The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by
What in the world is an acid test ratio, and what does chemistry have to do with anything? How can you talk about your chase demand strategy, per request of the board, if you have no idea what they're talking about? The business world today consists of a constantly growing range of terminology that not even the brightest and most confident MBA graduates can improvise their way through without a thorough understanding of what they're talking about. The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management is your one-stop reference guide to learning this array of terminology so you can impress your bosses and intimidate your peers.Prepared by a noted encyclopedist, this invaluable, one-of-a-kind resource covers a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business. The book explains accounting rules, legal terminology, slang and buzzwords, acronyms, management theories, historical figures, economic concepts, performance metrics, and more--all the crucial ideas that have transformed business practices and management science in the past 25 years.With the clear, authoritative explanations of more than 6,000 key business terms--including thousands of technical terms omitted from even premiere unabridged dictionaries--as well as longer entries for ideas needing more elaborate explanations, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management supplies the depth and clarity needed to better understand the expansive and complex business world of the twenty-first century.
Business Report Guides by
This book offers tactics for creating business plans as well as research reports. Readers will find guides for planning research projects; writing proposals; identifying major findings; drawing conclusions; and using them to recommend appropriate actions-along with citing sources, numbering pages, and displaying visuals. The book examines business plans-why entrepreneurs need them, the objectives and contents of business plans, and how-to guides for each part. Business Report Guides can be your go-to source for years to come. Reading through it in a couple of hours, you can gain information for immediate use. Keep it handy and refer to it often when reporting research or when planning a new business or altering an existing one.
Business Writing for Dummies by
Learn how to write for the results you want every time, in every medium! Do you wish you could write better? In today's business world, good writing is key to success in just about every endeavor. Writing is how you connect with colleagues, supervisors, clients, partners, employees, and people you've never met. No wonder strong writers win the jobs, promotions and contracts. Business Writing For Dummies shows you, from the ground up, how to create persuasive messages with the right content and language every time--messages your readers will understand and act on. This friendly guide equips you with a step-by-step method for planning what to say and how to say it in writing. This sytem empowers you to handle every writing challenge with confidence, from emails to proposals, reports to resumes, presentations to video scripts, blogs to social posts, websites to books. Discover down-to-earth techniques for sharpening your language and correcting your own writing problems. Learn how to adapt content, tone and style for each medium and audience. And learn to use every message you write to build better relationships and solve problems, while getting to the "yes" you want. Whether you're aiming to land your first job or are an experienced specialist in your field, Business Writing For Dummies helps you build your communication confidence and stand out. Present yourself with authority and credibility Understand and use the tools of persuasion Communicate as a remote worker, freelancer, consultant or entrepreneur Strategize your online presence to support your goals Bring out the best in people and foster team spirit as a leader Prepare to ace interviews, pitches and confrontations Good communication skills, particularly writing, are in high demand across all industries. Use this book to gain the edge you need to promote your own success, now and down the line as your career goals evolve.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. They cover new applications and developments, such as the incorporation of Neuroscience techniques in advertising and marketing. Other updates include Cyber-bullying, Twitter scandals, conduct in media organizations, on-line lobbying, global protesting/petitioning, and gender issues relating to social media in general. While new entries explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years, the purpose of this new edition is not necessarily to keep abreast of every new media event but to reflect the trends that influence and prompt such events, such as the Leveson Inquiry and Report and phone hacking via mobile phones. Politics seems to be playing out more on Twitter than in The Times. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
Email Essentials by
Reading, writing and managing e-mail is taking up an increasing amount of our time. But are we using it right? Just as body language helps you to make an impression in person, what you write and how you write it affects what people think of you and your organisation. Be it a thank you note, a meeting reminder, a proposal or a sales pitch, a well-written message that looks and sounds professional will make it easier for people to want to do business with you. It will help people feel good about communicating with you and help you achieve the right results.This invaluable guide offers step-by-step pointers that readers can put into practice right away. The highlight of the book is a series of 10 model email templates, covering scenarios like requests for information, conveying bad news, complaints and sales prospecting. These are explained and analysed to show what makes them simple yet effective.
Producing Written and Oral Business Reports by
Producing Written and Oral Business Reports: Formatting, Illustrating, and Presenting emphasizes cost-effective methods for producing reports that will do what you want them to do. Numerous examples, helpful illustrations, concise writing style, and convenient checklists let you acquire vital information rapidly. Producing Written and Oral Business Reports is a how-to guide for report creation throughout your career!
Style Guide for Business Writing by
Style guides come in many shapes and sizes, usually focused toward scientific or academic use only. However, business writing is a space occupied by many individuals that has not been given the attention it deserves. The Style Guide for Business Writing, Second Edition, is designed specifically to assist business writers in both the public and private sector, including those publishing with English as a second language; authors of academic papers; business book authors; financial journalists; and writers of reports, proposals or even just e-mail and memoranda. This book provides a comprehensive guide to clear and precise writing that will help develop basic communication skills for the beginner, and refresh the basics for the experienced business writer. Major topics are arranged alphabetically and the cross references and index enable quick and easy access to information. Michael C. Thomsett is a market expert, author, speaker, and coach. His many books include Stock Market Math, Candlestick Charting, The Mathematics of Options, and A Technical Approach to Trend Analysis.
Zen and the Art of Business Communication by
In today's online world, our professional image depends on our ability to communicate. Whether we're communicating by email, text, social media, written reports or presentations, how we use our words often determines how others view us. This book offers tips and techniques that can improve anyone's professional image. The author covers how to analyze multiple audiences and strategies for communicating your message effectively for each; structuring your message for greatest readability and effect; persuasion and tone; and how to face your own fears of writing. The content is delivered in a simple, clear style that reflects the Zen approach of the title, perfect for both the entry-level employee and the seasoned executive.