Finding Articles in Databases - EXSC 3250 - Wludyga - Library Research Guides at Georgia Gwinnett College

Original /Empirical /Primary Research Article Tip

If your assignment requires Original /Empirical /Primary Research, consider using the Advanced Search feature of the selected database and add the following key terms to your search to delete the type of peer-reveiwed articles that you do not need:

NOT ( literature review or review of the literature or overview or systematic review or meta analysis or case study or review or editorial )

Tips to find a Theoretical Framework article

Using the Advanced Search feature of the selected database add these key terms to find theoretical framework articles:

(a). AND ( framework or model or theory )

(b). AND ( theoretical framework or conceptual framework )

If your assignment requires Original /Empirical /Primary Research, consider using the Advanced Search feature of the selected database and add the following key terms to your search to delete the type of peer-reveiwed articles that you do not need:

NOT ( literature review or review of the literature or overview or systematic review or meta analysis or case study )

Exercise Science and Sports Psychology Resources

Featured Exercise Science and Sports Psychology Resources

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
PEDro is a free database of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

PsycArticles® (APA) This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PsycInfo® (APA) This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo®, American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts and scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress) includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Coverage includes the assessment, description, prevention, or treatment of any psychiatric disorder; the preparation or provision of mental health services to a traumatized population or a population at risk of experiencing traumatic events, and issues of professional ethics, scientific methodology, or public policy relating to traumatized populations.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works.
SPORTDiscus with FullText This link opens in a new window
Full text of sports & sports medicine journals.

A-Z Databases
Search the A-Z Databases list to find the best library databases for your research.
All Exercise Science Databases @GGC

Food & Nutrition Databases

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 4.8 million bibliographic citations of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library from 1970 to the present
GALE OneFile: Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window
Culinary Arts Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
GALE OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Researchers will have access to current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields. In addition, more than 30 Delmar titles provide in-depth coverage on a variety of agriculture-related topics.

Health Sciences Databases

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the world's largest source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, and provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Public Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works.
Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Alt HealthWatchfocuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full-text content comes from more than 180 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams
GALE Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Gale Health and Wellness offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
GALE OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
Health and Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines.

PLOS Medicine
An influential venue for research and commentary on the major challenges to human health worldwide, PLOS Medicine publishes articles of general interest on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of health. The journal emphasizes work that advances clinical practice, health policy or pathophysiological understanding to benefit health in a variety of settings.
Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Search by PICO.
more...less...
Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search.
Health Poll Database