Library Research Guides: Biology Resources: Find Sources

Finding Sources

Below you'll find a selection of resources you can use for your biology research. Use the tabs to navigate to databases, streaming media, DVDs, scholarly journals, books, ebooks, and freely available Web resources.

Unsure how to begin your research? Follow the link below to access numerous tutorials to help you develop your search strategy for library resources.

Search Strategies for Electronic Resources

Resources

Kaufman Library provides access to many databases that can help with your biology research. In addition to the those highlighted below, you can access our full list of databases using our Databases A-Z list at the bottom of this page.

Biology Databases

Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of the full texts of bioscience research journals, published mostly by small societies and non-commercial publishers in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
GALE Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Human Anatomy, an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research.
Biology: The eSkeletons Project This link opens in a new window
The eSkeletons Project is a website with digitized images and animations of human and primate skeletons for the study of comparative anatomy. Students can view regions of skeletons from any orientation as well as muscle and joint information. Browser plugins may be required for optimal viewing.
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 4.8 million bibliographic citations of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library from 1970 to the present
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index provides access to articles about gardens and plants, including topics such as horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
GALE Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

Medical/Nursing Databases

MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the world's largest source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, and provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.

Multidisciplinary Reference

Credo Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text online reference service.

GGC Databases A-Z

GGC Databases A-Z

Search Kaufman Library databases by title and subject

Kaufman Library provides access to many streaming media resources and DVDs that can help with your biology projects and research

Films on Demand

Video titles in humanities, social sciences, world languages, business, economics, health, and science.

Films on Demand Biology

A collection of video titles/segments about the topic of biology.

Academic Video Online

Delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Academic Video Online Biology

A collection of video titles/segments about the topic of biology.

Kanopy

Access to more than 26,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies.

Kanopy Biology

A collection of video titles/segments about the topic of biology.

Library Catalog Search of DVDs by Subject

Below you will find a link to a search of the Kaufman Library DVD collection for biology DVDs.. If needed, you'll be able to edit the search (limit by date, etc.) once you enter the library catalog via the link provided.

Biology DVDs

DVDs

Search the entire Kaufman Library collection using the link below. Once you've entered a search term, you can narrow your search by type/format of material (book, visual, etc.), creation date, location, language, and more.

Kaufman Library Catalog (GIL-Find)
Search Kaufman Library's entire collection of materials. Find books, e-Books, DVDs, streaming media, journals, databases, and more.

Library Catalog Searches of Books and eBooks by Subject

The links below will take you directly to books and ebooks focused on a variety of biology subjects in the Kaufman Library collection. You'll also be able to edit the search (limit by date, eBook vs. physical book, and more).

eBook Collections

You can also search our eBook collections directly instead of through the library catalog. Below are links to our eBook platforms.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Multidisciplinary eBook titles
eBook Central
Access over 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers

Books & eBooks

Kaufman Library Catalog (GIL-Find)
Search Kaufman Library's entire collection of materials. Find books, e-Books, DVDs, streaming media, journals, databases, and more.

Kaufman Library provides access to many journals and publications that can help with your biology research. In addition to those highlighted below, you can access our full list of electronic journals at the bottom of this page.

Biology Journals

These are just examples. You can search for whatever subject you need.

Other Biology Publications

Nature (Magazine)

Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
Science Magazine

Science seeks to publish those papers that are most influential in their fields or across fields and that will significantly advance scientific understanding. Selected papers should present novel and broadly important data, syntheses, or concepts. They should merit recognition by the wider scientific community and general public provided by publication in Science, beyond that provided by specialty journals.

Search for Journals

Electronic Journals