Library Research Guides: FILM 3380 Film Authorship: Cronenberg (Rusnak): Find Sources

Resources

Kaufman Library provides access to many trade publications and journals both individually and through our databases that can help with your cinema and media arts research. In addition to the those highlighted below, you can access our full list of electronic journals using the link below. Search for the magazine/journal title in the search box at the top of the page.

Electronic journals

Cinema and Media Arts Trade Publications

Variety
A business-to-business magazine for the entertainment industry. Covers the worldwide media and entertainment marketplace, including the major entertainment centers - Los Angeles, New York, London, Paris, Tokyo, and Rome. Features the most current news, box office reports, and film and television production charts.
Advertising Age
Articles on national and international marketing, news about individuals in advertising, statistics on advertising and special reports.
Hollywood Reporter
A daily trade news source for the entertainment industry. Provides news coverage and information on all aspects of the industry, including film, television, music, video games, and awards. Includes industry news, profiles and interviews, and feature articles.
Hollywood Scriptwriter
Trade magazine for scriptwriters, producers, and directors
Entertainment Weekly
Weekly information on the entertainment industry featuring television programming, motion pictures, videos, new albums, entertainment for children and book reviews.
Film Journal International
Monthly trades magazine publishing reviews of major and independent film release, profiles of filmmakers and industry executives, articles on industry trends and new technologies, construction and design, theatre sound, equipment and concessions.
Film Comment
Features articles on narrative, documentary and independent film makers, filmography, film criticism and book reviews.
Millennium Film Journal
Publishes articles about independent, experimental, and avant-garde cinema, video, and film works using digital technologies.
Video Age International
Video Age International is a trade magazine for film, TV, cable, pay-TV, homevideo, DBS, and production.
Sight & Sound
A publication of the British Film Institute. Feature articles and interviews on recent motion pictures, notes on festivals, book reviews and film and video reviews.

Cinema and Media Arts Journals

Film History : An International Journal
Publication covering motion picture historiography.
Film & History
Studies how history is being shaped by media & how media are being shaped by history. Examines the evolution of genre over time & how the changes in genre formulas are affected by contemporary pressures. Reviews relevant books, films & TV specials.
Film Criticism
Writing from a new generation of film historians, theorists, and critics representing many different disciplines, cultures, and critical perspectives.
Science Fiction Film and Television
Science Fiction Film and Television is a biannual, peer-reviewed journal published by Liverpool University Press. It encourages dialogue among the scholarly and intellectual communities of film studies, sf studies and television studies.
Jewish Film & New Media
Jewish Film & New Media provides an outlet for research into any aspect of Jewish film, television, and new media and is unique in its interdisciplinary nature, exploring the rich and diverse cultural heritage across the globe. The journal is distinctive in bringing together a range of cinemas, televisions, films, programs, and other digital material in one volume and in its positioning of the discussions within a range of contexts—the cultural, historical, textual, and many others.
Post Script
An academic journal that presents original manuscripts on film. Subjects covered include film as language and literature, film as visual art, film and photography, film music, and acting. Essays included focus on the study of film as it relates to the humanities.
The Velvet Light Trap
The Velvet Light Trap is a journal devoted to investigating historical questions that illuminate the understanding of film and other media. While VLT maintains its traditional commitment to the study of American film, it also expands its scope to television and other media, to adjacent institutions, and to other nations' media.
Journal of Film & Video
Focuses on scholarship in the fields of film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics. Article features include film and related media, problems of education in these fields, and the function of film and video in society.
Journal of Popular Film and Television
Articles dedicated to popular film and television in the broadest sense. Concentration on commercial cinema and television, theory/criticism, interviews, filmographies, bibliographies, stars, directors, producers, studios and networks.
Journal of Cinema and Media Studies (formerly Cinema Journal)
JCMS: Journal of Cinema and Media Studies is the peer-reviewed, scholarly publication of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS). JCMS's basic mission is to foster engaged debate and rigorous thinking among humanities scholars of film, television, digital media, and other audiovisual technologies.

Kaufman Library provides access to many databases that can help with your cinema media arts research. In addition to the those highlighted below, you can access our full list of databases using our Databases A-Z list (link below).

GGC Databases A-Z
Search by title and subject from 169 Databases.

Cinema and Media Arts Databases

Film & Television Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
GALE in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
GALE OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film-making. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

Multidisciplinary Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Full text research database that serves multiple disciplines.
Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
GALE Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
GALE OneFile: Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
Communications and Mass Media Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
GALE OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Popular Culture Studies provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Multidisciplinary Reference

Credo Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text online reference service.

Kaufman Library provides access to many streaming media resources and DVDs that can help with your cinema and media arts projects and research.

Streaming Media

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 14,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 85,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Video titles in humanities, social sciences, world languages, business, economics, health, and science.
SWANK Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus. Each year, GGC provides access to a select number of feature films.

DVDs

Search the entire Kaufman Library collection using the link below. Once you've entered a search term, you can narrow your search by type/format of material (book, visual, etc.), creation date, location, language, and more.

Kaufman Library Catalog (GIL-Find)
Search Kaufman Library's entire collection of materials. Find books, e-Books, DVDs, streaming media, journals, databases, and more.

Library Catalog Searches of DVDs by Genre

Below you will find links to searches of the Kaufman Library DVD collection by a variety of genres. If needed, you'll be able to edit the search (limit by date, etc.) once you enter the library catalog via the links provided.

Books

Kaufman Library Catalog (GIL-Find)
Search Kaufman Library's entire collection of materials. Find books, e-Books, DVDs, streaming media, journals, databases, and more.

Library Catalog Searches of Books by Genre

The link below will take you directly to books focused on a variety of topics related to cinema and media arts production in the Kaufman Library collection. You'll also be able to edit the search (limit by date, eBook vs. physical book, and more).

eBook Collections

You can also search our eBook collections directly instead of through the library catalog. Below are links to our eBook platforms.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eBook titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of their community of researchers.
Cambridge Core eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to over 40,000 eBooks published by Cambridge University Press.
University of Michigan Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
University of Michigan Press is a leading publisher and distributor of books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences that are aligned with the strengths of its parent institution. Areas of particular focus are performing arts; classical studies; political science; American studies (especially disability and class studies); Asian and African studies. The Press makes most books available electronically and provides direct access to libraries through its own publishing platform, Fulcrum.

Cinema and Media Arts Resources on the Web

The resources in this section are freely available on the Web.

IMDB
IMDb includes movie, TV and celebrity content with a searchable database of more than 250 million data items including more than 4 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and 8 million cast and crew members.
Box Office Mojo
Box Office Mojo tracks box office revenue in a systematic, algorithmic way. The website is widely used within the film industry as a source of data.
RogerEbert.com
This site provides movie criticism, commentary and community and contains a collection of more than four decades’ worth of content written by Roger and his handpicked team of collaborators in searchable and explorable format.
Taste of Cinema
This site makes essential film lists introducing the best films from different filmmakers, countries, genres and eras, these in-depth lists not only serve as guides to good movies, but also give a bigger picture and thorough understanding of the film culture about a certain country, genre or cinema movement.
David Bordwell - Observations on Film Art
UbuWeb
UbuWeb is a source for all things avant-garde on the internet.
Lantern: Media History Digital Library
Lantern is the search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access initiative led by Eric Hoyt and the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research. The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.