Library Research Guides: Gender &amp; Sexuality Studies: Databases

Reference Sources (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.)

Credo Reference Online
Online reference covering many topics, including Women's Studies, Gender & Sexuality Studies, Sociology, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Browse through subjects including Multicultural Studies, Social Science, and more.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. It provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.
Facts on File World News Digest
An archival record of domestic and international news updated weekly. Covers topics including LGBT Rights, Sexual Assault & Harassment, Human Rights, Poverty & Income Inequality, and more.
Academic OneFile
A comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Covers topics including Love & Interpersonal Attraction, Sexual Orientation, Gay & Lesbian Rights, Affirmative Action, Incarceration of Women, and more.
CQ Electronic Library
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
Diversity Collection provides a global view of some of the biggest topics in diversity, equity, and inclusion. It focuses on ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, and journals, news and newsletters focusing on gender and sexuality. The collection aims to bring out dissenting and minority voices to support research and teaching in women’s studies, lgbtq studies, ethnic studies, and more.
GALE OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 full-text journals. Coverage begins in 1980. Full text available.

Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources. Index Terms include Interpersonal Relations, Sex Discrimination, Family Benefits, and more.