Assessment - Monthly Reports

This blog is where you can find regular updates on library assessment. Please let me know if you have any questions or suggestions based on these numbers. 

Gatecount and Library Spaces

The total gatecount for October was approx. 30,895.

The aggregate occupancy rate of study rooms was 68% this month, with an average booking time of 2 hours. Our LibCal system recorded 4,008 total bookings made by 1,095 individual users. October was especially busy, with the occupancy rate reaching 95.8% during peak weekday hours. For more details on the daily/hourly occupancy rate, take a look at this chart.  

Library Information Services

In October,  1,553 interactions were recorded at the library information services desk. Of those interactions, 93% were students, 4% were faculty/staff, and 3% were community patrons. The most popular items at the circulation desk this month were equipment/calculators and dry erase kits. The most common questions at the desk were directional and copy/scan/print. The full report for Library Information Services desk interactions is available as an Excel spreadsheet on Teams.

Research Services

Our reference librarians answered 175 questions this month at the reference desk and via chat. The most common topics at the reference desk were quick reference questions and known item searches. Also in October, our librarians taught 21 instructional sessions and held 12 individual consultations, reaching 325 students in total. The full instruction report spreadsheet is available on Teams. 

Another important resource for students is library research guides. On our LibGuides site, we recorded 7,591 user sessions in October. The top 10 most popular research guides this month were:

1. APA Style Citation Guide - 7th Edition
2. ALG Grant ENGL 1102
3. ENGL 1102 - Hoarau
4. Kaufman Library 101
5. CHEM 1211K - Water Quality
6. ENGL 1101 - Jabbar
7. ENGL 1102 - O'Dell
8. Nursing
9. Health Sciences
10. Database Tutorials

Databases

On our A-Z Databases page, we recorded just over 2,748 user sessions in October. The top 10 most popular databases this month were:

1. Academic Search Complete
2. JSTOR
3. ProQuest Central
4. O'Reilly for HIgher Education
5. GALE in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
6. GALE in Context: U.S. History
7. GALILEO
8. PsycArticles
9. PsycInfo
10. Westlaw Campus Research

This blog is where you can find regular updates on library assessment. With the fall semester in full swing, September is one of our busiest months! Please let me know if you have any questions or suggestions based on these numbers. 

Gatecount and Library Spaces

The total gatecount for September was approx. 38,500.

The aggregate occupancy rate of study rooms was 72% this month, with an average booking time of almost 2 hours. Our LibCal system recorded 4,092 total bookings made by 1,100 individual users. September was especially busy, with occupancy between 94%-98% during weekday hours of 10 AM to 2 PM. 

There were 4 days this month when we had over 300 people in the library! Special thanks to Joe and everyone in Access Services who collects this data for behavior mapping.  

Library Information Services

In September, 1,772 interactions were recorded at the library information services desk. Of those interactions, 94% were students, 3% were faculty/staff, and 3% were community patrons. The most popular items at the circulation desk this month were equipment/calculators and dry erase kits. The most common questions at the desk were directional and copy/scan/print. The full report for Library Information Services desk interactions is available as an Excel spreadsheet on Teams.

Research Services

Our reference librarians answered 213 questions this month at the reference desk and via chat. The most common topics at the reference desk were quick reference questions and known item searches. Also in September, our librarians taught 26 instructional sessions and held 7 individual consultations, reaching 508 students in total. The full instruction report spreadsheet is available on Teams. 

