Library Research Guides: * SOE Resources: Find Sources

Research subscription databases, the library catalog, or the web. Click tabs below.

Check out these Databases to find key terms for your topic and identify important people, organizations, and points of view.

Kaufman Library provides access to many databases that can help with your research. In addition to those highlighted below, you can access our full list of databases using our Database A-Z list (link below).

A-Z Databases
GGC Databases A-Z: Search by title and subject from 175 Databases.

Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of education and educational research.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Child Development & Adolescent Studies provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 .
GALE OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.
GALE Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Full text research database that serves multiple disciplines.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Multidisciplinary Reference

Credo Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text online reference service.

Books

The links below take you directly to books focused on a variety of topics related to Education in the Kaufman Library collection. You'll also be able to edit the search (limit by publication date, eBook vs. physical and more)

Search the entire Kaufman Library collection using the link below. Once you've entered a search term, you can narrow your search by type/format of material (book, visual, etc.), creation date, location, language, and more.

GIL-Find @ GGC
Kaufman Library Catalog

eBook Collections

You can also search our eBook collection directly instead of through the library catalog. Below are links to our eBook platforms.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eBook titles
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of their community of researchers.

Want helpful information on how to access eBooks? Check out the Libguide below.

* eBook Collections
by Dana Johnson Last Updated Mar 8, 2024 1046 views this year

Kaufman Library provides access to many trade publications and journals both individually and through our databases that can help with your Education research. In addition to those highlighted below, you can access our full list of electronic journals using the "Search for Journals" link below.

Search for Journals
Know the title of the Journal you are searching for? CLICK here to begin search..

Several journals which address issues related to education practices are highlighted below:

Kaufman Library provides access to many streaming media resources and DVDs that can help with your projects and research.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Video titles in humanities, social sciences, world languages, business, economics, health, and science.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 14,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies.

See "Google" and "Google Scholar" boxes on LEFT for tips on searching.

Google
Search the web for open access resources.
Google Scholar
Search the web for open access scholarly resources.
Wikipedia
Yes, Wikipedia. Get the basics on what your topic is all about. (But take what you find with a grain of salt...)