Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Development and Aging Services Resources

Find Sources

Below is a selection of resources for Human Development and Aging Services research. Use the tabs to navigate to databases (to search articles by topic), journals (an alphabetical list), academic reference books, books & e-books, career resources and freely available Human Development and Aging Services web resources.

 

Resources

                  

  • APA PsycINFO - This database is the American Psychological Association's (APA) key resource for indexing and abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.  
  • Search Tips Chart. How to Search. 

Other useful databases (Searchable collections of records describing a source by title, author, subject and keyword with links to the article or publication). 

Psychology Journals - .Browse titles of journals (published monthly, quarterly, etc...) and scan tables of contents. Use APA PsycInfo to search all (most) psychology journals by topic. 

Encyclopedias -  Do you need  to know more about a topic before you begin deeper research? Start with specialized encyclopedias. Use Credo to search by topic.

Psychology Annuals - Browse titles of annuals (published yearly) and scan tables of contents. Use APA PsycInfo to search annuals by topic. Annual Reviews can be searched as well.

  

ScienceDirect - Browse titles, search by topic.

Springer Link - Browse titles, search by topic.

JStor - Browse titles, search by topic.

 

Annual Reviews
     

 

 

What?  Where? How?

Gil - Find

GIL-Find catalog logo

___________________

The key resource for locating books,films and more in the Kaufman collection.

(Electronic books and on the shelves).

Online Example 

Movie:Locating  E-Books in Kaufman Library

Gil - Find

GIL-Find catalog logo

___________________

On the Shelf Example

Search Tips:

  • Use the drop down menus to search for Author, Title, or Subject.
  • For keyword searching:Use quotes to search for phrases: "educational gerontology"
  • Use an * for alternate endings and spellings:
    • eating disorder* will find disordeor disorders
    • gerontolog* will find gerontology, gerontologist, gerontologists, gerontological
  • Use AND, OR and NOT to join terms:
    • teen* AND eating disorder*
    • (women OR female*) AND (eating disorder*)         
    • learning theor* AND psycholog*

eBook Central

Ebsco Ebook Collection

 

Virtual

Virtual

Movie:Locating  E-Books in Kaufman Library

 

 

 

 

  • The American Psychological Association is the leading scientific and professional organization for psychology and its related careers in the United States. You may join as a student.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

  • The Occupational Outlook Handbook includes career overviews, salary ranges and job outlooks in most careers, including Human Development and Aging Services.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Additional Associations

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Find A Job

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that are free of cost and contain a legal framework that gives permission for open use in teaching, learning and research. Unlike a non-vetted free website or a pricey subscription database, OER's are scholarly, free of cost, and have open access.

Textbooks Online Labs, Images & Demonstrations Additional Teaching & Learning Resources

MERLOT

undefined

Online Psychology Lab 

Open Access Biomedical Images (Open I)

Statistics, Data and Writing Reports

Research Methods

Lumen Learning- Boundless Sociology

Textbooks on Aging

 

Memory and Cognition Demonstrations 

Animations for Teaching (Allow Flash)

Go Cognitive

Social Psychology

The Brain From Top To Bottom

More Affordable Educational Resources: GGC Library Guide to Open Educational Resources

If you want to try searching on your own, the box below allows you to directly search OASIS, a tool to help locate OER's.

The Milne Library at SUNY Geneseo developed OASIS, a tool that searches across multiple OER sites.