Below you'll find a selection of resources you can use for your cinema and media arts research. Use the tabs to navigate to databases, streaming media, DVDs, trade publications, scholarly journals, books, and freely available Web resources.
Unsure how to begin your research? Follow the link below to access numerous tutorials to help you develop your search strategy for library resources.
Kaufman Library provides access to many trade publications and journals both individually and through our databases that can help with your cinema and media arts research. In addition to the those highlighted below, you can access our full list of electronic journals using the link below. Search for the magazine/journal title in the search box at the top of the page.
Cinema and Media Arts Trade Publications
Cinema and Media Arts Journals
Kaufman Library provides access to many databases that can help with your cinema media arts research. In addition to the those highlighted below, you can access our full list of databases using our Databases A-Z list (link below).
Cinema and Media Arts Databases
Multidisciplinary Databases
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Gale OneFile: Popular Culture Studies provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Multidisciplinary Reference
Kaufman Library provides access to many streaming media resources and DVDs that can help with your cinema and media arts projects and research.
Streaming Media
Access to more than 14,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies.
Video titles in humanities, social sciences, world languages, business, economics, health, and science.
DVDs
Search the entire Kaufman Library collection using the link below. Once you've entered a search term, you can narrow your search by type/format of material (book, visual, etc.), creation date, location, language, and more.
Library Catalog Searches of DVDs by Genre
Below you will find links to searches of the Kaufman Library DVD collection by a variety of genres. If needed, you'll be able to edit the search (limit by date, etc.) once you enter the library catalog via the links provided.
Books
Search the entire Kaufman Library collection using the link below. Once you've entered a search term, you can narrow your search by type/format of material (book, visual, etc.), creation date, location, language, and more.
Library Catalog Searches of Books by Genre
The link below will take you directly to books focused on a variety of topics related to cinema and media arts production in the Kaufman Library collection. You'll also be able to edit the search (limit by date, eBook vs. physical book, and more).
eBook Collections
You can also search our eBook collections directly instead of through the library catalog. Below are links to our eBook platforms.
Access to over 40,000 eBooks published by Cambridge University Press.
Cinema and Media Arts Resources on the Web
The resources in this section are freely available on the Web.