Another important resource for students is library research guides. On our LibGuides site, we recorded 9,106 user sessions in September. The top 10 most popular research guides this month were:

1. APA Style Citation Guide - 7th Edition
2. Nursing
3. Kaufman Library 101
4. MKTG 3000 - Pinho
5. Health Sciences
6. EXSC 3200 - Pasley
7. EXSC 3500 - Pasley
8. 101 Library and Research Basics
9. Database Tutorials
10. BIOL 4700 - Timpte

Databases

On our A-Z Databases page, we recorded just over 2,678 user sessions in September. The top 10 most popular databases this month were:

1. Academic Search Complete
2. JSTOR
3. Westlaw Campus Research
4. CINAHL Complete
5. Oxford Music Online
6. O'Reilly for HIgher Education
7. ERIC
8. PsycInfo
9. Medline Complete
10. PsycArticles

This blog is where you can find regular updates on library assessment. With the fall semester in full swing, we are back to monthly assessment reports! Please let me know if you have any questions or suggestions based on these numbers. 

Gatecount and Library Spaces

The total gatecount for August was approx. 35,000.

The aggregate occupancy rate of study rooms was 54% this month, with an average booking time of almost 2 hours. Our LibCal system recorded 2,929 total bookings made by 953 individual users.

There were 8 days this month when we had over 300 people in the library! Shout out and thanks to Joe and everyone who collects this data for behavior mapping. 

Congrats to Manhoor and the Access Services team for their work on outreach this month! Specifically on Instagram, we are kicking off the year with over 80 new followers and exponentially increased views. 

Library Information Services

In August, 2,030 interactions were recorded at the library information services desk. Of those interactions, 95% were students, 3% were faculty/staff, and 2% were community patrons. The most popular items at the circulation desk this month were books from the stacks and equipment/calculators. The most common questions at the desk were directional and copy/scan/print. The full report for Library Information Services desk interactions is available as an Excel spreadsheet on Teams.

Research Services

Our reference librarians answered 212 questions this month at the reference desk and via chat. The most common topics at the reference desk were quick reference questions and known item searches. Also in August, our librarians taught 20 instructional sessions and held 2 individual consultations, reaching 311 students in total this month. The full instruction report spreadsheet is available on Teams. 

Another important resource for students is library research guides. On our LibGuides site, we recorded 4,921 user sessions in August. The top 10 most popular research guides this month were:

1. APA Style Citation Guide - 7th Edition
2. Kaufman Library 101
3. Nursing
4. Health Sciences
5. BIOL 1102 - Fernandez
6. Exercise Science & Physical Education
7. Library Instruction Page
8. PSYC 1102 - Ferdinand
9. Database Tutorials
10. Faculty Guide

Databases

On our A-Z Databases page, we recorded just over 1,535 user sessions in August. The top 10 most popular databases this month were:

1. Academic Search Complete
2. JSTOR
3. O'Reilly for Higher Education
4. PsycArticles
5. PsycInfo
6. CINAHL Complete
7. ERIC
8. Wall Street Journal - ProQuest Newspapers
9. GALILEO
10. Ancestry Library Edition

This blog is where you can find monthly updates on assessment. For this edition, instead of our usual monthly updates, I have put together a summary report for the entire spring semester. 

Please let me know if you have any questions or suggestions based on these numbers. 

Gatecount 

Total gatecount for the semester was just under 103,000. The chart below shows monthly gatecount.

Library Spaces

This spring, the occupancy rate of library study spaces was 56%. That is the aggregate occupancy ratio, which includes all of the library's bookable spaces. Our LibCal system recorded 13,036 bookings made by 2,087 individual users, which means we had a lot of repeat customers! For more details, there is a full report in spreadsheet form available on Teams. The chart below shows the study room occupancy rate (y-axis) and hours in the day (x-axis). Each colored line represents the combined occupancy rate for that day. 

Library Information Services

During the spring semester, 3,662 interactions were recorded at the library information services desk. Of those interactions, 94% were students, 5% were faculty and staff, and 1% were public patrons. The most popular items at the circulation desk this semester were equipment/calculators(42%), and books from the stacks(26%). The most common questions at the desk were directional(22%) and copy/scan/printing(20%). The full report for Library Information Services desk interactions is available as an Excel spreadsheet available on Teams. 

