Library Research Guides: Statistical and Data Information: Historical Statistics

Recommended Database

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. more »
Subscription provided by the Georgia Gwinnett College Library.

Census Bureau - Historical Census Statistics istorical Census Statistics On Population Totals by Race, 1790 to 1990, and by Hispanic Origin, 1970 to 1990, For Large Cities And Other Urban Places In The United States
The Georgia Official and Statistical Register The Georgia Official and Statistical Register was published from 1923-1990 by the Georgia Archives. Considered an important reference work for historical research, the Register covers Georgia’s executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government, providing biographical sketches of elected and other state officials. Georgia members of U.S. Congress and federal judges are included, as are county officials and regents of the university system. The Register contains election returns, provides basic reference data on Georgia counties, and covers Georgia miscellany, such as the state flag, state flower, state song, rosters of Georgia governors, and legal holidays.

Recommended Websites

Eh.net - Economic History Association EH.Net provides an on-line location for researchers in economic history to make their data series available to other professionals and interested scholars
FRASER-Discover Economic History/Federal Reserve Designed to preserve and provide access to economic and banking data and policy documents.
Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts The Bureau of the Census provides a certain amount of historical census data from the 1790 population counts to the present. Most information is only available for certain years.
Historical Statistics of the United States, 1789 - 1957 A supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States; prepared by the Bureau of the Census with the cooperation of the Social Science Research Council.
IPUMS USA PUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.
Measuring Worth Provides to the public the highest quality and most reliable historical data on important economic aggregates, with particular emphasis on nominal (current-price) measures, as well as real (constant-price) measures. The data presented here on the United States, the United Kingdom and Australia, have been created using the highest standards of the fields of economics and history, and they were rigorously refereed by the most distinguished researchers in the fields.
US Dept of Labor - Bureau of Labor Statistics Historical Data from the "A" tables of the Employment Situation
US Dept of Labor - Bureau of Labor Statistics Historical data for the "B" tables of the Employment Situation.