Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mathematics Resources

Subject Guide

Find Sources

Below is a selection of resources for mathematics. Use the tabs to navigate to databases (to search articles by topic), journals (an alphabetical list), academic reference books, books & e-books, career resources, and freely available mathematics web resources.

Resources

Mathematics and math education databases are searchable collections of records describing a source by title, author, subject and keyword with links to the article or publication. 

Multidisciplinary Databases

Mathematics periodicals - Browse titles of journals and scan tables of contents.

Search journals by topic using databases listed in the above Databases tab.

Encyclopedias -  Do you need  to know more about a topic before you begin deeper research? Start with specialized encyclopedias. Use Credo to search by topics such as Pythagorean Theory, polynomials, and calculus.

 

  

CREDO includes full-text articles on a variety of topics in all subject areas. Full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources are extremely useful in gaining an understanding of your topic before digging in deeper with scholarly articles and research studies.

 

 

What?  Where? How?

Gil - Find

GIL-Find catalog logo

___________________

Use Gil-Find to locate books,films and more in the Kaufman collection.

(Electronic books and on the shelves).

E-Book (Online) example

 

Movie:Locating Kaufman Library E-Books 

Gil - Find

GIL-Find catalog logo

___________________

On the Shelf Example

 

 

Search Tips:

  • Use the drop down menus to search for Author, Title, or Subject.
  • For keyword searching:Use quotes to search for phrases: "mathematics education" 
  • Use an * for alternate endings and spellings:
    • math* will find math, mathematical, mathematics, mathematician...
  • Use AND, OR and NOT to join terms:
    • math* AND equations
    • (women OR female*) AND (mathematician*)         
    • learning theor* AND math

eBook Central

Ebsco E-book Collection

Safari O'Reilly For Education

E-book (Online)

 

E-book (Online)

 

E-Book (Online)

Movie:Locating Kaufman Library E-Books 

 

Professional Associations

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Career Overview - What Can You Do With a Math Degree? 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Find A Job

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research resources that are free of cost and contain a legal framework that gives permission for open use in teaching, learning and research. Unlike a non-vetted free website or a pricey subscription database, OER's are scholarly, free of cost, and have open access.

Textbooks Exercises and Problems Calculators & Tools  Historical & Biographical 

MERLOT

undefined

100 Level Mathematics Revision Exercises

Interactive Mathematics

Khan Academy

Science and Arts Gateway (Cornell University)

Good Calculators

Desmos

Web2.0calc

Symbolab

The Euler Archive

Euler's Formula

Mathematics - History 

 

 

 

College Algebra (Text with Exercises)

Spiral Workbook for Discrete Mathematics

Algebra Problems and Solutions

Math Scientific Calculator 

Protractor: How to Use

Mathematics - Timeline

Mathematicians - Biographies

Women in Mathematics 

 

 

 

If you want to try searching on your own, the box below allows you to directly search OASIS, a tool to help locate OER.

 

The Milne Library at SUNY Geneseo developed OASIS, a tool that searches across multiple OER sites.