Library Research Guides: * Psychology Resources: Resources

Resources

PsycINFO - This database is the American Psychological Association's (APA) key resource for indexing and abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Search Tips Chart. How to Search .

Other useful databases (Searchable collections of records describing a source by title, author, subject and keyword with links to the article or publication).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Child Development & Adolescent Studies provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 .
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of education and educational research. Includes educational psychology.
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
GALE Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text information about and reviews of over 2,000 commercially available English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. All entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
PsycArticles® (APA) This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PsycInfo® (APA) This link opens in a new window
A BEST BET! Start Here. APA PsycInfo®, American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress) includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Coverage includes the assessment, description, prevention, or treatment of any psychiatric disorder; the preparation or provision of mental health services to a traumatized population or a population at risk of experiencing traumatic events, and issues of professional ethics, scientific methodology, or public policy relating to traumatized populations.

Psychology Journals - .Browse titles of journals (published monthly, quarterly, etc...) and scan tables of contents. Use PsycInfo to search all (most) psychology journals by topic.	Encyclopedias - Do you need to know more about a topic before you begin deeper research? Start with specialized encyclopedias. Use Credo to search by topic.	Psychology Annuals - Browse titles of annuals (published yearly) and scan tables of contents. Use PsycInfo to search annuals by topic. Annual Reviews can be searched as well.


ScienceDirect - Browse titles, search by topic. Springer Link - Browse titles, search by topic. JStor - Browse titles, search by topic.		Annual Reviews

What?

Where?

How?

Gil - Find

___________________

Online Example

Movie: Locating E-Books in Kaufman Library

Gil - Find

___________________

On the Shelf Example

Search Tips:

Use the drop down menus to search for Author, Title, or Subject.
For keyword searching: Use quotes to search for phrases: "educational psychology"
Use an * for alternate endings and spellings:
- eating disorder* will find disorder or disorders
- psycholog* will find psychology, psychologist, psychologists, psychological
Use AND, OR and NOT to join terms:
- teen* AND eating disorder*
- (women OR female*) AND (eating disorder*)
- learning theor* AND psycholog*

eBook Central

Ebsco Ebook Collection

Virtual/Online

Movie: Locating E-Books in Kaufman Library

The American Psychological Association is the leading scientific and professional organization for psychology in the United States. You may join as a student.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The Occupational Outlook Handbook includes career overviews, salary ranges and job outlooks in most careers, including psychology.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Additional Associations

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Find A Job

Career Exploration

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that are free of cost and contain a legal framework that gives permission for open use in teaching, learning and research. Unlike a non-vetted free website or a pricey subscription database, OER's are scholarly, free of cost, and have open access.

University System of Georgia OER's via GALILEO

Textbooks	Online Labs, Images & Demonstrations	Additional Teaching & Learning Resources
MERLOT	Online Psychology Lab Open Access Biomedical Images (Open I)	Statistics, Data and Writing Reports Research Methods
Psychology Textbooks	Memory and Cognition Demonstrations	Animations for Teaching (Allow Flash) Go Cognitive Social Psychology The Brain From Top To Bottom
Open Textbook	Psychology Textbooks and More

More Affordable Educational Resources: GGC Library Guide to Open Educational Resources

If you want to try searching on your own, the box below allows you to directly search OASIS, a tool to help locate OER's.