Skip to Main Content

* eBook Collections

Subscribed eBook Collections

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.

Oxford English Dictionary Video Tutorials
OED Tutorials via OED on YouTube
OED: Glossary of grammatical terms
This glossary provides explanations of the meanings of grammatical terms as they are used in the OED, with examples from the dictionary.
OED Getting Started Guides
OED How-to Fact Sheet
OED: The OED tabbed entry display
OED Birthday Word Generator
OED: Getting started resources in other languages

Oxford English Dictionary Video Tutorials

Getting started
Finding the help section See where the help section is located on the public pages, and how to get in contact with the OED team for further assistance.
OED how-to guides: site navigation
OED: Advanced search
OED: Searching the Historical Thesaurus
OED: Entry display and navigation
OED : How to create a personal account ×

OED guide: site navigation

OED How-to guide Home Page Navigation - PDF

OED how-to guides: searching the OED - quick search

Searching the OED: quick search -.PDF

OED: Searching the OED: Advanced search

Searching the OED: advanced search – PDF

OED: Searching the Historical Thesaurus

Searching the Historical Thesaurus of the OED – PDF

OED: Entry display and navigation

OED entry display and navigation – PDF

OED guide: how to create a personal account

Creating and managing a personal OED account – PDF