Library Research Guides: * Exercise Science &amp; Physical Education: Home

Finding Sources

Below you'll find a selection of resources you can use for your physical education and exercise science. Georgia Gwinnett College offers the B achelor of Exercise Science degree with concentrations in the following areas: Clinical and Health Promotion. This guide will present a few sources for each concentration.

Use the tabs to navigate to databases, streaming media, DVDs, trade publications, scholarly journals, books, and freely available Web resources.

Unsure how to begin your research? Follow the link below to access numerous tutorials to help you develop your search strategy for library resources.

Videos: Research Process Quick Tips by CREDO

Also view these research guides: Database Tutorials and Tutorials.

Best Bets: Exercise Science Databases

SPORTDiscus with FullText This link opens in a new window Full text of sports & sports medicine journals.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window This database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works.
GALE OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Alt HealthWatchfocuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full-text content comes from more than 180 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) [OA] PEDro is a free database of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
PubMed (OA)

BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window A collection of the full texts of bioscience research journals, published mostly by small societies and non-commercial publishers in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams
Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community.

Sports Psychology, Health Sciences, & Multidisciplinary Databases
All Exercise Science Databases @GGC
A-Z Databases
Search the A-Z Databases list to find the best library databases for your research.
All Database Tutorials

Consider adding the following to your seach to delete the type of peer-reveiwed articles that you do not need:

NOT ( literature review or review of the literature or overview or systematic review or meta analysis or case study or editorial or review or brief report)

Get Things Done at Kaufman Library

Get in-person research help

You can sit down with a Reference Librarian anytime we are open. Just come to the Information Desk!
You can schedule a research consultation using the Ask a Librarian form.

Get online help

Chat With A Librarian
by text message
Ask a Librarian
by email

You can now reserve study rooms online!

Kaufman Library Study Room Reservations
Click here to reserve a study room.

Check out all this stuff you can check out!

Technology Lending
Body parts? We prefer "anatomy models"

Liaison Librarian:

David Minchew

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Kaufman Library

dminchew@ggc.edu

Research:

Reference Desk

(678) 407-5064

Library 2nd floor

Computers, printers, software:

Info Commons Help Desk

(678) 407-5422

Library 1st floor

Chat With a Librarian
by text message
Ask a Librarian
by email

* Exercise Science & Physical Education

Exercise Science & Physical Education Liaison

Finding Sources

Best Bets: Exercise Science Databases

Consider adding the following to your seach to delete the type of peer-reveiwed articles that you do not need:

NOT ( literature review or review of the literature or overview or systematic review or meta analysis or case study or editorial or review or brief report)

Get Things Done at Kaufman Library