Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Embedding Library Content into D2L

Embedding a Database List

You have the option to embed a full A-Z list of Kaufman Library databases or a list of databases for a specific subject. Below are instructions for both options.

Adding Full A-Z List of Databases (Video Tutorial)

Adding Full A-Z List of Databases (Written Instructions)

The instructions below show you how to embed Kaufman Library's complete A-Z list of databases.

  1. After creating the module where you want to embed the A-Z list of databases, click the Existing Activities button and choose External Learning Tools.

    Step One - Adding Full A-Z List of Databases

     

  2. Select Kaufman Library Resources from the list of External Learning Tools.

    Step Two - Adding Full A-Z List of Databases

  3. Click Kaufman Library Resources (default title for your content in your module) to launch the next steps of the manual embedding process. In these next steps, you'll select the exact content you want to embed within your course. First, choose Library Research Guides - libguides.ggc.edu from the first drop-down menu.

    Step Three - Adding Full A-Z List of Databases

     

  4. Next, choose what type of content you want to embed within your course. You can choose a full research guide, a single page of a research guide, a single content box from a page of a research guide, or library databases. If you're unsure which option to choose, your liaison librarian is happy to assist. In this example, we are going to embed the entire A-Z list of databases.

    Step Four - Adding Full A-Z List of Databases
     

  5. Click Embed Content.

    Step Five - Adding Full A-Z List of Databases

     

  6. Refresh the page to view your embedded content. Because you are an instructor in D2L for your course, you will see an intermediary page first (shown below). From this page, you can choose whether to view the content you just embedded or edit your selection to embed different content.

    Step Six - Adding Full A-Z List of Databases

     

  7. When you click View Content, you will see the embedded content exactly as students in your course will view it.

    Step Seven - Adding Full A-Z List of Databases

Adding List of Databases for Subject (Written Instructions)

The instructions below show you how to embed Kaufman Library's A-Z list of databases for a particular subject.

  1. After creating the module where you want to embed the A-Z list of databases for a subject, click the Existing Activities button and choose External Learning Tools.

    Step One - Adding List of Databases for Subject

     

  2. Select Kaufman Library Resources from the list of External Learning Tools.

    Step Two - Adding List of Databases for Subject

     

  3. Click Kaufman Library Resources (default title for your content in your module) to launch the next steps of the manual embedding process. In these next steps, you'll select the exact content you want to embed within your course. First, choose Library Research Guides - libguides.ggc.edu from the first drop-down menu.

    Step Three - Adding List of Databases for Subject
     

  4. Next, choose what type of content you want to embed within your course. You can choose a full research guide, a single page of a research guide, a single content box from a page of a research guide, or library databases. If you're unsure which option to choose, your liaison librarian is happy to assist. In this example, we are going to embed the a list of databases for a specific subject.

    Step Four - Adding List of Databases for Subject

     

  5. You will now continue selecting the specific content you want to embed. In this example, we will choose the subject for the database list. After selecting the subject, click Embed Content.

    Step Five - Adding List of Databases for Subject

     

  6. Refresh the page to view your embedded content. Because you are an instructor in D2L for your course, you will see an intermediary page first (shown below). From this page, you can choose whether to view the content you just embedded or edit your selection to embed different content.

    Step Six - Adding List of Databases for Subject

     

  7. When you click View Content, you will see the embedded content exactly as students in your course will view it.

    Step Seven - Adding List of Databases for Subject