Research Services

Our reference librarians answered 505 questions this semester at the reference desk and via chat. The most common topics at the reference desk were Known Item Search, Database Search Demo, and Develop Research Strategy. This spring, our librarians taught 58 instructional sessions and had 59 one-on-one appointments with students. Library instruction reached 1,173 students throughout the semester, with classes and appointments combined. The full instruction report spreadsheet is available on Teams. On our LibGuides site, we recorded 31,103 user sessions this semester. The top 10 most popular research guides were:

1. APA Style Citation Guide - 7th Edition
2. Kaufman Library 101
3. Nursing
4. Database Tutorials
5. ENGL 1102 - Hoarau
6. Health Sciences Databases Tutorials
7. CHEM 1211K - Water Quality
8. ENGL 1002 - Sena
9. eBook Collections
10. Health Sciences

Databases

In a new addition to our assessment updates, we have EBSCO's Top Search Terms Report, available on Teams. This gives us a look at the most commonly searched terms in our EBSCO Databases. Overall, on our A-Z Databases page, we recorded 10,168 user sessions this semester. The top 10 most popular databases this spring were:

1. Academic Search Complete
2. JSTOR
3. PsychInfo
4. GALE in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
5. GALILEO
6. EBSCOhost eBook Collection
7. O'Reilly for Higher Education
8. Westlaw Campus Research
9. PsycArticles
10. Mango Languages

This blog is where you can find monthly updates on library assessment. As expected, numbers are sharply down in May due to the end of spring semester. Please let me know if you have any questions or suggestions based on these numbers. 

Gatecount and Library Spaces

The total gatecount for May was approx. 5,700.

The aggregate occupancy rate of study rooms was 20% this month, with an average booking time of 2.5 hours. Our LibCal system recorded 599 total bookings made by 304 individual users. 

Library Information Services

In May, 338 interactions were recorded at the library information services desk. Of those interactions, 84% were students, 8% were faculty/staff, and 8% were community patrons. The most popular items at the circulation desk this month were books from the stacks and equipment/calculators. The most common questions at the desk were directional and computers/technology. The full report for Library Information Services desk interactions is available as an Excel spreadsheet on Teams.

Research Services

Our reference librarians answered 36 questions this month at the reference desk and via chat. The most common topics at the reference desk were quick reference questions. Also in May, our librarians taught 1 instructional session, reaching 9 students this month. The full instruction report spreadsheet is available on Teams. 

Another important resource for students is library research guides. On our LibGuides site, we recorded 2,890 user sessions in May. The top 10 most popular research guides this month were:

1. APA Style Citation Guide - 7th Edition
2. Kaufman Library 101
3. Nursing
4. Database Tutorials
5. Health Sciences
6. Faculty Guide
7. ENGL 1102 - Sena
8. African American History
9. 101 Library & Research Basics
10. MKTG 4025 - Schaller

Databases

On our A-Z Databases page, we recorded just over 799 user sessions in May. The top 10 most popular databases this month were:

1. Academic Search Complete
2. PsycInfo
3. JSTOR
4. Academic Video Online
5. PsycArticles
6. Films on Demand
7. Atlanta Journal Constitution
8. Kanopy
9. GALILEO
10. EBSCOhost eBook Collection

This blog is where you can find monthly updates on library assessment. Please let me know if you have any questions or suggestions based on these numbers. 

Gatecount and Library Spaces

The total gatecount for April was just over 29,000.

The aggregate occupancy rate of study rooms was 62.5% this month, with an average booking time of 2 hours. Our LibCal system recorded 3,689 total bookings made by 1,087 individual users. As shown for April, the occupancy rate reached 90-95% during peak daytime hours.

Library Information Services

In April, 867 interactions were recorded at the library information services desk. Of those interactions, 92% were students and the remaining 8% was split between faculty, staff, and other patrons. The most popular items at the circulation desk this month were books from the stacks and equipment/calculators. The most common questions at the desk were directional and copy/scan/print. The full report for Library Information Services desk interactions is available as an Excel spreadsheet on Teams.

Research Services

Our reference librarians answered 98 questions this month at the reference desk and via chat. The most common topics at the reference desk were known item search and suggested keywords. Also in April, our librarians taught 1 instructional session and had 13 confirmed one-on-one appointments with students. Library instruction reached 15 students this month, with classes and appointments combined. The full instruction report spreadsheet is available on Teams. Our library liaisons also provide valuable reference help to students. This month's liaison report is available on Teams. 

Another important resource for students is library research guides. On our LibGuides site, we recorded 6,645 user sessions in April. The top 10 most popular research guides this month were:

1. APA Style Citation Guide - 7th Edition
2. CHEM 1212K - Water Quality
3. CHEM 1211K - Water Quality
4. Kaufman Library 101
5. ENGL 1102 - Hoarau
6. ENGL 1102 - Jones
7. ENGL 1101 - Amis
8. GEOG 1101 - Henderson
9. Database Tutorials
10. Nursing 

Databases

On our A-Z Databases page, we recorded just over 2,493 user sessions in April. The top 10 most popular databases this month were:

1. Academic Search Complete
2. JSTOR
3. PsycInfo
4. GALE in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
5. PsycArticles
6. EBSCOhost eBook Collection
7. GALILEO
8. Westlaw Campus Research
9. Science Direct
10. ProQuest Central

This blog is where you can find monthly updates on library assessment. Please let me know if you have any questions or suggestions based on these numbers. 

Gatecount and Library Spaces

The total gatecount for March was just over 22,600.

The average occupancy rate of study rooms was 56% this month, with an average booking time of 2 hours. Our LibCal system recorded 2,748 total bookings made by 900 individual users. During peak daytime hours the occupancy rate hovers around 70-80%.

Library Information Services

In March, 688 interactions were recorded at the library information services desk. Of those interactions, 92% were students and the remaining 7% was split between faculty, staff, and other patrons. The most popular items at the circulation desk this month were books from the stacks and equipment/calculators. The most common questions at the desk were directional and copy/scan/print. The full report for Library Information Services desk interactions is available as an Excel spreadsheet on Teams.

Research Services

Our reference librarians answered 118 questions this month at the reference desk and via chat. The most common topics at the reference desk were suggested keywords and refine research topic. Also in March, our librarians taught 13 instructional sessions and had a busy month of consultations, with 32 confirmed one-on-one appointments with students. Library instruction reached 246 students this month, with classes and appointments combined. The full instruction report spreadsheet is available on Teams. Our library liaisons also provide valuable reference help to students. This month's liaison report is available on Teams. 

Another important resource for students is library research guides. On our LibGuides site, we recorded 7,722 user sessions in March. The top 10 most popular research guides this month were:

1. APA Style Citation Guide - 7th Edition
2. ENGL 1102 - Hoarau
3. ENGL 1102 - O'Dell
4. Nursing
5. Kaufman Library 101
6. ENGL 1102 - Jones
7. Health Sciences Database Tutorials
8. Database Tutorials
9. ENGL 1102 - Rofheart
10. GEOG - Henderson 

Databases

On our A-Z Databases page, we recorded just over 2,600 user sessions in March. The top 10 most popular databases this month were:

1. Academic Search Complete
2. JSTOR
3. GALE in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
4. PsychInfo
5. NYTimes - ProQuest
6. Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education
7. GALILEO
8. EBSCOhost eBook Collection
9. GALE in Context: Global Issues
10. Science Direct

This blog is where you can find monthly updates on library assessment. Please let me know if you have any questions or suggestions based on these numbers. 

Gatecount and Library Spaces

The total gatecount for February was just over 27,000, with a daily average of 617. There were 7 days this month when we recorded over 250 people in the building!

The occupancy rate of study rooms was 66.4% this month, with an average booking time of 2 hours. Our LibCal system recorded 3,483 total bookings made by 1,013 individual users. 

