African American History

Executive Order on White House Initiative on Advancing Educational Equity, Excellence, and Economic Opportunity through Historically Black Colleges and Universities

Current information on HBCUs.

Data do you have on historically Black colleges and universities in the United States

The Initiative is dedicated to a Government-wide policymaking effort to eliminate barriers HBCUs face in providing the highest-quality education to a growing number of students.

Within HeinOnline’s various databases, you can find an extensive amount of information pertaining to the history and impact of HBCUs. From court cases to laws to journal articles, you can research the vast determination and courage that was the foundation of the struggle to achieve equal education and opportunities for Black students.

A Digital Collection Celebrating the Founding of the Historically Black College and University is a collection of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. It includes several thousand scanned pages and represents HBCU libraries first collaborative effort to make a historic collection digitially available. Collections are contributed from member libraries of the Historically Black College and University Library Alliance.
The collection includes photographs, university correspondence, manuscripts, images of campus buildings, alumni letters, memorabilia, and programs from campus events.
These images present HBCUs as cultural, social, and political institutions from the early 1800s until today.

The HBCU Affordable Learning Community is building a collection of free and open educational resources to support faculty and students teaching and learning in Africana, African American, and Black Studies programs as well as bringing the Africana, African American, and Black Studies content and context into all disciplines. We know the topic areas within the collection will expand over time with the participation and leadership of the HBCU community.

In recognition of the significance and preservation needs of collections held by Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation provided grant funding to support a series of three HBCU Preservation Projects. These projects have been administered by LYRASIS in partnership with the HBCU Library Alliance, the Art Conservation Department at the University of Delaware, the Conservation Center for Art and Historic Artifacts, and the Image Permanence Institute.
These three projects have focused primarily on photographic and audiovisual collections. They have provided support for the repair and re-housing of materials, reformatting of selected items, preservation training for staff, summer internships, and environmental monitoring of collection areas.