightforward, Principles of Financial Accounting is a needed contribution to open source pedagogy in the business education world. Written in order to directly meet the needs of her students, this textbook developed from Dr. Christine Jonick's years of teaching and commitment to effective pedagogy.
Principles of Managerial Accounting by Christine Jonick
ISBN: 9781940771458
Publication Date: 2018-12-31
The University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia bring you Principles of Managerial Accounting. Well-written and straightforward, Principles of Managerial Accounting is a needed contribution to open source pedagogy in the business education world. Written in order to directly meet the needs of her students, this textbook developed from Dr. Jonick's years of teaching and commitment to effective pedagogy.
Principles of Accounting, Volume 1 by Mitchell Franklin; Patty Graybeal; Dixon Cooper
ISBN: 9781947172685
Publication Date: 2019-04-11
Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes. This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields. Each chapter opens with a relatable real-life scenario for today’s college student. Thoughtfully designed examples are presented throughout each chapter, allowing students to build on emerging accounting knowledge. Concepts are further reinforced through applicable connections to more detailed business processes. Students are immersed in the “why” as well as the “how” aspects of accounting in order to reinforce concepts and promote comprehension over rote memorization.
Principles of Accounting, Volume 2 by Mitchell Franklin; Patty Graybeal; Dixon Cooper
ISBN: 9781947172609
Publication Date: 2019-02-14
Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes. This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields. Each chapter opens with a relatable real-life scenario for today’s college student. Thoughtfully designed examples are presented throughout each chapter, allowing students to build on emerging accounting knowledge. Concepts are further reinforced through applicable connections to more detailed business processes. Students are immersed in the “why” as well as the “how” aspects of accounting in order to reinforce concepts and promote comprehension over rote memorization.

Accounting and Corporate Reporting Today and Tomorrow by Soner Gokten
ISBN: 9789535135494
Publication Date: 2017
We have spent a great deal of time on the continued development of accounting and auditing standards, which are used as a primary component of corporate reporting, to reach today's financial reporting framework. However, is it possible to say that, currently, financial statements provide full and prompt disclosure? Or will they still be useful as a primary element with their current structures in corporate reporting? Undoubtedly, we are deeply concerned about these issues in recent times. This volume contains chapters to discuss the today's and tomorrow's accounting and corporate reporting phenomena in a comprehensive and multidimensional way. Therefore, this book is organized into six sections: ""Achieving Sustainability through Corporate Reporting"", ""International Standardization"", ""Financial Reporting Quality"", ""Accounting Profession and Behavioral Aspects"", ""Public Sector Accounting and Reporting"", and ""Managerial Accounting"".
Accounting from a Cross-Cultural Perspective by Asma Salman and Muthanna G. Abdul Razzaq
ISBN: 9781789842791
Accounting is both an art and science, which governs the communication and processing of the financial information in an organization. Technological advancement is helping the accountants to monitor financial performance in real time. This presents both opportunities and challenges for the current day organizations and accounting professionals alike. This book shows many different aspects to the same accounting principles but from a cross-cultural perspective. The diversity of the authors who contributed to this book signify the importance of accounting from various dimensions while ensuring that standards are adhered to, and principles are followed and applied. This book intends to feature the journey from the double-entry bookkeeping developed in medieval Europe to the changing dynamics of accounting. It is divided into five main sections: The Matching Principle, Ethics in Accounting, Insurance Contracts, Green Accounting, and Financial Instruments.
Stochastic Discounted Cash Flow by Lutz Kruschwitz; Andreas Löffler
ISBN: 9783030370800
Publication Date: 2020-02-29
This open access book discusses firm valuation, which is of interest to economists, particularly those working in finance. Firm valuation comes down to the calculation of the discounted cash flow, often only referred to by its abbreviation, DCF. There are, however, different coexistent versions, which seem to compete against each other, such as entity approaches and equity approaches. Acronyms are often used, such as APV (adjusted present value) or WACC (weighted average cost of capital), two concepts classified as entity approaches. This book explains why there are several procedures and whether they lead to the same result. It also examines the economic differences between the methods and indicates the various purposes they serve. Further it describes the limits of the procedures and the situations they are best applied to. The problems this book addresses are relevant to theoreticians and practitioners alike.

Khan Academy: Accounting and Financial Statements
Videos and practice problems about several accounting topics.

Accounting Commons
About 2,700 scholarly articles on accounting.