Library Research Guides: * Art Resources: Find Sources

Resources

Kaufman Library provides access to many databases that can help with your art research. In addition to the those highlighted below, you can access our full list of databases using our Databases A-Z list (link below).

GGC Databases A-Z
Search Kaufman Library databases by title and subject.

Art Databases

Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.
Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
GALE OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film-making. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

Multidisciplinary Databases

GALE Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
GALE OneFile: Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
GALE OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Popular Culture Studies provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Full text research database that serves multiple disciplines.

Multidisciplinary Reference

Credo Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text online reference service.

Kaufman Library provides access to many journals both individually and through our databases that can help with your art research. In addition to the those highlighted below, you can access our full list of electronic journals using the link below.

Electronic journals

Art Journals

American Art
Interdisciplinary articles encompassing all aspects of America's visual heritage, including the traditional fine arts, decorative arts and crafts, architecture and landscape design, photography, film and video, and commercial and graphic design.
The Art Bulletin
The Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions.
Art History
Original articles relating to all aspects of the historical and theoretical study of painting, sculpture, design and other areas of visual imagery.
Art in America
Features articles on major achievements & events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints.
Art Journal
Journal arranged thematically under a guest editor including articles by and about artists, exhibition reviews, book reviews and lists of books and catalogues received.
C : International Contemporary Art
C Magazine is a Toronto-based contemporary art and criticism periodical devoted to providing a forum for significant ideas in visual art and culture. Each quarterly issue explores a new theme through original art writing, criticism and artists' projects.
Journal of Aesthetics & Art Criticism
Articles on all studies of the arts and related types of experience from a philosophic, scientific, or other theoretical standpoint, including those of psychology, sociology, anthropology, cultural history, art criticism and education.
Journal of Visual Art Practice
Covers all aspects of fine art education.
Arts
Arts is an international peer-reviewed open access journal published quarterly online by MDPI in March, June, September and December.

The link below will take you directly to books about art in the Kaufman Library collection. You'll also be able to edit the search (limit by date, eBook vs. physical book, and more).

Library Catalog Search - Art Books

eBook Collections

You can also search our eBook collections directly instead of through the library catalog. Below are links to our eBook platforms.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eBook titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of their community of researchers.
Cambridge Core eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to over 40,000 eBooks published by Cambridge University Press.
University of Michigan Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
University of Michigan Press is a leading publisher and distributor of books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences that are aligned with the strengths of its parent institution. Areas of particular focus are performing arts; classical studies; political science; American studies (especially disability and class studies); Asian and African studies. The Press makes most books available electronically and provides direct access to libraries through its own publishing platform, Fulcrum.

Streaming Media

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 85,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Video titles in humanities, social sciences, world languages, business, economics, health, and science.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 14,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies.

DVDs

Selected DVDs on Art and Artists
Tip: to find more DVDs in the catalog, try searching by the name of the artist or the type of art.

Art Resources on the Web

The resources in this section are freely available on the Web.

Smarthistory: the Center for Public Art History
With 503 contributors from 201 colleges, universities, museums, and reseach centers, Smarthistory is the most-visited art history resource in the world.
Artcyclopedia
The guide to great art online
ArtDaily
Online art newspaper
ArtNews
Founded in 1902, ARTnews is the oldest and most widely circulated art magazine in the world. Its readership of 180,000 in 124 countries includes collectors, dealers, historians, artists, museum directors, curators, connoisseurs, and enthusiasts.
ArtSource
ArtSource is a gathering point for networked resources on Art and Architecture. The content is diverse and includes pointers to resources around the net as well as original materials submitted by librarians, artists, and art historians, etc.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s collection.
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institute
The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Thomas J. Watson Library Digital Collections Digital Collections
The primary mission of the Watson Library Digitization Initiative is to expand access to the Museum's rare and unique research materials by developing, supporting, and promoting a distinctive digital collection of these items.
Museum of Modern Art Archives
The Museum of Modern Art Archives is an internationally recognized research center for modern and contemporary art. The Archives collects, preserves, and makes accessible nearly 90 years’ worth of the Museum’s historical records, 40 years’ worth of MoMA PS1 records, and other primary source documents concerning art and cultural history in the 20th and 21st centuries, including private archives and papers of artists, galleries, dealers, art historians, critics, and others.
Vincent Van Gogh Letters
This edition, the product of 15 years of research at the Van Gogh Museum and Huygens ING, contains all Van Gogh's letters to his brother Theo, his artist friends Paul Gauguin and Emile Bernard, and many others. You will find the letters in the latest edition richly annotated and illustrated with new transcriptions and authorized English translations.
Feminist Art Base
The Feminist Art Base is a digital archive dedicated solely to feminist art, offering profiles of some of the most prominent and promising contributors to the field. This digital resource was created in 2007 and was actively expanded through 2014; the database remains available for researchers as an archive of activity by artists from the 1960s to the early 2000s.
Getty Publications Virtual Library
Free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives
Hyperallergic
Hyperallergic is a forum for playful, serious, and radical perspectives on art and culture in the world today. It combines the best of art blog and magazine culture by focusing on publishing quality and engaging writing and images from informed and provocative perspectives.
Artforum
International monthly magazine specializing in contemporary art
Art 21 - Magazine
Art21 Magazine provides a space for insightful writing on contemporary art and artists.
Art 21 - Video Series
A nonprofit organization, Art21’s mission is to inspire a more creative world through the works and words of contemporary artists.
Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web
A site of compiled art and architecture resources from across the web.
Triple Canopy
Triple Canopy is a magazine based in New York. Since 2007, Triple Canopy has advanced a model for publication that encompasses digital works of art and literature, public conversations, exhibitions, and books.
Walker Art Magazine

Lists of Museums