* History Resources

Selected legal, financial, and promotional documents as well as photographs and picture postcards that represent episodes of renewed interest in gold mining in Lumpkin County during Reconstruction, at the turn of the century, and during the Depression.

Activities of the ATFA document the interconnection of land use and environmental stewardship to the broader issues and policies of modern Georgia's rural development.

Contains images of the 61 albumen prints found in early American photographer George N. Barnard's 1866 Photographic Views of Sherman's Campaign. Barnard accompanied Sherman's Army during the "March to the Sea" in November and December, 1864.

Letters, affidavits, reports and a newspaper clipping relating to a violent episode in Camilla, Georgia. The incident occurred on September 19, 1868 when freedmen, together with Republicans W.P. Pierce, John Murphy and F.F. Putney attempted to hold a political rally, and were met with opposition from the white townspeople of Camilla.

A central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL).

The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia’s Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use and includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986.

Access to primary resources that offer Southern perspectives of events in American history. Documents, images, and audio files aid research in Southern history, literature, and culture.

Documents including letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.

Provides online access to a historical film depicting the extensive damage from the severe multi-funnel tornado strike that devastated Gainesville, Georgia, on April 6, 1936.

Digital tours, recommended readings, and extras- New Horizons: Immigration to Historic Savannah; A Seat at the Table: A Social History of Savannah Foodways; Savannah’s Pride: LGBTQ Legacies and Lore; The Phoenix City; and Method

Early and seminal works on Georgia's history and culture

The AAPB is an initiative to digitally preserve and make accessible public radio and television programming, ensuring its collection, management, preservation, and access.

A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Links to primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.

Data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government, adding value to each text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

Provides online access to high-quality art images from around the world contributed and described by leading museums, all rights-cleared for educational use.

Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.

Experience the past through thousands of private writings and personal narratives.

Includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, population, and more.

WHIC offers a broad collection of scholarly analysis and award-winning full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents.