ALG Grant ENGL 1102

The Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the Black experience. This page highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.

These collections recount the beginnings of people of African descent in North America and extend through the present. These materials reflect the development of social, political, and cultural movements, literature, visual arts, dance, and sports. They document individuals, organizations, and events that celebrate the efforts of well-known public intellectuals and scholars, writers, and religious leaders. They also affirm the contributions of lesser-known, though equally important, community activists, cultural workers, and African Americans representing divergent backgrounds and perspectives.

City of Atlanta collection of video interviews and speeches about the Atlanta Student Movement.

The oral histories in this collection represent the goal of the project: uncovering and preserving the history of Atlanta sit-ins and student protests that were pivotal in the success of the Student Movement, the Civil Rights movement, and the history of the city of Atlanta as a whole. Videos and transcripts in this collection have been archived at the KSU Archives.

The Archives Research Center’s collections primarily document the African American experience through civil rights, race relations, education, literature, visual and performing arts, religion, politics, and social work. The holdings include books, manuscript collections, digital collections, and materials documenting the Atlanta University Center schools, as well as the African American and African Diasporic experience. The core of our manuscript holdings are built upon the Atlanta University Trevor Arnett Library's Negro Collection.

Chronicling America contains millions of newspaper pages from nearly every state and territory in the United States published through 1963. Library of Congress.

The Civil Rights Digital Library Initiative represents one of the most ambitious and comprehensive efforts to date to deliver educational content on the Civil Rights Movement via the Web. The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy.

A free, non-commercial, web-based archive created by civil rights workers active in CORE, NAACP, SCLC, SNCC and similar Southern Freedom Movement organizations during the 1950s and 1960s. We are part of the national African American Civil Rights Network. The CRMA has a Memorandum of Understanding with Duke University Libraries that they will assume stewardship over the archive to preserve and sustain it when the current managers are no longer able to carry the work forward.

The archive is free and open for public use and includes over four million Georgia newspaper pages between 1763 and 2025. Part of the Digital Library of Georgia.

The Russell Library’s oral history collections document the voices and intersections of politics, public policy, government, society, and culture. Collection strengths and focuses include modern Georgia politics, policy, and biography, disability rights, U.S. foreign service, African-American experience, Athens, Georgia, and Athens music history.