Best Bets Media Conglomerate Assignment - FILM 4400 - Williams - Library Research Guides at Georgia Gwinnett College

Scholarly Databases

GALE Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface) provides users with an alternative searching and browsing interface to the traditional EBSCOhost version of Business Source Complete. The Business Searching Interface allows for easy browsing of supplementary content such as, company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and author profiles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
D&B Hoovers Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive up-to-date information through a global database of over 85 million companies, 90 million decision makers, 1,000 industries, and a proprietary data collection process

Recommended Resources

GGC Recommended Resources

Variety
A business-to-business magazine for the entertainment industry. Covers the worldwide media and entertainment marketplace, including the major entertainment centers - Los Angeles, New York, London, Paris, Tokyo, and Rome. Features the most current news, box office reports, and film and television production charts.

Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspaper archive, coverage from 1851 to 2013
New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1980-current
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1985-current

Advertising Age
Articles on national and international marketing, news about individuals in advertising, statistics on advertising and special reports.
Broadcasting & Cable
A weekly telecommunications industry trade magazine published by Future US. Previous names included Broadcasting-Telecasting, Broadcasting and Broadcast Advertising, and Broadcasting.
The Hollywood Reporter
Web content https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/

Recommended Web Sources

TV Line
TVLine has had a singular, unwavering focus: to deliver a concentrated stream of breaking TV news, original previews and insightful recaps/reviews. TVLine has proven to be a news source for dozens of media outlets including Yahoo News, the New York Times, CNN and more.
Vulture
New York Media energizes people around shared interests, igniting important conversations with a cosmopolitan point of view and providing the map to shrewdly navigate a fast-moving culture.
Vox
We live in a world of too much information and too little context. Too much noise and too little insight. And so Vox's journalists candidly shepherd audiences through politics and policy, business and pop culture, food, science, and everything else that matters. You can find our work wherever you live on the internet — Facebook, YouTube, email, iTunes, Instagram, and more.
IndieWire
the leading news, information and networking site for independent-minded filmmakers, the industry and moviegoers alike. Originally conceived as an online forum and newsletter for filmmakers and festivals, IndieWire has grown over the last two decades into a preeminent source for film and television news, reviews, interviews, global festival coverage and more.
more...less...
Our mission has always been to create a platform to deliver news, information and other resources to creators and movie lovers, while facilitating a greater appreciation of independent filmmaking to the masses.
Deadline
The authoritative source for breaking news in the entertainment industry and readers check the site multiple times each day. Deadline Hollywood is regularly included on lists of top entertainment websites. Influential industry leaders and key decision-makers across many fields track Deadline many times a day and its postings regularly receive more reader comments than all of the entertainment industry news sites combined.
The Wrap
The leading digital-first news organization covering the business of entertainment and media via digital, print and live events. Founded by award-winning journalist Sharon Waxman in 2009, The Wrap News Inc. is comprised of the award-winning, industry-leading website with its high-profile news breaks, investigative stories and authoritative analysis; it also includes premium, glossy magazines with stunning original photography and editorial, distributed to entertainment industry professionals;