Be sure to read read the full Assignment Details.
Research Proposal due on 9/16/2024.
Check the assignment .pdfs for other important due dates!
Be sure to read read the full Assignment Details.
Google: Advanced Search
Prompt- Time to search and browse the Internet about your monster.
Be sure to read read the full Assignment Details.
Step One: Go to the Kaufman Library database portal.
Step Two: Select one of the recommended databases: Academic Search Complete, JSTOR or GALILEO.
Step Three: From one database, find 3 articles: (1). one between 2010-2024, (2). one between 2000-2010, and (3.) one between 1980-1990. Do not just pull any source that fits these dates. Make them relevant. Skim their abstracts, if they have any, to help determine relevance.
Organize each article using the sample framework below.
Database Name (Academic Search Complete, JSTOR or GALILEO)
1. [Article Name]
a. [Writer(s)]
b. [Journal Name]
c. [Date Published]
d. [First impressions]
Sample search in Academic Search Complete for: " big foot or bigfoot or sasquatch ".
Strongly recommend downloading the article. When it asks for citation method, select MLA.
Zotero Reference Manager can be used to create and save citations.
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library, is an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. GALILEO is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or internet directories. Kaufman Library funds participation in the GALILEO initiative for library resource purchases.
Database Video Tutorials:
Other Academic Search Complete Tutorials
Be sure to read read the full Assignment Details.
Choose one monster from a book, video game, film/TV series, or the real world and analyze its representation of monstrosity within the narrative and broader cultural context.
Sample searches in the GILfind Catalog.
Sample search by the specific monster's name "Frankenstein" books & ebooks via GGC Library.
Sample search by the specific monster's name "Dracula" videos & streaming videos via GGC Library.
*Note not all titles show in the GILfind catalog. You may find additional titles by searching the individual Streaming/Video database or eBook Collections.
** If GGC does not have access to an in-print book and it is not available to borrow within USG or via GIL Express, please submit an Inter Library Book Loan Request.
View the following Tutorial- How to Find and Access eBooks @GGC Kaufman Library .