Library Information Services

In February, 1,056 interactions were recorded at the library information services desk. Of those interactions, 94% were students and the remaining 6% was split between faculty, staff, and other patrons. The most popular items at the circulation desk this month were equipment/calculators and books from the stacks. The most common questions at the desk were directional and copy/scan/print. The full report for Library Information Services desk interactions is available as an Excel spreadsheet on Teams. 

Research Services

Our reference librarians answered 132 questions this month at the reference desk and via chat. The most common topics at the reference desk were known item search and develop research strategy. Also, our librarians taught 26 instructional sessions and had 9 one-on-one appointments with students. Library instruction reached over 500 students this month, with classes and appointments combined. The full instruction report spreadsheet is available on Teams. 

Our library liaisons also provide valuable reference help to students. View the Liaison Report on Teams.  

Another important resource for students is library research guides. On our LibGuides site, we recorded 7,461 user sessions in February. The top 10 most popular research guides this month were:

1. APA Style Citation Guide - 7th Edition
2. Kaufman Library 101
3. Nursing
4. ENGL 1102 - Sena
5. African American History
6. GEOG 1101 - Henderson
7. ENGL 2010 - Estep
8. Database Tutorials
9. BUSA 3200 - Hartley
10. Health Sciences Database Tutorials 

Databases

On our A-Z Databases page, we recorded 2,912 user sessions in February. The top 10 most popular databases this month were:

1. Academic Search Complete
2. JSTOR
3. Oxford Music Online
4. PsychInfo
5. Westlaw Campus Research
6. GALE in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
7. GALE in Context: Global Issues
8. PsychArticles
9. EBSCOhost eBook Collection
10. Ancestry Library Edition

This blog is where you can find monthly updates on library assessment. January brought lots of activity with the start of spring semester. However, the library was closed for several days due to winter weather. Please let me know if you have any questions or suggestions based on these numbers. 

Gatecount and Library Spaces

The total gatecount for January was just over 20,600. Averages don't make sense this month, because we had several days of n=0. For more details, take a look at this chart.

There were 2 days this month when we recorded over 300 people in the building!

The occupancy rate of study rooms was 57% this month, with an average booking time of 2 hours. Our LibCal system recorded 2,764 total bookings made by 885 individual users. 

Library Information Services

In January, 865 interactions were recorded at the library information services desk. Of those interactions, 95% were students and the remaining 5% was split between faculty, staff, and other patrons. The most popular items at the circulation desk this month were books from the stacks and equipment/calculators. The most common questions at the desk were directional and copy/scan/print. The full report for Library Information Services desk interactions is available as an Excel spreadsheet on Teams. 

Research Services

Our reference librarians answered 136 questions this month at the reference desk and via chat. The most common topic at the reference desk was database searching. Also this month, our librarians taught 17 instructional sessions and had 5 one-on-one appointments with students. Library instruction reached 381 students this month, with classes and appointments combined. The full instruction report spreadsheet is available on Teams. 

Our library liaisons also provide valuable reference help to students. View the Liaison Report on Teams.  Another important resource for students is library research guides. On our LibGuides site, we recorded 6,385 user sessions in January. The top 10 most popular research guides this month were:

1. APA Style Citation Guide - 7th Edition
2. Kaufman Library 101
3. Nursing
4. Database Tutorials
5. ENGL 1102 - Sena
6. Health Sciences Database Tutorials
7. Health Sciences
8. eBook Collections
9. BIOL 1108K - Fernandez
10. Georgia Legal Research 

Databases

On our A-Z Databases page, we recorded 1,994 user sessions in January. The top 10 most popular databases this month were:

1. Academic Search Complete
2. JSTOR
3. Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education
4. Mango Languages
5. GALILEO
6. Westlaw Campus Research
7. GALE in Context: U.S. History
8. EBSCOhost eBook Collection
9. Wall Street Journal
10. PsychInfo