Finding Sources - ESNS 1101K - Fernandez - Library Research Guides at Georgia Gwinnett College

Geneeral Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Streaming/Video Databases

Recommended Video Databases:

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Video titles in humanities, social sciences, world languages, business, economics, health, and science.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 14,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies.
SWANK Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus. Each year, GGC provides access to a select number of feature films.

TEDTalks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world.
Database Tutorials
How to use Databases

Find Articles on Albedo and Urban Surfaces

Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.

Science Magazine
An excellent online resource for science information of all types.
Nature.com
Another fine online source of environmental science articles.
Databases A-Z

Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center allows users to conduct keyword searches or browse topics by branch of science. In addition to full-text periodicals, books, biographies and essays, it includes:

More than 1,000 science experiments
More than 2,000 science videos from top educational publishers including Boclips, Media4Math, Nature Picture Library and Twig Education
Thousands of high-quality science images from UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and Nature Picture Library

Based in the U.K., Nature Picture Library provides thousands of stunning photographs from more than 300 of the world’s best nature and wildlife photographers. The collection features images of wild animals and plant species from around the world, pets, people, landscapes and the environment.

eBooks and Streaming Video

GIL-Find Catalog
It's not just for finding books. Limit your search to "Full Access Online".

eBook Collections

View this research guide on eBooks. It contains a video which shows How to Find and Access eBooks @GGC Library. There are also tutorials for most of the eBook collections.

Cambridge Core eBooks This link opens in a new window Access to over 12,000 eBooks published by Cambridge University Press.
Credo Reference Online This link opens in a new window Full-text online reference service.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Ebook Central provides access to thousands of ebooks. New titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build collections that meet the needs of their community of researchers.
Ebook Central Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Collection This link opens in a new window With thousands of librarian-selected titles covering Asian Studies, Women's Studies, Black Studies, Hispanic/Latino Studies and much more, ProQuest’s DEI Ebook Subscription is the most comprehensive, focused curated subscription developed to represent all voices – regardless of gender, race, sexual orientation, physical ability and religious belief. It supports teaching, learning and research in the classroom and beyond.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBook titles
GALE eBooks This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary titles, including current eBooks on Black history and experience, civil rights and racism, Hispanic heritage, and indigenous peoples and Native American studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
The Merck Manual (Professional Edition) This link opens in a new window The Merck Manuals Professional Edition offers trusted, concise and correct discussions of diagnosis and therapy. Content is updated monthly to keep current with changes in medical care.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.

Project Muse eBooks Leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.

Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window NOTE: Please log into the platform using your GGC email. This platform includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly’s global conferences. Includes content from more than 250 publishers.

ScienceDirect eBooks Peer-reviewed scientific, medical and technical journals, books, and reference works. 30,000 + eBooks available

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Electronic access to eBooks, journals, and reference works.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country
University of Michigan Press eBooks This link opens in a new window University of Michigan Press is a leading publisher and distributor of books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences that are aligned with the strengths of its parent institution. Areas of particular focus are performing arts; classical studies; political science; American studies (especially disability and class studies); Asian and African studies. The Press makes most books available electronically and provides direct access to libraries through its own publishing platform, Fulcrum.