Black Stats by Monique W. Morris; Khalil Gibran Muhammad (Introduction by)Amid the widespread spin and skewed analysis that is commonplace to media and politics alike, the need for less filtered information and more raw facts is more pressing than ever. Black Stats, a compact and useful guide, skips over the assumptions, suppositions and hypotheses about trends and patterns in American society and offers up-to-date figures on black life in the United States today.
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics by B. S. EverittIf you use statistics and need easy access to simple, reliable definitions and explanations of modern statistical concepts, then look no further than this dictionary. Over 3600 terms are defined, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational aspects. Entries are provided for standard and specialized statistical software. In addition, short biographies of over 100 important statisticians are given. Definitions provide enough mathematical detail to clarify concepts and give standard formulae when these are helpful. The majority of definitions then give a reference to a book or article where the user can seek further or more specialized information, and many are accompanied by graphical material to aid understanding.
Publication Date: 2006-08-17
The Historical Statistics of the United States by Richard Sutch (Editor); Susan B. Carter (Editor); Scott Sigmund Gartner (Editor); Michael R. Haines (Editor); Alan L. Olmstead (Editor); Gavin Wright (Editor)Long the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history, a new edition of Historical Statistics of the United States is something that reference librarians, historians, and social scientists have long awaited. Not since the Bicentennial Edition was published in 1975 has new data and material been available. At last, a sweeping, comprehensive, and thoroughly revised new edition is available; one that reflects thirty years of information and new scholarship. Utilizing information from the 2000 Census, this essential reference has been updated for the new Millennium providing rich materials for both contemporary and historical researchers. Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial Edition is a stunning achievement and a monumental work of collaborative scholarship providing a comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between. Over 80 scholars have contributed their efforts and expertise to select, assemble, and document the data, to write the introductory essays, and to analyze the material. To learn more about Historical Statistics of the United States, please visit the Historical Statistics of the United States website
Publication Date: 2006-01-30
OECD Factbook 2015-2016 by Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) StaffOECD Factbook 2015 is a comprehensive annual statistical publication. More than 100 indicators cover a wide range of areas: agriculture, economic production, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, industry, information and communications, international trade, labor force, population, taxation, public expenditure, and R&D. Data are provided for all OECD member countries (including area totals) and, when available and considered internationally comparable, for Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, the Russian Federation, and South Africa. Each indicator is given a two-page spread: the first page includes a short introduction followed by a detailed definition of the indicator, comments on comparability of the data, an assessment of long-term trends related to the indicator, and a list of references for further information on the indicator. The second page contains a table and a graph providing, at a glance, the key message conveyed by the data. Each indicator includes StatLinks, which allow readers to download the corresponding data.
Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Plunkett's InfoTech Industry Almanac 2016 by Jack W. Plunkett (Editor)Plunkett's InfoTech Industry Almanac presents a complete analysis of the technology business, including hardware, software, networks, computers, peripherals, services and global trade. This market research tool includes our analysis of the major trends affecting the industry, from the global PC and server market, to consumer and enterprise software, to super computers, open systems such as Linux, web services and network equipment. In addition, we provide major statistical tables covering the industry, from computer sector revenues, to broadband subscribers, to semiconductor industry production. No other source provides this book's easy-to-understand comparisons of growth, expenditures, technologies, imports/exports, corporations, research and other vital subjects. You get our in-depth profiles on the top 500 global InfoTech companies--objective analysis of the largest and most exciting companies in: Computer Hardware, Computer Software, Internet Services, E-Commerce, Networking, Semiconductors, Memory, Storage, Information Management and Data Processing. Our research effort includes an exhaustive study of new technologies and discussions with experts at dozens of innovative tech companies. Purchasers will find a form in the book enabling them to register for 1-year, 1-seat online access to tools at Plunkett Research Online, including the ability to view the market research/industry trends section and industry statistics. You have access, at no additional charge, to the very latest data posted to Plunkett Research Online. Online tools enable you to search and view selected companies, and then export selected company contact data, including executive names. You'll find a complete overview, industry analysis and market research report in one superb, value-priced package.
Publication Date: 2016-03-03
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2017 by Bernan Press StaffThe Statistical Abstract of the United States has provided a statistical portrait of social, political, demographic and economic conditions of America since 1878. This 2017 edition continues the heritage begun so long ago by the U.S. government, with the U.S. Census Bureau being the last agency to produce the compendium at government expense. Now in our fifth annual edition, Bernan and ProQuest carry on the proud tradition and responsibility of creating the statistical portrait of America. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources. Long-time users of the Statistical Abstract of the United States expect each new edition to carry forward much of the content from prior editions, as well as introduce new data as America continues to evolve. Our editors are committed to updating the long-standing, historical statistics as new data becomes available, as well as finding new topics to cover. This 2017 edition includes nearly 40 new tables on topics including: -Student grant and scholarship aid -Use of public libraries -Visa overstays -Dental care visits -Youth tobacco and nicotine product use -Crude oil rail shipments -Pipeline mileage and safety -Subsidized housing -Characteristics of military personnel and families -Prisoner recidivism -Mental health treatment facilities -Sexual attraction and orientation -and much more
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
World Development Indicators 2012 by World Bank StaffLooking for accurate, up-to-date data on development issues? 'World Development Indicators' is the World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. This indispensable statistical reference allows you to consult over 800 indicators for more than 150 economies and 14 country groups in more than 90 tables. It provides a current overview of the most recent data available as well as important regional data and income group analysis in six thematic sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. 'World Development Indicators 2012' presents the most current and accurate development data on both a national level and aggregated globally. It allows you to monitor the progress made toward meeting the Millennium Development Goals endorsed by the United Nations and its member countries, the World Bank, and a host of partner organizations. These goals, which focus on development and the elimination of poverty, serve as the agenda for international development efforts.