Full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Delivers more than 85,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Video titles in humanities, social sciences, world languages, business, economics, health, and science.
Access to more than 14,000 streaming videos: films, documentaries, and must-see movies.
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.
Science Reference Center allows users to conduct keyword searches or browse topics by branch of science. In addition to full-text periodicals, books, biographies and essays, it includes:
More than 1,000 science experiments
More than 2,000 science videos from top educational publishers including Boclips, Media4Math, Nature Picture Library and Twig Education
Thousands of high-quality science images from UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and Nature Picture Library
Based in the U.K., Nature Picture Library provides thousands of stunning photographs from more than 300 of the world’s best nature and wildlife photographers. The collection features images of wild animals and plant species from around the world, pets, people, landscapes and the environment.
Don't forget to set you Scholar Preferences to include GGC and Board of Regents resources!
View this research guide on eBooks. It contains a video which shows How to Find and Access eBooks @GGC Library. There are also tutorials for most of the eBook collections.
| Basic Examples | ||||
| This Search | Finds Pages Containing... | |||
| biking Italy | the words biking and Italy | |||
| recycle steel OR iron | information on recycling steel or recycling iron | |||
| "I have a dream" | the exact phrase I have a dream | |||
| salsa –dance | the word salsa but NOT the word dance | |||
| Louis +I France | information about Louis the First (I), weeding out other kings of France | |||
| castle ~glossary | glossaries about castles, as well as dictonaries, lists of terms, terminology, etc. | |||
| fortune-telling | all forms of the term, whether spelled as a single word, a phrase, or hyphenated | |||
| define:imbroglio |
definitions of the word imbroglio from the Web |
|||
| Calculator | ||||
| Operators | Meaning | Type Into Search Box (& Results) | ||
| + – * / | basic arithmetic | 12 + 34 - 56 * 7 / 8 | ||
| % of | percentage of | 45% of 39 | ||
| ^ or ** | raise to a power | 2^5 or 2**5 | ||
| old units in new units | convert units | |||
| Restrict Search | ||||
| Operators | Meaning | Type Into Search Box (& Results) | ||
| city1 city2 | Book flights. | sfo bos (Book flights from San Francisco (SFO) to Boston (BOS).) |
||
| site: | Search only one website or domain. | Halloween site:www.census.gov (Search for information on Halloween gathered by the US Census Bureau.) |
||
| [#]..[#] | Search within a range of numbers. | Dave Barry pirate 2002..2006 (Search for Dave Barry articles mentioning pirates written in these years.) |
||
| filetype: (or ext:) |
Find documents of the specified type. | Form 1098-T IRS filetype:pdf (Find the US tax form 1098-T in PDF format.) |
||
| link: | Find linked pages, i.e., show pages that point to the URL. | link:warriorlibrarian.com (Find pages that link to Warrior Librarian's website.) |
||
| Specialized Information Queries | ||||
| Operators | Meaning | Type Into Search Box (& Results) | ||
| book (or books) |
Search full-text of books. | book Ender's Game (Show book-related information. Note: No colon needed after book.) |
||
| define, what is, what are | Show a definition for a word or phrase. | define monopsony, what is podcast (Show a definition for the words monopsony and podcast. Note: No colon after define, what is, or what are.) |
||
| define: | Provide definitions for words, phrases, and acronyms from the Web. | define:kerning (Find definitions for kerning from the Web.) |
||
| phonebook: | Show all phonebook listings. | phonebook: Disney CA (Search for Disney's phone numbers in California - CA.) |
||
| rphonebook: | Show residential phonebook listings. | rphonebook: bill jones NY (Search for the phone number of every Bill Jones in New York State - NY.) |
||
| movie: | Find reviews and showtimes. | movie: traffic (Search for information about this movie, including reviews, showtimes, etc.) |
||
| stocks: | Given ticker symbols, show stock information | stocks: goog (Find Google's current stock price.) |
||
| weather | Given a location (US zip code or city), show the weather | weather Seattle WA, weather 81612 (Show the current weather and forecast. Note: No colon after weather.) |
||
| BASIC ARITHMETIC | ||||
 |
||||
| OPERATOR | MEANING | TYPE INTO SEARCH BOX | ||
| + or plus | addition | 12 + 34 or three plus four | ||
| – or minus | subtraction | 3.4 - 5.6 or five minus two | ||
| * or times | multiplication | 56 * 7 or six times nine | ||
| / or divided by | division | 7 / 8 or ten divided by two | ||
| % of orpercent of | percentage of | 45% of 39 | ||
| mod or % | modulo (the remainder after division) | 15 mod 9 or 15 % 9 | ||
| ^ or ** | raise to a power | 2^5 or 2**5 | ||
| the nth root of | nth root | 4th root of 16, sqrt(16), cube root of 109 | ||
| reciprocal of | multiplicative inverse | reciprocal of 7 | ||
