* Human Services Resource Guide

A publicly available, searchable, data resource that aims to increase the transparency, reproducibility and translatability of preclinical efficacy studies of candidate therapeutics for Alzheimer’s disease.

A longitudinal panel study that surveys a representative sample of more than 26,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years. the HRS explores the changes in labor force participation and the health transitions that individuals undergo toward the end of their work lives and in the years that follow.

A national sample of continental U.S. residents, aged 25 to 74, who were first interviewed in 1995-96.

This website provides researchers access to data, documentation and other resources for the National Health and Aging Trends Study (NHATS) and the National Study of Caregiving (NSOC).

NIA, one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of NIH, leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active years of life. NIA is the primary Federal agency supporting and conducting Alzheimer's disease research.

a longitudinal, population-based study of health and social factors, aiming to understand the well-being of older, community-dwelling Americans by examining the interactions among physical health and illness, medication use, cognitive function, emotional health, sensory function, health behaviors, social connectedness, sexuality, and relationship quality.

The U.S. population is aging. Today, there are more than 46 million older adults age 65 and older living in the U.S.; by 2050, that number is expected to grow to almost 90 million. Between 2020 and 2030 alone, the time the last of the baby boom cohorts reach age 65, the number of older adults is projected to increase by almost 18 million. This means by 2030, 1 in 5 Americans is projected to be 65 years old and over.

Population Reference Bureau’s Population Bulletin, “Aging in the United States,” examines recent trends and disparities among adults ages 65 and older, and how baby boomers born between 1946 and 1964 are reshaping America’s older population.

The U.S. population is aging. To better understand the increase in the size and proportion of the older
population in our society, it is important to know why the population is aging and what we can anticipate
in the future. How the United States compares with other countries puts its aging in a broader global
perspective. Answers to these questions can help policy makers, the private sector, and individuals better prepare for the challenges and opportunities from population aging.

In 2019, there were 54.1 million Americans age 65 and over and 6.5 million age 85 and over. The population age 65 and older is expected to increase to 94.7 million in 2060. The population age 85 and older is expected to more than double to 19 million during the same period. Among the population age 65 and over, there were 125 women for every 100 men. At age 85 and over, this ratio increased to 184 women for every 100 men.

This page provides information on minority older adults in the U.S. to include: African American, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, and Hispanic Americans age 65+.

This report provides the latest data on the 40 key indicators selected by the Forum to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into six subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, health care, and environment.

FastStats

The Profile of Older Americans is an annual summary of critical statistics related to the older population in the United States. Relying primarily on data offered by the U.S. Census Bureau, the Profile illustrates the shifting demographics of Americans age 65 and older. It includes key topic areas such as income, living arrangements, education, health, and caregiving. The 2020 Profile includes special sections on COVID-19 and mental health.

Learn about solutions to help older Georgians live safely, healthily and independently in their homes and communities.

Socioeconomic status (SES) encompasses not just income but also educational attainment, financial security, and subjective perceptions of social status and social class. Socioeconomic status can encompass quality of life attributes as well as the opportunities and privileges afforded to people within society. Poverty, specifically, is not a single factor but rather is characterized by multiple physical and psychosocial stressors. Further, SES is a consistent and reliable predictor of a vast array of outcomes across the life span, including physical and psychological health. Thus, SES is relevant to all realms of behavioral and social science, including research, practice, education and advocacy.

Lower socioeconomic status (SES) is a determinant of many of the health problems that emerge at older ages. The extent to which lower SES is associated with faster decline in age-related functions and phenotypes independently of health conditions is less clear. This study demonstrates that lower SES (defined by wealth) is related to accelerated decline over 6 to 8 y in 16 outcomes from physical, sensory, physiological, cognitive, emotional, and social domains, independently of diagnosed health conditions, self-rated health, education, and other factors. It provides evidence for the pervasive role of social circumstances on core aging processes and suggests that less affluent sectors of society age more rapidly than more privileged groups.

Refereed/Peer-reviewed
Description based on: Vol. 6, no. 1 (2018); title from pdf front matter (jstor.org website, viewed July 9, 2018).
Latest issue consulted: Vol. 6, no. 1 (2018) (viewed July 9, 2018).

Galileo Bento Box for Social Work

Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Vol. 14, issue 1 (Feb. 1, 1997); title from pdf image of cover on journal homepage (publisher's Web site, viewed July 9, 2004).
Vol. 36, issue 4 (August 2019), (Springer Link, viewed August 2, 2019).

Social service -- Periodicals
Social Work, Psychiatric
Social service.

Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Journal of the National Association of Social Workers.
Vol. 1, no. 1 (Feb. 1976); title from PDF article running title (Periodicals archive online, viewed March 6, 2012).
Vol. 36, no. 4 (Nov. 2011) (Oxford journals, viewed March 6, 2012).

Ongoing Studies and data-related publications

Refereed/Peer-reviewed
Volume 1, issue 1 (2004) title from journal home page (Taylor & Francis Online, viewed October 18, 2021).
Volume 16, issue 4 (2019) (viewed October 18, 2021).

Online version published six times per year, whereas print ed. published twice a year in July and Dec.
Volume 16, issue 1 (2019); title from journal information page (T & F Online website, viewed on July 18, 2019).
Volume 17, issue 5 (2020) (Taylor & Francis Online, viewed October 14, 2020).

A collection of films about counseling

A collection of short films addressing psychotherapy

Publisher: Newstex

Refereed/Peer-reviewed
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Vol. 19, no. 1 (Feb. 2000); title from journal information screen (viewed Aug. 30, 2000).
Vol. 37, issue 4 (2018) (Taylor & Francis Online viewed May 3, 2018).

Washington, DC : National Association of Social Workers
2012- : Oxford : Oxford University Press