ENGL 1102 - Bearden

Monsters: A Bedford Spotlight Reader by Andrew Hoffman Monsters explores questions about the central concept of the monstrous: Why do we create monsters? Are they animal, human, both, or neither? Which of our fears and desires do monsters embody? What can monsters tell us about our cultural and historical moments? How do we cope with the monsters that haunt our imaginations--and our societies? Readings by classic poets, contemporary fiction writers, pop culture critics, philosophers, psychologists, occultists, veterinarians, ethicists, historians, and others take up these questions and more. Questions and assignments for each selection provide a range of activities for students to write about vampires, werewolves, zombies, mermaids, serial killers, classic horror movie monsters, and more strange things that go bump in the night. The Bedford Spotlight Reader Series is an exciting line of single-theme readers, each reflecting Bedford's trademark care and quality. An editorial board of a dozen compositionists at schools with courses focusing on specific themes assists in the development of the series. Each reader collects thoughtfully chosen selections sufficient for an entire writing course--about 35 pieces--to allow instructors to provide carefully developed, high-quality instruction at an affordable price. Bedford Spotlight Readers are designed to help students from all majors make sustained inquiries from multiple perspectives, opening up topics such as borders, food, gender, happiness, humor, language, music, science and technology, subcultures, and sustainability, to critical analysis. The readers are flexibly arranged in thematic chapters, with each chapter focusing in depth on a different facet of the central topic. Instructor support at macmillanlearning.com includes sample syllabi and additional teaching resources.

The Bedford Researcher 8e and Achieve for the Bedford Researcher (1-Term Access) by Mike Palmquist The Bedford Researcher provides the tools to confront the increasingly complex challenges of student writing with thoughtfulness and integrity, from finding, evaluating, and citing sources to revising your thesis statement and designing your document.

The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters by Jeffrey Andrew Weinstock From vampires and demons to ghosts and zombies, interest in monsters in literature, film, and popular culture has never been stronger. This concise Encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. It is the first major reference book on monsters for the scholarly market. Over 200 entries written by experts in the field are accompanied by an overview introduction by the editor. Generic entries such as 'ghost' and 'vampire' are cross-listed with important specific manifestations of that monster. In addition to monsters appearing in English-language literature and film, the Encyclopedia also includes significant monsters in Spanish, French, Italian, German, Russian, Indian, Chinese, Japanese, African and Middle Eastern traditions. Alphabetically organized, the entries each feature suggestions for further reading. The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters is an invaluable resource for all students and scholars and an essential addition to library reference shelves.

Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained by Editors of Chambers An essential reference for anyone with a serious interest in unexplained phenomena, this title contains carefully researched, in-depth and balanced entries on topics ranging from alien abductions to the zodiac.

Abominable Science! by Daniel Loxton; Donald R. Prothero; Michael Shermer (Foreword by) A captivatingly illustrated general-interest book confronting the persistent myths of cryptozoology.